Old 10-12-2015, 11:54 AM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,522
Default v5.05pre3 - October 12 2015

+ API: support spaces in section names for SetProjExtState()
+ Directory cleanup: improve support for very long filenames and UTF-8
+ Explode multichannel audio: handle start offsets and looping items correctly
+ Explode multichannel audio: handle stretch markers properly
+ JSFX: add export_buffer_to_project()
+ JSFX: add new 8-channel MIDI-controlled synchronized audio looper, Super8
+ Keyboard: support more than 12 function keys
+ MP3: display ID3 tags in source properties
+ Media Explorer: add "Hide paths" option
+ Media Explorer: add options/actions to search in filenames and/or metadata
+ Media Explorer: improve database scan (faster)
+ Media item properties: do not reset take start offset when enabling section with specified position
+ Searching: support ^foo, foo$, and " foo " for matching start/end/words
+ WAVE: display RIFF LIST-INFO metadata in source properties
# Drag/drop: handle unicode characters in file URLs
# Extensions: support HTML in extension help text
# Media Explorer/Native Browser: fix metadata columns display [p=1580534]
# Media Explorer: improve search with boolean operators [p=1580571]
# Splash: reverted OSX flicker fix
# Stretch Markers: fix timing of 0 fade size when preserving pitch (broken in pre2)
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:18 PM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
+ JSFX: add new 8-channel MIDI-controlled synchronized audio looper, Super8
I have hard time getting the window to show more than 2 and half rows. Dragging it bigger, the squares just keep resizing bigger until I run out of the screen space? Occasionally when making it pretty small, I see glimpses of more but resizing bigger and it's gone again.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:21 PM   #3
lachrimae
Human being with feelings
 
lachrimae's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 777
Default

Make sure it's not too wide. I can see everything if I make it tall and less wide.
lachrimae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:23 PM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,155
Default

That did it, thanks lachrimae. Ok, fun times when I get to my main PC.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:43 PM   #5
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,814
Default

JSFX: add new 8-channel MIDI-controlled synchronized audio looper, Super8

Any info about how this works, please?
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 12:48 PM   #6
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,522
Default

Thanks guys! good stuff here as usual.

Two comments/requests on the media explorer shortcut bar on the left.

-The new Shortcut column/button at the top to organise shortcuts by alphabetical order is a nightmare at the moment. It's so easy to wreck organised shortcuts by hitting it. I'm hoping we can have 3 modes for that button, both up and down sorting and user organisation. You might have done this now but I'm not going to risk testing it myself to see if you've done that already as I've already accidentally hit it twice and had to painfully reorganise it again.

-It might be me using a wacom but about 40% of the time if I click on a shortcut now, it sticks to my mouse and gets accidentally dragged around when not intended to be.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.

Last edited by musicbynumbers; 10-12-2015 at 01:42 PM.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:01 PM   #7
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,522
Default column order for databases reset on using a normal windows explorer shortcut

If you use the shortcuts menu at the side of media explorer to go to a non database folder (from a database folder originally) then the column order gets reset.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:04 PM   #8
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,322
Default

Quote:
+ JSFX: add export_buffer_to_project()
Does that do what I think it does?! Explain!

edit: OMG! It does! Unbelievable! How do we use it?

Last edited by IXix; 10-12-2015 at 01:13 PM.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:10 PM   #9
lachrimae
Human being with feelings
 
lachrimae's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 777
Default

Just curious if you guys want feedback on the Super8, or if you already have a boat-load of features planned that aren't implemented yet?

For example:
Set stretch markers to largest transient near 1/8 note and quantize.
Sync to reaper bpm and align to metronome and/or sync reaper bpm to Super8 tempo so that metronome can follow.
Set tempo and length in advance (e.g. 2 measures) and allow count-in
Allow each pad to have a different loop length. Playhead progress bar for each loop.
Allow pads to be killed individually
Allow mouse triggering
Stop all pads at once (without Killing)

Some of these may already be there and I've just missed them...

Good stuff btw.

Last edited by lachrimae; 10-12-2015 at 01:34 PM.
lachrimae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:12 PM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
JSFX: add new 8-channel MIDI-controlled synchronized audio looper, Super8

Any info about how this works, please?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMBq6qmOzz4
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:41 PM   #11
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
lol
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:41 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
I have hard time getting the window to show more than 2 and half rows. Dragging it bigger, the squares just keep resizing bigger until I run out of the screen space? Occasionally when making it pretty small, I see glimpses of more but resizing bigger and it's gone again.
Make it narrow and tall
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:41 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
JSFX: add new 8-channel MIDI-controlled synchronized audio looper, Super8

Any info about how this works, please?
I'll make a demo video tomorrow, but if you view the source it has some comments explaining it, briefly.

