Old 03-30-2016, 02:14 PM   #1
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default Necromare's freebies, over 75 VSTis

Necromare is letting me host his classic VSTis. There are over 75 VSTis and well over 100 instruments.
There is a lot great stuff from pianos and guitars to world instruments to soundscapes to horror instruments.
These are 32 bit Windows VSTs.
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0. Credit Necromare.

http://bigcatinstruments.blogspot.co...mare-vsts.html
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 03:25 AM   #2
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,348
Default

Thanks for this. I tried a couple and they are very usable.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 04:47 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,727
Default

Are they samplers with samples? Are they created in any constructor?

Last edited by vitalker; 03-31-2016 at 04:57 AM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 04:52 AM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,141
Default

Thanks for the heads up. I'll certainly be giving some of these a try.
__________________
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI v1.0 config
Airon Audio Dia/FX Edit&Mix
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 07:00 AM   #5
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default

Thanks for giving them a try. Many aren't real big, so I assume they aren't necessarily heavily sampled, but Necromare seems to have done a good editing job and they seem quite responsive to me.

I'm not sure, but they remind me of my Maize Sampler instruments, so I assume they were done with an earlier version of Maize or something similar? The vast majority are sampled based, though one or two are more synthish.
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 08:08 PM   #6
Bjorn218
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 305
Default

Oh hell yes, Fartburpatron2000 I am so there. another thing to play with to annoy the rest of the household.

Thanks for these I actually have use for several of the instruments as I was looking for something similar.

Is there any reason why Necromare did not want the entire bundle zipped? Or at least by section? No big deal in the grand scheme of things, Just wanted to keep downloads tidy
Bjorn218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 01:04 PM   #7
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

Thanks for taking the trouble of putting together the blog page and posting the link here. There are some very usable VSTis in that list, especially under the World instruments section.
__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 01:41 PM   #8
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

I tried to use the Recorder VSTi (Brass / Woodwinds / Orchestral) and it refused to make any sound. After checking the Recorder folder, I noticed that you added the "Receiver.instruments" folder instead of the "Recorder.instruments" folder in the ZIP file. The "Receiver.instruments" are used by another VSTi called Receiver (Sound Effects / Found Items / Body Instruments) and the contents of both folders are exactly the same. Could you please correct this? I was looking forward to using the Recorder VSTi. Thank you!
__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 03:53 PM   #9
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,640
Default

Thanks man ! Lost my studio machine and in settng up a new one , this was a big help. Im especially all over the electric bass and mixed choir ..
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 04:13 PM   #10
Retro Audio Enthusiast
Human being with feelings
 
Retro Audio Enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 482
Default

Some of these are very useful in a lo-fi way. Great stuff.
__________________
REAPER License Holder
Retro Audio Enthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 04:31 PM   #11
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro Audio Enthusiast View Post
Some of these are very useful in a lo-fi way. Great stuff.
Yeah, I thought so too. Some might be definitely used to add to the arrangement's texture.

Thanks to OP.
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 05:36 PM   #12
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default

Thanks for the kind words guys. I'll mention this thread to Necromare if he hasn't seen it yet.

Sorry about the glitch (aka my screwup), the record should now be correct.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/2a...e_Recorder.zip
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 06:58 PM   #13
Dannii
Human being with feelings
 
Dannii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,568
Default

Another thumbs up from me (and a big thank you) for this BC.
No doubt some of these will be very useful.
__________________

Last edited by Dannii; 04-04-2016 at 12:57 PM.
Dannii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 07:47 PM   #14
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat1969 View Post
Thanks for the kind words guys. I'll mention this thread to Necromare if he hasn't seen it yet.

Sorry about the glitch (aka my screwup), the record should now be correct.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/2a...e_Recorder.zip
Thank you very much for the quick response and solution, it's really appreciated!
__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 08:31 PM   #15
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default

Thanks for letting me know Mr Moto. I tend toward errors on occasion and I like to correct them quickly if possible. I figure its bad PR to have broken things on the site.

Thanks again for all the kind words. I was thrilled that Necromare let me share these. I'm amazed by all the work that went into them.
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:11 AM   #16
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: [REDACTED]
Posts: 3,028
Default

terrific, thank you.

been loving the music box and celesta for years, didn't know there were so many more.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:08 PM   #17
PigPenofsoftware
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Colo.
Posts: 84
Default

Grossly stupid question here-

When I unzip a single VSTi there is a .dll file and a directory with .instruments suffix. Under the directory is a .mse file.

Which of these make up the VSTi that Reaper should find if I should ever be so fortunate as to figure out where the hell to put the files? (Windoze 7) Is the file plus directory structure important?



I'm setting this with a single sample of one because this kind of thing usually doesn't go well for me. (it sure as hell did not last year when I tried to make a drum sound and gave up after a month of intermittent screeching at the screen in frustration)

I've read the manual about forcing Reaper to find a location and re-scan for VST or VSTi. But haven't been successful at having it find any or all of the parts above.

Please type slowly.

EDIT- I don't understand why Reaper won't recognize my VSTi directory. But it won't. So putting the .dll file under VST made it visible as a VST. Then using the 'acoustic guitar' FX sounds like a piano. The Angelic Harp also sounds like a piano. I Fail. What did I miss?
__________________
Ron
The brown cloud of software malfunction hovers over my head.

Last edited by PigPenofsoftware; 04-04-2016 at 07:22 PM. Reason: piano sound
PigPenofsoftware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 08:15 PM   #18
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default

I apologize that as much as I like you guys and Reaper, Studio One came easier to my non-musical brain, no offense intended. So I'm not sure of all the ins and outs of Reaper.

