Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2016, 09:59 PM   #1
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default Win key is not available as modifier for mousewheel shortcuts (FIXED)

In the Windows versions of REAPER (v5.20), the Win key is not available as a modifier for mousewheel shortcuts. This limits the number of Actions that can be linked to the mousewheel.

Strangely, it seems that the Cmd key can be used as modifier in the OS X version: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=175579.

P.S. Of course, even better than activating only the Win key, would be to implement the 7-year-old request for additional mouse modifier keys:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=175804
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=891

Last edited by juliansader; 07-07-2018 at 02:23 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 01:41 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,723
Default

Confirmed.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 08:49 AM   #3
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 696
Default

I don't think this is a bug. It works as designed, because the Win-key opens your start-menu. Whereas Alt, CNTRL and Shift are application dependent so can be used bij each application. So this is a typical Windows "feature". If it was usable as shortcut, I am sure Justin would have made it possible to use it that way.
Paul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 09:14 AM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul99 View Post
I don't think this is a bug. It works as designed, because the Win-key opens your start-menu. Whereas Alt, CNTRL and Shift are application dependent so can be used bij each application. So this is a typical Windows "feature". If it was usable as shortcut, I am sure Justin would have made it possible to use it that way.
Windows' built-in shortcuts for the Win key can be deactivated (except Win-L for logout and perhaps one or two others), and the Win key is then available as a modifier for REAPER's *keyboard* shortcuts. However, even when Windows' built-in shortcuts are deactivated, or if REAPER is used in Linux Wine, the Win key is unavailable for mousewheel shortcuts.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 09:20 AM   #5
teeramusic
Human being with feelings
 
teeramusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Windows' built-in shortcuts for the Win key can be deactivated (except Win-L for logout and perhaps one or two others), and the Win key is then available as a modifier for REAPER's *keyboard* shortcuts. However, even when Windows' built-in shortcuts are deactivated, or if REAPER is used in Linux Wine, the Win key is unavailable for mousewheel shortcuts.
True, but you have to fiddle with your registry and (IMHO) kind of breaks the functionality of windows. I like the win key as it is. Technically, you only lose one modifier since you can still win+another_key.
__________________
Win10 x64, i3930k, 32GB ram
Audio Post | Music Production | Recording Studio | Voice Over
teeramusic.com - Chiang Mai, Thailand
teeramusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 10:18 AM   #6
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeramusic View Post
True, but you have to fiddle with your registry and (IMHO) kind of breaks the functionality of windows. I like the win key as it is. Technically, you only lose one modifier since you can still win+another_key.
Unfortunately, for the mousewheel, Win+another_key does not work either: REAPER ignores the Win key and interprets Win+Alt as Alt, for example. As a result, we are missing about 8 modifier combinations.

Of course, users that prefer Windows' built-in shortcuts do not need to use Win as a modifier. However, some users (including me) are running out of modifiers, so it would be very helpful to have 8 additional modifier combinations available.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 09:36 PM   #7
teeramusic
Human being with feelings
 
teeramusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Unfortunately, for the mousewheel, Win+another_key does not work either: REAPER ignores the Win key and interprets Win+Alt as Alt, for example. As a result, we are missing about 8 modifier combinations.

Of course, users that prefer Windows' built-in shortcuts do not need to use Win as a modifier. However, some users (including me) are running out of modifiers, so it would be very helpful to have 8 additional modifier combinations available.
It works on my two computers perfectly. I use Win+another_key all the time for modifiers. It could just be your keyboard. For example, on my laptop, I cannot press more than 3 keys at once on the virtual keyboard, but that is only true for some combinations. On my friends laptop, however, everything works regardless of how many keys she is pressing.
__________________
Win10 x64, i3930k, 32GB ram
Audio Post | Music Production | Recording Studio | Voice Over
teeramusic.com - Chiang Mai, Thailand
teeramusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 11:21 PM   #8
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeramusic View Post
It works on my two computers perfectly. I use Win+another_key all the time for modifiers. It could just be your keyboard. For example, on my laptop, I cannot press more than 3 keys at once on the virtual keyboard, but that is only true for some combinations. On my friends laptop, however, everything works regardless of how many keys she is pressing.
Are you referring to mousewheel shortcuts, or keyboard-only shortcuts? I would be delighted if Win+Mousewheel actually does works on some systems.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 03:03 PM   #9
teeramusic
Human being with feelings
 
teeramusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Are you referring to mousewheel shortcuts, or keyboard-only shortcuts? I would be delighted if Win+Mousewheel actually does works on some systems.
Ahh okay I see. Sorry I missed the original point. Keyboard shortcuts work, but win+mousewheel not (as you've described). So I would say bug confirmed
__________________
Win10 x64, i3930k, 32GB ram
Audio Post | Music Production | Recording Studio | Voice Over
teeramusic.com - Chiang Mai, Thailand
teeramusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 04:24 AM   #10
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Several of Kawa's niftiest scripts require mousewheel control, including for example:




This underscores how useful additional mousewheel modifiers would be.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 05:21 AM   #11
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 568
Default

Confirmed. Damn those Kawa scripts are really nice by the way!

