Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2016, 01:11 AM   #1
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,270
Default MIDI Duplicate Filter stop accepting notes after receiving two note offs (FIXED)

I've been chasing around a seemingly random issue in my live setup where MIDI_DuplicateFilter would suddenly decide to stop accepting specific notes until it's manually reset.

Here's an easy way to trigger the symptoms:
  1. Put the included MIDI_DuplicateFilter JSFX on a track with MIDI input
  2. Press a note on the keyboard (don't release it)
  3. Start transport -> REAPER sends a note off
  4. Release the note previously held -> another note off is sent
  5. Current: MIDI_DuplicateFilter won't accept that note anymore
    Expected: MIDI_DuplicateFilter ignores the second note off so further note on are accepted
Suggested fix:
Code:
Line 80, original:
tracker[note] -= 1;

Modified:
tracker[note] > 0 ? tracker[note] -= 1;

Last edited by cfillion; 08-22-2018 at 02:32 PM. Reason: updated line number
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 09:11 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 10,385
Default

What is the purpose of the JSFX ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 09:56 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,864
Default

It filters duplicate notes?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:20 PM   #4
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 10,385
Default

@evildragon


What makes a note marked as duplicate ? What isbthe timing threshold for note of same pitch ? is it 0 ? or maybe duplicates notes is when two note on signal for same pitch are send one after the other ?

what become filtered none ?
do you use it ?
what can make duplicated note in a first place ?


Thx for your expertise :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 05:35 PM   #5
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,270
Default

It's a real-time equivalent to "automatically correct overlapping notes". It only lets trough the first note-on and the last corresponding note-off. It's very useful when routing multiple keyboards together. The bug described here happens when it receives more note-off than note-on events (the internal counter goes negative...).

Last edited by cfillion; 08-22-2018 at 05:49 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 01:07 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 10,385
Default

@cfillion
Many thanks for your detailed explanation :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.