Old 03-19-2016, 06:33 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default FX Manager (concept)

Just a work in progress (LUA script):

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 06:37 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Fantastic !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 08:14 AM   #3
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,398
Default

what a great and useful idea...
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 08:14 AM   #4
urlwolf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Great work!
This would make the silly white column on the left of every VST window obsolete!
urlwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 08:43 AM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,677
Default

very cool! subscribed!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 08:51 AM   #6
Doc Brown
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,636
Default

Awesome!!!
Doc Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 09:39 AM   #7
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,549
Default

When can I start using this....?

Ha ha, awesome idea.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:51 PM   #8
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 838
Default

Wow, this is an awesome idea! Can't wait to have a try!
Paul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 03:04 PM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

Looks Great !

Any chance you also take care of routing effects within the chain via their I/O pins ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 03:09 PM   #10
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 2,956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urlwolf View Post
Great work!
This would make the silly white column on the left of every VST window obsolete!
Reaper: Still stuck in Windows Me/XP edition
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 03:57 PM   #11
Softsynth
Human being with feelings
 
Softsynth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5,379
Default

Nice idea. Like it.
Softsynth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 04:29 PM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
When can I start using this....?

Ha ha, awesome idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul99 View Post
Wow, this is an awesome idea! Can't wait to have a try!
I've run into a few snags.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Looks Great !

Any chance you also take care of routing effects within the chain via their I/O pins ?

-Michael
?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 01:42 AM   #13
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
?
Sorry for not being clear.

This has been discussed in these forums already multiple times.

Especially for new users the Audio Routing within an FX-Chain is not obvious. Even the name "FX-Chain is missleading, as not only chaining is possible but - using more than two channels and attaching the plugin "pins" - also parallel structures.

When doing such a nice plugin management tool, working within a single "FX-chaiun", as you offer, it might be a good idea to take care of the FX-Chain internal plugin routing features, as well, e.g. offering a simple GUI.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:10 AM   #14
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

Mostly done by eugen2777:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=173867

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:25 AM   #15
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,353
Default

Nice concept, Darkstar, very interesting.

Does it work "only" with presets (or do you think we could choose some parameters to make some "macros", a bit like in the TCP) ?

Also, do youi think that at some point, we could have "plugins grouping", so we can mute or solo a whole bunch of plugins in a single mouseclick (very interesting for quick A/B comparison of a mastering chain, for instance) ?
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:41 AM   #16
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

(a) Was on my mind, but I am 2 days into Lua and API so have no idea at the moment
(b) I think that that could be done with a 'Group' column and an On/Off button for each Group (and an "All Off/On" button)

A lot depends on what the API offers and me deciphering what each one means and what it does and the Lua syntax
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:53 AM   #17
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,353
Default

Thank you, Darkstar
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 04:30 AM   #18
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Nive but still not very intuitive (in fact two outs are not mixed, but the second replaces the first, while mixing takes place when routing two outs via different channels to a single in).

Would it be doable / viable to integrate this with the patch management in a single GUI ?

More thinking about this: Linked parameter between multiple plugins might be useful as well (and suggests integration of the parameter management and the routing, see the usual way to create a real stereo reverb from two ReaVerbs).

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 03-20-2016 at 04:37 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 01:33 PM   #19
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Nive but still not very intuitive (in fact two outs are not mixed, but the second replaces the first, while mixing takes place when routing two outs via different channels to a single in).
I do not understand; can you clarify what you see as the problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Would it be doable / viable to integrate this with the patch management in a single GUI ?
Technically yes; but most of it is eugen2777's work, so perhaps not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
More thinking about this: Linked parameter between multiple plugins might be useful as well (and suggests integration of the parameter management and the routing, see the usual way to create a real stereo reverb from two ReaVerbs).
How do you see that parameter linking working?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:30 PM   #20
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I do not understand; can you clarify what you see as the problem?
If I understand correctly the audio pin routing works in a way that an output that is set to a channel replaces the signal that had be on that channel before (above/left) the appropriate plugin (independent of where the input pins of the plugin are connected).

So multiple outputs on the same channel within a track are not mixed.

To mix multiple channels, you need to connects the same input pit of any plugin to them.

Th picture you posted seems to suggest that the horizontal lines are a kind of buses to which multiple outputs are connected to be mixed.

AFAIK, this does not work. You need some "final" plugin to simulate the behavior of mixer buses (by connecting an input of same to multiple channels). Otherwise all the channels are routed out of track separately and by default only two of them are sent to the mixer.

But maybe this script uses some trick to overcome that....

Anyway, to have a fully fledged thingy, IMHO, your effort plus the routing GUI plus some way to manage the linking of corresponding parameter faders would need to be combined. I think your GUI presented in the first post might include a parameter linking option for the plugins under it's control (I understand that this is just a configuration issue as Reaper provides the realtime handling of linked parameters out of the box).