Here are some videos from the development of it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjHB...6t2goeOYpI6rnb
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:42 PM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
Does that do what I think it does?! Explain!

edit: OMG! It does! Unbelievable! How do we use it?
Super8 has a sample implementation
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:44 PM   #15
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,732
Default

Super8 doesn't initialize with proper GUI height. Please define @gfx at 420 480 width/height for a good starter view.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 01:58 PM   #16
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,362
Default

A looper? A musical tool? Yay.. More!.

More useful feedback later..
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:11 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

the quicky demo I made before running out the door for the evening: http://1014.org/_/super8_demo_bad.mp4 (the youtube videos are way better but they lack explanation and you can't see what's happening, ha)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 02:12 PM   #18
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
if you view the source it has some comments explaining it, briefly.

Here are some videos from the development of it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjHB...6t2goeOYpI6rnb
Thanks! Didn't think to check the code!
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk

Last edited by nicholas; 10-12-2015 at 02:25 PM.
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 03:10 PM   #19
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,298
Default

Very nice !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 03:22 PM   #20
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,580
Default

I have "Move edit cursor ignoring snap" on my middle mouse button (I use it with "Jog Audio (loop-segment mode)" for default midlle-button drag).

With this pre, middle-clicking on a selected audio item is deselecting that audio item. It leaves it alone with Pre2, but deselects with Pre3.


Edit: no, it's TrackList_AdjustWindows(0) or UpdateArrange(0) in a script doing it.

Edit2: How do we get the audio peaks in a take to arrange according to Stretch Marker slope adjustments via SetTakeStretchMarkerSlope? I can see the slope responding, but the audio peaks stay frozen unless I adjust them in the arrange window with the mouse. UpdateArrange(0) doesn't seem to update them.

Edit3: It actually seems dependent on zoom level, close zoom disables the peak stretching update.




>

Last edited by planetnine; 10-12-2015 at 03:31 PM.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 03:41 PM   #21
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,253
Default

Just bought the upgrade to 5.
Interesting times. Super8 definitely has a LOT of potential for me.Thanks
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 05:05 PM   #22
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlapp, Tennessee
Posts: 1,466
Default

i've been having issues lately when new project tabs are opened, and old projects with "replace missing file" issues being loaded. the "replace missing file" screen appears offscreen (i'm assuming) because the program has not frozen -- the relevant screen is just inaccessible.

multimonitor setup, win8.1 x64.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 05:15 PM   #23
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlapp, Tennessee
Posts: 1,466
Default

also, very very funny to me that super8 gets introduced the week after i finished implementing an instance of mobius that loops REAPER by listening to a pair of hardwware outputs.

the more the merrier. (please make it loop midi also).
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 05:29 PM   #24
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Make it narrow and tall
Thanks, got that sorted but lost otherwise...inside the loop mayhem that is, which is good. I agree with most of what lachrimae was asking earlier, especially being able to kill individual pads and an all pads stop.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 05:52 PM   #25
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,176
Default

I haven't had time to check out Super8 but it sounds awesome. As someone who used MobiusVST (Echooplex clone) pretty extensively for years as a plugin looper here are some of the functions/features I found were most important and creatively useful:

-The first recording needs to define the loop length, other functions like Start/Stop recording, start/stop loop playback, mute track, solo track, reverse, double playrate/pitch, halve playrate/pitch then happen exactly in time regardless of when they are triggered in the cycle. To execute an action immediately double click it. (see LICEcap below from my 2010 FR on this)

-If a new recording extends beyond the length of the original loop it's length will become a multiple of the original. Needing to do this manually before hand reduces options for spontaneity.

-Supporting seperate functions for short and long presses really helps expand the usefulness of MIDI foot-controllers. For example I would use the short press of a button for start/stop recording and a long press to clear the recording (if I mess up).

-If you're playing any instrument, foot controllers are much better than other controller types, but having to map each looper track to unique MIDI triggers kinda sux. It's much better to use a generic function to start/stop recording on the selected track, and two more for navigating to the next/previous track. This easily allows full foot-control with 3 buttons instead of needing at least 8.

