Old 05-26-2016, 03:15 PM   #1
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default Track numbers not updating in MPC (FIXED)

This has been happening for quite a while now and it's rather random.

How exactly it's happening I'm not sure, as I'm working along and adding tracks in the TCP which are above the tracks in the MPC, the MPC track numbers do not always update.

It happened to me today and I was going to take a screenshot of it, but before I took the shot, I changed themes and it fixed itself.

Sometimes all I have to do is edit a track name and it will fix itself. Sometimes not.

The main thing that bugs me is when I'm routing something, especially in the routing or group matrix, it gets a little confusing.

Something else that came up today in the routing matrix. A track ended up being routed to itself. Checking the routing on the track itself shows that it is not routed to itself. I tried various things, even closing Reaper and rebooting but it still shows that it's routed to itself in the Routing Matrix.

Look at track 23 "Sub Strings".



I know the routing thing with the MTC track number not updating is going to happen again fairly soon, and next time I'll try get a picture right away.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 03:32 PM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

I knew it wouldn't take long. As you can see, Track manager shows them correctly, tracks 6, 7, & 8. However, they are 4, 5, & 6 in the MPC.

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 03:59 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,284
Default

Master track options - Auto Arrange Tracks in Mixer [checked]
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 04:08 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
Master track options - Auto Arrange Tracks in Mixer [checked]
Heh heh, so there's an option for this? I should-a figured!

Thanks EpicSounds, but indeed mine is checked, so that's not it.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:05 AM   #5
4x4uk
Human being with feelings
 
4x4uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 450
Default

Hi Tod

I think epicsounds is actually saying you should uncheck that if its checked.
4x4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:19 AM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4uk View Post
Hi Tod

I think epicsounds is actually saying you should uncheck that if its checked.
no indeed it should be checked. No other ideas for this 'bug'
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 09:03 AM   #7
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Okay, I think I may have narrowed it down, it could be happening when I duplicate tracks.

I'm going to test this a little more today.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 09:47 AM   #8
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Yep, I can get it to happen every time by duplicating tracks in the TCP.

I had 7 tracks in the TCP and 3 in the MPC. Then I duplicated Track-7 and Track-5. You can see the outcome.

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:26 AM   #9
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,112
Default

Confirmed (5.201 x64).

FIXED (5.21pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 05-30-2016 at 04:21 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:31 AM   #10
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,284
Default

can't reproduce here on 5.20 osx
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:46 AM   #11
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,969
Default

At the risk of sounding flippant, exactly what did you expect to happen when you actually \**duplicate**/ a track?

I see what is happening as logical behaviour. Sorry.
You told reaper to duplicate something, so it did.
A case of do what I want not what I say.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 11:40 AM   #12
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
At the risk of sounding flippant, exactly what did you expect to happen when you actually \**duplicate**/ a track?

I see what is happening as logical behaviour. Sorry.
You told reaper to duplicate something, so it did.
A case of do what I want not what I say.
The track numbers are wrong. compare track names with numbers in that image
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 12:10 PM   #13
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Okay, I checked it on 4 versions.

v5.15/x64
v5.18/x64
v5.20/x64
v5.11pre3/x64

It's the same with all of them.

I loaded 5 tracks into the TCP and 2 tracks into the MCP.

I duplicated Track 5 first, then track 3, and the MCP tracks did not update.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:45 PM   #14
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Okay, I checked it on 4 versions.

v5.15/x64
v5.18/x64
v5.20/x64
v5.11pre3/x64

It's the same with all of them.
any of them clean portable installs?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:31 PM   #15
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
any of them clean portable installs?
Hi Jon, they are all portable installs, however they weren't clean.

However I do have one that is totally clean, v5.20rc6, and the only thing I did is put my license in it, otherwise it's completely fresh. Same thing happens there too.

So you can't reproduce this? Following the directions I showed above, this is what I did.

I loaded 5 tracks into the TCP and 2 tracks into the MCP.

I duplicated Track 5 first, then track 3, and the MCP tracks did not update.

Now the exact order probably doesn't have to be that way, I've just been trying to follow the same procedure.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 06:45 PM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,478
Default

Duplicated the issue with track numbers not updating in the mixer when duplicating an earlier track, thanks! Fixing.

Any idea how to reproduce that routing matrix drawing bug?

Last edited by Justin; 05-27-2016 at 07:04 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:04 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Something else that came up today in the routing matrix. A track ended up being routed to itself. Checking the routing on the track itself shows that it is not routed to itself. I tried various things, even closing Reaper and rebooting but it still shows that it's routed to itself in the Routing Matrix.
Ooh send me the .RPP please!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:28 PM   #18
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Okay, here you go Justin, thanks.

http://stash-new.reaper.fm/27722/04%...er%20crash.zip
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 11:49 PM   #19
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
The track numbers are wrong. compare track names with numbers in that image
Suppose it comes down to your interpretation of "wrong".

Sorry - I just felt argumentative last night I guess...

But it will be interesting to see what Justin makes of this.
I can of course understand the desired behaviour, but it sorta comes down to the difference semantically between "copy" and "duplicate" I suppose.
Glad I dont have to code this stuff.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 05:31 AM   #20
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Confirmed (5.201).


FIXED (5.21pre7)

Last edited by Dstruct; 05-30-2016 at 04:21 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 07:25 AM   #21
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Confirmed (5.201).
Thanks Dstruct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Suppose it comes down to your interpretation of "wrong".

Sorry - I just felt argumentative last night I guess...

But it will be interesting to see what Justin makes of this.
I can of course understand the desired behaviour, but it sorta comes down to the difference semantically between "copy" and "duplicate" I suppose.
Glad I dont have to code this stuff.
Yeah, it's really not a big deal until you open one of the matrixes looking for a track number, because the they all have the correct numbering. When you have a large project, it can get a little confusing.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:03 AM   #22
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Heh what is the "after crash" you mention?

This project has an invalid send (sending from the track to itself), which we can easily filter on read, just curious how it got there...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 11:59 AM   #23
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Heh what is the "after crash" you mention?

This project has an invalid send (sending from the track to itself), which we can easily filter on read, just curious how it got there...
Yeah, heh heh, I do get the occasional crash, mostly when I've got Kontakt open.

I don't have a clue how the invalid send got there, or how long it was like that before I noticed it. It just suddenly showed up, or I should say, I noticed it while I was assigning tracks. It caught my attention because I didn't think that was possible.

Thanks Justin.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 01:02 PM   #24
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Well It looks like it's not just using "Duplicate", I just used "SWS: Insert Track above selected tracks", and the tracks in the MCP did not update.

I thought I should mention it.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 01:48 PM   #25
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Yeah, heh heh, I do get the occasional crash, mostly when I've got Kontakt open.
Right, but how do you have an "after-crash" rpp?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 02:16 PM   #26
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Right, but how do you have an "after-crash" rpp?
That's just a little note to myself that the project crashed on me and I reopened it with an autosave backup.

My next save wont have that.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.