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 03-20-2016 at 02:38 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:15 PM   #21
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,467
Default

mschnell, I plan these things (except linked parameters - there are Mapping Panel for this):
Attached Images
File Type: jpg adD.jpg (40.0 KB, 288 views)
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 04:54 PM   #22
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

This does look great (even though I am not a big fan of doing so much effort for a nice looking GUI, I am aware that the absence of same is a great impedance for many less "old school" guys).

So I suppose you are on a good track.

As said, IMHO, such a thing should be combined with the "FX manager" idea (fast switching of multiple sets of parameters for multiple plugins in a single Track FX chain), and parameter linking (and maybe more that I am not yet aware of) to visualize and allow "easy" managing of the already great plugin handling features Reaper offers.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 06:14 PM   #23
X-Tech
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 490
Default

This look usefull and good. I still wondering - will someone make something like this to view links to parameters and of parameters and copy them between same plugin like : eq gain band 1 - moved - will move comp1 thresshold etc. so copied links from comp1 to another comp1 will give - another comp1 threshold be moved by eq gain band 1
__________________
nonononononono

Last edited by X-Tech; 03-20-2016 at 06:20 PM.
X-Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 10:55 AM   #24
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default



Previous / next track selector, bigger track name
FX Groups, multiple bypass, TCP controls, coloured per FX

Lua-ophiles: Is there are way to get the actual values (and min and max) of the TCP parameters? All I see is numbers in the range 0 ... 1.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 03-21-2016 at 03:44 PM.
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 01:04 PM   #25
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,677
Default

"cool beans" dark star!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 01:17 PM   #26
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,353
Default

muy excellent !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 03:45 PM   #27
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

pic in post #24 updated
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:09 PM   #28
4x4uk
Human being with feelings
 
4x4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 473
Default

this looks really good darkstar
4x4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:06 PM   #29
X-Tech
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 490
Default

Perfect concept.
__________________
nonononononono
X-Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:43 PM   #30
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,398
Default

schwing...
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 07:51 AM   #31
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

900 KB animated gif: https://i.imgur.com/UOi4QeA.gif
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 08:39 AM   #32
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 838
Default

Keeps looking better and better!!!
Paul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 08:51 AM   #33
lachrimae
Human being with feelings
 
lachrimae's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 786
Default

Damn that's turning into a sexy channel strip
lachrimae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:19 AM   #34
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,639
Default

thanks yet again DS... looking really nice so far

it would be so kewl if besides the previous and next for the patches of any given FX, something like a rt. clk. would bring up the patch list to select from... you know, as it does in most plugins...

possible?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 12:32 PM   #35
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

^^^^
Hah, I was waiting for someone to ask, As far as I can see you cannot get the list of presets from the plug-in, only the name of the current one.

APIgurus, please prove me wrong.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 04:17 PM   #36
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,883
Default

This looks very nice.
OPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 05:32 PM   #37
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post


Previous / next track selector, bigger track name
FX Groups, multiple bypass, TCP controls, coloured per FX

Lua-ophiles: Is there are way to get the actual values (and min and max) of the TCP parameters? All I see is numbers in the range 0 ... 1.
Nice work here! Are the knobs displayed per-FX, or are they the track's global macro knobs?

Hey, why not both? (display global macro knobs when no FX is selected)

Can't help thinking of Bitwig's parameter macro workflow here...
https://youtu.be/rRZd5G6AMmo?t=314
Yep, this again... but it's so damn useful!
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 11:22 PM   #38
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sju View Post
are they the track's global macro knobs?
Global Macro knobs of course would be great, but that would go far beyond the possibility of parameter linking that we already discussed.

1) Parameter linking is just a configuration setting, Reaper handles the "realtime" phase of the process internally.

2) Global macro knobs would need to be decently configurable: at least a start and an end value for each addressed parameter would be needed. Even better additionally a start/end angle of the move and still even a curve (lin/log) or something similar (per addressed parameter) would be great.

IMHO just another knob for a parameter that already exists on the plugin's GUI does not make much sense.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 03:51 AM   #39
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,891
Default

The control knobs are just a reflection of those selected as TCP parameter knobs. Is that what you (Sju) meant by 'global macro knobs'?

They are not the FX's parameter knobs - they could be listed for selection, but that would need drop-down menus, scroll-bars etc etc

Quote:
Parameter linking is just a configuration setting,
I still do not understand this (and I have asked via PM too). Maybe I have a blind spot, but please clarify exactly what you mean.

The description of Global Parameter Knobs is outside the scope of this script. It would be worth posting that as a separate thread for discussion.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 12:18 PM   #40
urlwolf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Any chance you could add a 'save fxp preset' button?
urlwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.