-Reverse audio is very cool. Doubling/halving the playrate is also very fun. Guitars can become mandolins or basses and because the loop becomes double or halve the original length it still remains in time.

-If Reaper's tempo is being set based on Super8's loop length hopefully it works better than what Reaper has now which often returns obviously wrong values, 20-30BPM for 80-120BPM for example.

-It would be really awesome if Super8 could (optionally) record any MIDI input to a hidden take. That way if we are using VSTi's, when we export the Super8 tracks to Reaper we still have the advantages of MIDI and can tighten/alter the original performance.

MobiusVST



Here's some resources if you want any functionality ideas or to see how the best existing looper pedals work:

Gibson Echoplex manual
http://archive.gibson.com/Files/down...usManual12.pdf

Roland RC-50 Loopstation Manual
http://lib.roland.co.jp/manual/en/dl...4/RC-50_e9.pdf

MobiusVST manual
http://www.circularlabs.com/mobiusdoc.htm


__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD

Last edited by PitchSlap; 10-12-2015 at 05:58 PM.
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 06:41 PM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Some explanation: I made super8 for my own use, for an experimental live performance with audience interactivity (a theremin and mic+DL4) at an art opening. Unfortunately it appears nobody taped it, boo (I forgot to start my Zoom H1...).

Anyway: the nice thing here is that it's a script that anybody can go and edit to suit their needs. It is LGPL licensed, I will update the file with that, also I have the code on https://github.com/justinfrankel/super8.git (the export branch has what's in the installer).

So! People who want it to do something else, make a modified version! I find that the more I add to it, the less fun it is to use. I completely support and agree with almost all of the requests, but at the end of the day I personally will make something that *I* want to use. I encourage you all to do the same!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 07:09 PM   #27
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,021
Default

Tangent, not really related to this pre, feel free to ignore:

I suggested in this thread that it might be cool to have the "clean current project directory" functionality integrated with the media explorer.

E.g. you select "clean current project directory" and it pulls up the media explorer in a new 'cleanup' mode; the advantage being that you can preview the files before you remove them.

Thinking about it, it seems like it'd be more appropriate to add it to the project bay as a new tab: "project directory audio files" or something. Then you could have an option to show only those not being used, play them with the existing interface, and delete them as desired, etc. Adding filter wildcards and searchability and such could make the whole process easier.

Point being that it's rough when you have 100 unused files in the project directory and have to go to windows explorer to play through them to confirm that they are safe to remove.

Just a thought, since media explorer work was being done.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 08:54 PM   #28
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Thanks ED but I'm afraid that goes right over my head. I think you'd need a master's degree to understand that!
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 11:16 PM   #29
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
+ JSFX: add export_buffer_to_project()
What exactly does this do, and what 5 parameters does it use?

EDIT: Found some info in super8, doesn't help much...
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 01:06 AM   #30
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
What exactly does this do, and what 5 parameters does it use?

EDIT: Found some info in super8, doesn't help much...
It seems that it allows the super8's buffers/samples it's recorded to be pasted straight into the arrange.

I might be wrong though but that's my assumption
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:44 AM   #31
Nystagmus
Human being with feelings
 
Nystagmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Tangent, not really related to this pre, feel free to ignore:

I suggested in this thread that it might be cool to have the "clean current project directory" functionality integrated with the media explorer.

E.g. you select "clean current project directory" and it pulls up the media explorer in a new 'cleanup' mode; the advantage being that you can preview the files before you remove them.

Thinking about it, it seems like it'd be more appropriate to add it to the project bay as a new tab: "project directory audio files" or something. Then you could have an option to show only those not being used, play them with the existing interface, and delete them as desired, etc. Adding filter wildcards and searchability and such could make the whole process easier.

Point being that it's rough when you have 100 unused files in the project directory and have to go to windows explorer to play through them to confirm that they are safe to remove.

Just a thought, since media explorer work was being done.
As far as I know, the clean project directory ONLY lists files that aren't currently being used by the current project. So as long as you save each project in it's own folder and have the media copied over into it, you'll never delete a used file accidentally.

Occasionally my "Reaper Media" folder gets filled up. But that's only from projects which I never saved. Test it out on your system and see what I mean.
Nystagmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 02:47 AM   #32
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I find that the more I add to it, the less fun it is to use.
I can guarantee you that adding a fix to the touchscreen input so that a non-double tap registers as a click would increase your enjoyment of it at least 7%.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 03:37 AM   #33
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
It seems that it allows the super8's buffers/samples it's recorded to be pasted straight into the arrange.

