Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2015, 04:04 AM   #1
neurodrive
Human being with feelings
 
neurodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 43
Default trouble BFD3 and Reaper(drummap)

Hello
I have a trouble with Reaper and BFD3
It seems BHD3 doing wrong mapping when I putting *.mid file with drums on track with BFD3 in Reaper.
Some drums are wrong mapped, example kick switched on tom or hats.
Some drums are ignored, example crash with no sound. I don’t have these problems with EZD2.
How to remap BFD3 correctly?
neurodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 02:49 AM   #2
viscofisy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dalriada
Posts: 13,368
Default

The problem is that there's no universal standard for drum mapping.

I don't have BFD3, but there will be a mapping feature somewhere, where you can select different midi file maps.

(The real answer is to make sure your .mid files are of a format that BFD3 will accept.)
________________

Hopefully you can get BFD3 to recognise the .mid file by changing the mapping input in BFD3's itself.
________________

However, if the .mid file you have is of a type that BFD still doesn't recognise, you can alter it "manually" yourself in Reaper's Midi Editor.

It's a bit of a carry on, but you can do it one drum at a time by using the Transpose feature to shift the midi notes in your existing file to where they should be according to BFD3.


ie - on opening Reaper's Midi Efitor, if your existing file has the Kick Drum on C2 but BFD3 Kick Drum is (say) F2 then you :

*count the semi-tones between C2 and F2 ( = 5 semi tones)
*click on a Kick Drum note in Reaper's Midi Editor and "select similar notes"
*then Transpose by + 5 semi tones
viscofisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 07:04 AM   #3
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neurodrive View Post
How to remap BFD3 correctly?
It's easy. First switch the native BFD map to Sup 2 then fix any mess by hands:



But if you need to remap tons of MIDIs from different drums it's better to get an EZplayer Pro - you'll be able to remap everything to anything on the fly.
__________________
Primal Wheel

Last edited by Shootkin; 05-27-2015 at 07:16 AM.
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:16 PM   #4
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,574
Default

Honestly, it's probably just a matter of transposing (everything) an octave or two up before it hits BFD. Add JS midi_transpose to the track before BFD. Type in 12 semitones. Does that work? If not, try 24. When you find out how far off it is, go to the MIDI editor for that item, select all events, and use the edit|transpose action there then remove the plugin. Then remember that setting so you can do it again in future.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:15 AM   #5
neurodrive
Human being with feelings
 
neurodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 43
Default

Tons of thanks for you guys.
you are really helped me.
my midi are general midi mapped(midi from Guitar Pro).
what I did:
1)transposed all notes -12semitones in reaper midi editor and besides that: kick drum was transposed from C to B
2)in BFD3 i used bfd3 mapper

now seems it works fine.
neurodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 04:06 AM   #6
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neurodrive View Post
1)transposed all notes -12semitones in reaper midi editor and besides that: kick drum was transposed from C to B.
It's not even necessary to transpose. In BFD's preferences:



By the way, if you set your MIDI Editor to show note names (Actions: "View: Toggle show note names") you'll see your mappings on the pianoroll. BFD (and other FXpansion's drums) makes it automatically. Very elegant.
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 05:03 AM   #7
neurodrive
Human being with feelings
 
neurodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
It's not even necessary to transpose. In BFD's preferences:



By the way, if you set your MIDI Editor to show note names (Actions: "View: Toggle show note names") you'll see your mappings on the pianoroll. BFD (and other FXpansion's drums) makes it automatically. Very elegant.
thank you Shootkin
I did how it is shown on your gif but nothing happens. dont know why.
neurodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.