Old 10-09-2015, 11:38 AM   #1
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default Various video editing feature requests

Some things that will help with video production on technical and creative levels.

In no particular order:


- coloured video titles
hacked this myself

- timecode overlay option for video window solved by msmucr

- time count display preset (count up/ down)

- automatic A/V Sync action that can align multiple audio and video clips based on timecode or audio analysis

- reverse video playback (it can be done but doesn't preview in realtime, export is OK) fixed in 5.30

- alpha layer with blending modes so we can overlay and move images on top of video. added in v5.11

- video play rate follows project frame rate option. 60fps video in 30fps project plays half speed

- playback framerate and dropped frame warning display

- smoother video window updating when dragging items in the timeline. Right now it only updates when mouse stops moving or is moving very slowly.

- video preview quality options (responsive vs accurate)

- second video window for external monitor (think of this for ADR, foley work, separate from monitor fx chain)

- support for LUTs

- video metering such as histogram, parade, waveform, vectorscope with skintone guide

- Video fx in monitoring fx chain - Added correctly in v5.22

- rule of third, quarters, title-safe overlay presets solved

- option to hide image file preview in the arrange

- default item length option for image files (currently 1 second, 5 might be more practical)

- text align options

Update Oct 25 -
- more than 16 parameters in video processor. Why? To separate groups of controls in the side bar we skip @param#. So really we only have 14 or fewer available.

- Preferences>Project>Media item Defaults: separate option for default looping of image and video media

Update Aug 17 2017

- it's been 2+ years. titling is still extremely clunky.

- video support for subprojects

- we need some way to prevent video processor from altering other tracks. For example we can hack huge text by using a video resize command but this will also zoom any video on tracks below.

- a tip, you can use Time as a variable, which makes the value change based on position in the item's length.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog

Last edited by EpicSounds; 08-17-2017 at 11:00 AM. Reason: more requests
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 12:04 PM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,568
Default

I wouldn't say no to these!

All of them would be welcome. I love doing video in reaper.

I'll add 2.

-first and last frame of the video's current start and end point shown on the item's start and end.

-support for video effects
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 01:56 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
dropped frame warning display
just had an idea, the transport time display can turn red like it does occasionally when activating tracks during playback.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 02:16 PM   #4
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,835
Default

+ record video from source into timeline.. webcam, attached cam etc.

would be dead easy for devs i bet and so very useful.
BenK-msx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 03:41 PM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
+ record video from source into timeline.. webcam, attached cam etc.

would be dead easy for devs i bet and so very useful.
If Licecap could do fullscreen lossless capture in sync with audio reaper I could make the majority of my videos in a single program.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 04:22 PM   #6
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
If Licecap could do fullscreen lossless capture in sync with audio reaper I could make the majority of my videos in a single program.
that too.. !

for performance related video, be it for rehearsal, gigs, youtube sensation creation, whatever, nice audio sync'd and ready to go with captured video is so useful.

can do it with a tiny 3rd party util, but that involves hitting 2 record buttons then import and line up of video to audio in reaper. not so fun.

the other requests are cool too of course, just this is my particular drum to bang.
BenK-msx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 10:15 PM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

I just noticed there is an action to insert a dedicated video processor item.
Not sure if that's always been there.

Unfortunately it doesn't work the same as using the plugin in the mixer or on a blank MIDI item.

The same code has a different result, and they don't share all presets.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 03:53 PM   #8
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

bumping for an edit in the first post.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 05:25 PM   #9
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Sharing the video processor presets I've built and combined from other scripts today through my email list.

http://reaperblog.net/2016/01/video-processor-presets/

video demo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5ur_JDbqQM




Next I'm going to try to figure out the rotation function. Really confusing.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 07:37 PM   #10
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Bumping this since we got some video changes recently in v5.20

A LUT loader seems like something that can be done by a VST. What I need way more is something that can easily size and position videos, images, or text on an X-Y-Z grid instead of with 3 separate controls.

I haven't looked at my original feature request in a few months, but I remember testing a few things since.