As a Windows user I'd really like to fully utilize the Win key as I can the Cmd on Mac. One additional modifier key equals, what, 8 additional functions to be mapped to mouse. Flexible mouse workflow with modifiers is one of the greatest workflow enhancers in Reaper, and I really wish we could utilize to it's fullest potential.
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 05:33 AM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

It's not a bug really. I don't know any program, which can override this behaviour, but you can use AutoHotKey and use this code in it:
Code:
; IMPORTANT INFO ABOUT GETTING STARTED: Lines that start with a
; semicolon, such as this one, are comments.  They are not executed.

; This script has a special filename and path because it is automatically
; launched when you run the program directly.  Also, any text file whose
; name ends in .ahk is associated with the program, which means that it
; can be launched simply by double-clicking it.  You can have as many .ahk
; files as you want, located in any folder.  You can also run more than
; one ahk file simultaneously and each will get its own tray icon.

; SAMPLE HOTKEYS: Below are two sample hotkeys.  The first is Win+Z and it
; launches a web site in the default browser.  The second is Control+Alt+N
; and it launches a new Notepad window (or activates an existing one).  To
; try out these hotkeys, run AutoHotkey again, which will load this file.

#z::Run www.autohotkey.com

^!n::
IfWinExist Untitled - Notepad
	WinActivate
else
	Run Notepad
return


; Note: From now on whenever you run AutoHotkey directly, this script
; will be loaded.  So feel free to customize it to suit your needs.

; Please read the QUICK-START TUTORIAL near the top of the help file.
; It explains how to perform common automation tasks such as sending
; keystrokes and mouse clicks.  It also explains more about hotkeys.
~LWin Up::return
#d Up::return
~LWin Up::return
#d Up::return
prevent Win and Win+D Windows commands.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 05:55 AM   #13
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It's not a bug really. I don't know any program, which can override this behaviour, but you can use AutoHotKey and use this code in it:
Windows' built-in shortcuts for the Win key can be deactivated (except Win-L for logout and perhaps one or two others), and the Win key is then available as a modifier for REAPER's *keyboard* shortcuts. However, even when Windows' built-in shortcuts are deactivated, or if REAPER is used in Linux Wine, the Win key is unavailable for mousewheel shortcuts.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 05:59 AM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Windows' built-in shortcuts for the Win...
Did you try native Linux version?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 06:06 AM   #15
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Did you try native Linux version?
Not yet. My DAW is on Windows, so I do not closely follow the progress of the native Linux version.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 06:11 AM   #16
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Not yet. My DAW is on Windows, so I do not closely follow the progress of the native Linux version.
So why are you writting about Wine?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 07:47 AM   #17
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Bumping this thread...

Scripts cannot be linked to click+drag mouse modifiers. However, users can get a very similar "feel" by using the mousewheel:

Instead of
* Press mouse button -> drag -> release button,
the user does
* Move mousewheel -> drag -> release mousewheel.

Unfortunately, with the Win key unavailable as mousewheel modifier, users quickly run out of modifiers.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:21 PM   #18
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

FIXED in v5.93!

I will also update my mouse editing scripts so that they can be started and terminated by mousewheel shortcuts.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:55 PM   #19
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
FIXED in v5.93!
Not completely. We still can't use Win+ shortcuts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:13 PM   #20
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Not completely. We still can't use Win+ shortcuts.
Which shortcuts are you referring to? (Everything seems to work fine on my system.)
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 02:05 AM   #21
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Which shortcuts are you referring to? (Everything seems to work fine on my system.)
Those that are not used by system. Win+ any button without other modifiers.
So Win+Ctrl+T is working, but Win+T not.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 02:13 AM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,723
Default

Win+T is used by the system in W10...

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...oard-shortcuts


There's a registry hack you can use to disable Win+single key combinations that the OS uses.

https://www.ghacks.net/2015/03/22/ho...ys-in-windows/
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 02:23 AM   #23
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Win+T is used by the system in W10...
Thanks! Now I see all the Win+ shortcuts are use by system. It's a shame! I hope Justin can hack it as he wrote.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post

There's a registry hack you can use to disable Win+single key combinations that the OS uses.
I know about it. Thanks! Although I use them often, so it's not the best way to allow Reaper to use it. AHK worked on Win 7, but doesn't work on Win 10.

So yeah, all the Win+another modifier combinations work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 03:04 AM   #24
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,723
Default

This is why I posted the above link - it doesn't use AHK, but a registry tweak. It works in W10. I disabled Win+E easily, for example.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 04:24 AM   #25
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
This is why I posted the above link - it doesn't use AHK, but a registry tweak. It works in W10. I disabled Win+E easily, for example.
You don't need to repeat it I don't want to completely disable these shortcuts, cause I use them. I just wanted them to be disabled while in Reaper and after closing use it as before.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.