In my experience, you should just be able to unzip the VST zip file into your 32 bit VST folder. The .dll file should be in this 32 bit VST directory and there should be a .instruments sub-folder and the .mse file or files should be in that sub-filder.

If the .instruments folder and .mse file/s aren't directly 'below' the dll in the file structure, then the dll won't be able to find the correct audio.
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:34 AM   #19
PigPenofsoftware
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Colo.
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat1969 View Post
If the .instruments folder and .mse file/s aren't directly 'below' the dll in the file structure, then the dll won't be able to find the correct audio.
The .dll file is at the same level as the .instrument directory. In the directory was the .mse file.

Watching about 7 tutorials in a row suggested that a VSTi consists of a .dll with no words about anything else. ("see how easy it is?" was the predominant theme. Yeah, right.)

So for these VSTis there are three pieces? A .dll, a .instrument directory and a .mse file?

I couldn't get a VSTi directory to show up in my FX list so I just moved the .dll file into the VST directory. Then I could select the acoustic guitar or angelic harp but only got piano sound.

I have another file configuration to try I guess.
__________________
Ron
The brown cloud of software malfunction hovers over my head.
PigPenofsoftware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 10:03 AM   #20
bigcat1969
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 251
Default

This picture should show more clearly how I'm aware that this should work. In the DAWs I'm experienced in I can simply go to options and add VST directories.

http://www.mediafire.com/view/9fnka3noedrh19d/vst.jpg

Note that my 32bit DAW would read this just fine, however my 64bit DAW would not.
bigcat1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 10:14 AM   #21
PigPenofsoftware
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Colo.
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks for trying. I think we might be into Reaper-specific behaviors.

Would be nice if someone who knows Reaper better could just chime in and say-

"yeah, dude. You need all those things and Reaper is incapable of keeping them in a VSTi folder. I've tried that like two dozen times and could never get it to work. Just put it with the VSTs and be glad it works at all."

anybody?
__________________
Ron
The brown cloud of software malfunction hovers over my head.
PigPenofsoftware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 10:15 AM   #22
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PigPenofsoftware View Post
The .dll file is at the same level as the .instrument directory. In the directory was the .mse file.

Watching about 7 tutorials in a row suggested that a VSTi consists of a .dll with no words about anything else. ("see how easy it is?" was the predominant theme. Yeah, right.)

So for these VSTis there are three pieces? A .dll, a .instrument directory and a .mse file?

I couldn't get a VSTi directory to show up in my FX list so I just moved the .dll file into the VST directory. Then I could select the acoustic guitar or angelic harp but only got piano sound.

I have another file configuration to try I guess.
It seems to me that you don't fully understand how to use the folder system nor the folder structure that is often necessary to make VSTs or VSTis work.

In the case of Necromare's instruments, I made a subfolder in my VST folder called "Necromare". In that folder I created folders for every instrument group, as shown in the first picture.

Let's use the "Brass_Woodwinds_Orchestral" folder as an example. After opening the folder, I dragged the instruments belonging to that group, one by one, from the ZIP files into that folder, which looks now as shown in the 2nd picture.

Then I did the same with the instruments of all the other groups.

About picture #2: note that there are 5 DLL files and ALSO the 5 accompanying folders with the necessary data for the VSTi (DLL), in this case containing .mse files. Without this data the VSTi can't play the expected sounds.

Of course you don't have to group the instruments, but I like things organized.

Folder structures are very important. A VSTi (or VST) will often look in a certain folder, in a certain place, for the data it needs. In case of a VSTi, when that folder is not there or has a wrong or misspelled name, it can't find the data and subsequently won't make a sound.

I really hope this will help you some.



__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 10:38 AM   #23
PigPenofsoftware
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Colo.
Posts: 84
Default

This helps a very great deal. Thanks for taking the time to put it together.

None of the tutorials I watched had anything but .dll files. So insufficient examples. Monkey see - Monkey do - no workey.

The other barrier for me is that I too like things organized.

So when I open the FX window and look at what's there I see VST and VSTi in the Cockos (upper) region. But can't see if I can put anything under VSTi there.

Further down is the VST where some stuff I'd downloaded last year shows up.

Cool.

I'd like for there to be a VSTi folder right alongside it in the directory tree. I created a Windows folder at the same spot where the VST folder was found. Then I put a .dll file in there. Then I went to the Options -> Preferences and told Reaper where to look.

Reaper would not find that VSTi directory.

I could remove and replace the items under the VST directory but couldn't make it find the VSTi self-created directory.

So you are confirming that I cannot create a VSTi directory unless it is underneath the VST location. OK. Now that I know, I can live with that. Silly me for thinking I could do something that makes sense (to me. This is my usual struggle with software.)

I think things will probably work when I can get to my system to include all the parts for each VSTi.

Thank you!
__________________
Ron
The brown cloud of software malfunction hovers over my head.
PigPenofsoftware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 06:15 PM   #24
PigPenofsoftware
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Colo.
Posts: 84
Default

MrMoto I thank you very much for your help.

It's simple but if you do it wrong it won't work.

Now I can make like a monkey and bang on the bongoes all I want!
__________________
Ron
The brown cloud of software malfunction hovers over my head.
PigPenofsoftware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 07:23 PM   #25
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PigPenofsoftware View Post
MrMoto I thank you very much for your help.

It's simple but if you do it wrong it won't work.

Now I can make like a monkey and bang on the bongoes all I want!
Great! I'm glad that you figured it out. It can be frustrating when you try long and hard and it still doesn't work.

And now make some music!
__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:15 AM   #26
MrMoto
Human being with feelings
 
MrMoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 233
Default

bigcat1969, I've sent you a PM.
__________________
Without music, life is a journey through a desert.
MrMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.