Reversing video - Reversing a video item through item properties actually works but only on render. Previewing the edit in real time isn't possible.

monitoring fx chain - turns out you can put the video processor on the monitoring fx chain and you can use things like the 2x2 grid to see multiple video layers at once.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 10:05 AM   #11
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

updated first post

- Video fx in monitoring fx chain - Added correctly in v5.22

- rule of third, quarters, title-safe overlay presets

- option to hide image file preview in the arrange

- default item length option for image files (currently 1 second, 5 might be more practical)

- text align options
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 10:58 AM   #12
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
+ record video from source into timeline.. webcam, attached cam etc.

would be dead easy for devs i bet and so very useful.
this would be amazing
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 10:59 AM   #13
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,705
Default

I just would need magic bullet looks to work in it
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 03:29 PM   #14
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,197
Default

Auto-render of CPU-overpowering fx. Background rendering essentially.

FcpX does this rather well.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 04:08 PM   #15
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,835
Default

+ record video from source into timeline.. webcam, attached cam etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
this would be amazing
yes it would - i lose hope tho, but it would be so very useful for various sound reasons
BenK-msx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 05:01 PM   #16
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Took a long time but I finally figured out simple drop shadows for text without using multiple instances of the plugin.

But now to make it adjustable I'm going to need more than 16 parameters in video processor.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 02:42 PM   #17
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Figured out overlay guides today

Border, 16:9 safe area, and rule of 3rds. These run in the monitoring fx chain for viewing in the project, but won't be in the rendered video. Colors, thickness and opacity can be easily changed.


__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 09:05 AM   #18
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,740
Default

love the stuff the Blog is doing... I just signed up and looking to learn more
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:09 PM   #19
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,206
Default

And image rotation ?
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 07:24 PM   #20
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

oh yeah that's something I need too. Thought it was on the list already.

technically we can do it, but usually results in dropped frames and glitching everything.

for example, this is the last time I tried to rotate an image with the video processor. no automation there or anything
https://twitter.com/reaperblog/statu...51208944963585
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 10:47 AM   #21
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,346
Default

Bump it!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 11:56 AM   #22
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

I've made some progress today with figuring out a second video window for purpose of control room + VO/ADR/Foley room.

A second instance of reaper running as a rewire client works pretty well, at least on my system.

couple quirks
- moving cursor position in the slave moves the position in the master, but the opposite is not also true. Seems backwards.
- timecode is 1 frame off, not sure how to fix that.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 12:27 PM   #23
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,346
Default

Jon, what do you think: is it easy to implement a simple visualizer, like spectrum analyzer and/or wave analyzer, some other shapes which are modulated by frequencies/volume?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 12:56 PM   #24
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Jon, what do you think: is it easy to implement a simple visualizer, like spectrum analyzer and/or wave analyzer, some other shapes which are modulated by frequencies/volume?
I tried and got this

https://youtu.be/vI5RUvGDArE

I can't remember exactly how it was done but it wasn't easy and the results are pretty poor.

I should do a video on Sonic Candle for generating visualizations. Have only briefly done tests with that but seems promising using the png format imported into reaper as if it was a timelapse.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 01:47 PM   #25
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,074
Default

Ey-any1 on mac noticed if using vid proc on input fx =only learn modes are available as param mod sources?
User can set up a simple visualizer using multiple imgs with width/height/positions varying side by side--height (or w/e dimensions)of imgs can be modded by lfo,cc or audio.same thing as shown,just different.
pretty whacky overlays can also be with the 360 panner there preset,template,save.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 02:47 PM   #26
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 736
Default

Quote:
- we need some way to prevent video processor from altering other tracks. For example we can hack huge text by using a video resize command but this will also zoom any video on tracks below.
That single thing makes the video-function in Reaper useless for many usecases ...
I tried numerous times to add text to videos but they always end up blocky because of that zooming...
If this could be turned off, it would be great...
Or an option per video-item, that can be turned on/off individually, so I can decide, where I want the video be zoomed and where not...
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:38 PM   #27
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,206
Default

And why not adding a simple video rotation ?
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:08 PM   #28
cport
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Default cant drop video file into reaper

I watched the how video etc seems simple enough..I run windows pc and tried to drop video file into track on reaper project but it would allow it to happen?? any help would be appreciated
cport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 11:51 PM   #29
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cport View Post
I watched the how video etc seems simple enough..I run windows pc and tried to drop video file into track on reaper project but it would allow it to happen?? any help would be appreciated
this is almost always because of VLC not being installed.

You want version 2.X and 64-bit. this is not the default download so you might have to search a bit.

http://videolan.org
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:07 AM   #30
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 610
Default

If I may add something here:

Video playback position moves along with the start position of an item that is being dragged with the mouse, but not when you move automation points or items.

It would make creating synced automation so much easier if you could immediately see the corresponding video position without having to align the edit cursor with the point every time you make a change.
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.