Old 02-03-2017, 11:22 PM   #1
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default [5.30] - [5.32] Lua Error Crash (FIXED)

I've been working on a Lua script that seems to cause Reaper to crash (reaper.exe is not responding). It seems to happen when Lua encounters a syntax error, but not always. This hasn't always been the case. In fact, I worked on the same script about six months ago without issue (other than my crappy Lua skills ). I haven't been able to track down a consistent Lua error that causes the problem. What makes it particularly difficult is that Reaper crashes before the error displays in some cases (again, not always).

Here is my most recent crash log:

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.3.2.0, time stamp: 0x587c32a3
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.14393.479, time stamp: 0x5825887f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000003face
Faulting process id: 0x28fc
Faulting application start time: 0x01d27ea26f71c8ad
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 9d491fea-ba78-4158-b6a6-5007aa7c8cf3
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Reaper 5.32x64 (although it's also happened on the 5.33 pres)
Windows 10 Professional 1607

Last edited by pcartwright; 02-06-2017 at 09:26 AM.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 08:31 AM   #2
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default Crash - this time lost the script

I encountered another crash while working on a script. This time, the script contents was completely erased. That is, I re-opened the script file after the crash and it was blank. I verified this with several text editors. Several days worth of work is toast (I now have my Reaper app data set to automatic backup as a result).

Crash log:
Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.3.2.0, time stamp: 0x587c32a3
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 10.0.14393.479, time stamp: 0x5825887f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000003a24b
Faulting process id: 0xea4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d27fc155a51b4a
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 39c2abbf-afaf-45b3-9285-c0c99701c4bd
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Last edited by pcartwright; 02-05-2017 at 08:37 AM.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 09:59 AM   #3
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

FWIW, I ran a portable install of 5.00 and the issue is gone.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 11:36 AM   #4
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

OK, I'm between a rock and a hard place on this one. The script I'm writing needs to pull the track name to function properly, but that function wasn't available until 5.30. Version 5.30 experiences the same random crashing as noted in the OP.

Does anyone else have this issue?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 02:27 PM   #5
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 4,188
Default

Without knowing what function is making it crash it's hard to try to reproduce.

Would you mind posting the script somewhere? If it's Lua I'm happy to have a look at it.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:36 PM   #6
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

I wish I could, but...

Quote:
I encountered another crash while working on a script. This time, the script contents was completely erased. That is, I re-opened the script file after the crash and it was blank. I verified this with several text editors. Several days worth of work is toast (I now have my Reaper app data set to automatic backup as a result).
I'll post an example if I encounter the issue again, but I'm still recovering from losing the whole thing.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 08:05 AM   #7
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
Without knowing what function is making it crash it's hard to try to reproduce.

Would you mind posting the script somewhere? If it's Lua I'm happy to have a look at it.
I just sent you a PM. Can you take a look when you have a second? I know why the script is failing, but I would like someone to confirm Reaper crashing on a Lua error.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 09:20 AM   #8
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

FWIW, it looks like this error was introduced with 5.30.

Last edited by pcartwright; 02-06-2017 at 09:26 AM.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 09:29 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Send the script to support at cockos dot com, if we can duplicate a crash it will be easier to fix.

Another option is to create a crash dump image -- when the crash occurs, before you close REAPER, go to the task manager, find reaper.exe, right click and choose "Create Dump File"... then zip and post that file somewhere for us to download (and note the version of REAPER used). Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 10:16 AM   #10
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Send the script to support at cockos dot com, if we can duplicate a crash it will be easier to fix.

Another option is to create a crash dump image -- when the crash occurs, before you close REAPER, go to the task manager, find reaper.exe, right click and choose "Create Dump File"... then zip and post that file somewhere for us to download (and note the version of REAPER used). Thanks!
Thanks Justin! I didn't see your message until I tried a few other troubleshooting steps. After reading this thread (http://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1657010) I tried updating my drivers. I had several that had recommended updates. I've tested my script and since the drivers were updated without issue (even trying to force it to crash).

That being said, I can restore my machine and send you the relevant information if you think it would be helpful. Otherwise, I will do as you suggest if I run into the issue again.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 03:11 PM   #11
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

Well... I got another crash. I'll post the dump file shortly.

EDIT: Sent via wetransfer.com

Last edited by pcartwright; 02-06-2017 at 03:17 PM.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 03:54 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,156
Default

Does this happen consistently with a particular script? If we can reproduce a bug that's always the best way to see what's going on.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 04:10 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Thanks, we got the dump. The crash is due to heap corruption -- can you send us the script?

Also, I noticed that reaper_sws64 (the 2.8.7 beta version) is in the call stack. Do you get this if it is not installed?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 05:43 PM   #14
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Thanks, we got the dump. The crash is due to heap corruption -- can you send us the script?
Done.

Quote:
Also, I noticed that reaper_sws64 (the 2.8.7 beta version) is in the call stack. Do you get this if it is not installed?
Yes.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 07:21 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Will be fixed in 5.34!

For now try to avoid creating >8 levels of recursive tables...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 07:27 PM   #16
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Will be fixed in 5.34!

For now try to avoid creating >8 levels of recursive tables...
hehe... got it.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.