I might be wrong though but that's my assumption
Thanks for the info, I think you are right. The syntax seems to be:

export_buffer_to_project(buf, len, nch, srate, track_idx, flags, tempo)

Here is a simple JSFX script that lets you insert a sine wave item by setting the sliders, and then clicking trigger 0:

Code:
desc:Sine wave item generator
slider1:-12.0<-72.0,24.0,0.1>Gain (dB)
slider2:440<20,20000,1>Frequency (Hz)
slider3:1000<10,10000>Length (ms)
slider4:0<0,1,1{Mono,Stereo}>Channel Mode
slider5:1<1,99,1>Track (#)

@slider

gain = 10^(0.05 * slider1);
dt = slider2 / srate;
len = floor(slider3 * 0.001 * srate);
nch = 1 + (slider4 >= 0.5);
track_idx = slider5 - 1;

@block

trigger & 1 ? (
  i = t = 0;
  loop(len,
    buf[i] = gain * sin(2*$pi * t);
    i += 1;

    nch == 2 ? (
      buf[i] = buf[i - 1];
      i += 1;
    );

    t += dt;
  );
  save = 1;
);

@gfx

save ? (
  save = 0;
  export_buffer_to_project(buf, len, nch, srate, track_idx, 0, tempo);
);
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 05:28 AM   #34
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snooks View Post
I can guarantee you that adding a fix to the touchscreen input so that a non-double tap registers as a click would increase your enjoyment of it at least 7%.
I switched away from my ASUS T100 touchscreen to my old C2D Thinkpad X60, because the T100 couldn't power my audio interface and charge the battery at the same time... but yeah, any thoughts on how to do that?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 05:30 AM   #35
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Thanks for the info, I think you are right. The syntax seems to be:

export_buffer_to_project(buf, len, nch, srate, track_idx, flags, tempo)

Yep.
Code:
flags |= 1<<16; // go to end of project
flags |= 2<<16; // use tempo
also, try:

flags |= 4; // stretch/loop to fit timesel
flags |= 8; // try to match tempo 1x 
// see InsertMedia API, flags 4-256 are of interest.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 06:58 AM   #36
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,080
Default

In Media Explorer, is-it possible to have some "smart folder", a little bit like FX browser's smart folder ?
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 07:27 AM   #37
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I switched away from my ASUS T100 touchscreen to my old C2D Thinkpad X60, because the T100 couldn't power my audio interface and charge the battery at the same time... but yeah, any thoughts on how to do that?
Sorry, I have no idea, all the buttons in the main Reaper GUI, SWS, VST work with a single touch though so it's only the gfx stuff. The interesting thing is that a/my mousepad tap doesn't register as a click either in gfx. If that's true for everybody then at least it's something to work with.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 08:08 AM   #38
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snooks View Post
Sorry, I have no idea, all the buttons in the main Reaper GUI, SWS, VST work with a single touch though so it's only the gfx stuff. The interesting thing is that a/my mousepad tap doesn't register as a click either in gfx. If that's true for everybody then at least it's something to work with.
Ahh I know why, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 08:31 AM   #39
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,546
Default

Woot!
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2015, 10:09 AM   #40
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nystagmus View Post
As far as I know, the clean project directory ONLY lists files that aren't currently being used by the current project. So as long as you save each project in it's own folder and have the media copied over into it, you'll never delete a used file accidentally.
I'm not worried about deleting files used by the currently open project, I'm worried about deleting files that aren't used but which are valuable. These can include files that are in that directory for other reasons, or files that are used by other versions of the same project file in that directory, or files that you accidentally removed from the project, etc etc. And as you point out, if you're talking about the default recording path there may be valuable files accidentally left in there, and there are other scenarios as well.

After you've spent months on a track and there are 100's of leftover files in a directory, it's a bit nerve-wracking to wipe them all in one fell swoop, and reassuring to spin through them quickly to make sure they are actually trash.

Currently the only way I know of is to go the directory with the file browser and find them one by one and open them in a media player, which is cumbersome and seems silly given Reaper's capabilities. I'd love to pull open some kind of tab in the project bay that says "files in project dir" with an "unused" option checkbox, or more simply just says "ununsed media" and lets me go through them, deleting them right there in the UI as desired. Since all the UI pieces and the functionality already exists in reaper, it seemed like an easy enough thing to implement.

But if I'm the only one that feels the need to sometimes listen to things before removing them, no need to beg for developer time on the issue.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.