Old 02-18-2017, 05:10 AM   #1
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 300
Default project start measure: set 1.1.00 to edit cursor

I always leave a few bars empty or let them have some sounds for an intro that I don't want to be counted as proper measures. But unlike the project start time I have to guess (or count - boring!) which would be the proper number for the project start measure.

So I ask for a new button in the project settings next to the field "project start measure" labelled "set 1.1.00 to edit cursor".

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 09:59 AM   #2
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 16
Default

I would really like this too! (or some way to do it via scripting would be just fine)
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:09 AM   #3
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 4,799
Default

In my project settings, I set the project start measure to -1 to get 2 measures before 1.1.00
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:59 AM   #4
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Yeah, but I'd like to be able to set it quickly, on the fly. And I don't want to have to do the math to figure it all out
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 11:05 AM   #5
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 4,239
Default

I just had a look at the script API... we can GET the project start offset but it doesn't look like we can set it. At least, not directly.
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 11:32 AM   #6
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
I just had a look at the script API... we can GET the project start offset but it doesn't look like we can set it. At least, not directly.
Can you show me where you found that? I'm reading through the API documentation for the first time right now... I'm not familiar with it though.

Maybe an intermediate step is to show a popup dialog displaying what the project start measure should be, if I want to make the edit cursor 1.1.1. I still have to set it manually, but at least the script will do the calculation and I just have to type in the result.
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:21 AM   #7
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 193
Default

Huge +1. Would love to see this as well. Right now, it's one of the biggest hang-ups scoring for film.

Normal setup for a film cue is set the project start time to the hour, import video reel (which usually starts on the hour), then adjust measure one start in the preferences, which gets very tedious, especially since there is no current way to work in timecode and bars/beats at the same time (a pretty giant flaw in Reaper). So, just to do that, one has to switch from bars/beats to timecode, otherwise the measure 1 start in the preferences will be in elapsed time instead of the actual timecode position.

As OP stated, being able to set the edit cursor and make it measure 1 would go a long way towards solving a process that should be easy but at the moment is awkward and much more time consuming than it should be.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:04 PM   #8
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Well I figured out enough scripting to display what the offset should be... it seems to work fine when there's already a start time or start measure offset. I haven't tried it with tempo changes.

Code:
position = reaper.GetCursorPosition()
project, filename = reaper.EnumProjects(-1, '')
beat, bars = reaper.TimeMap2_timeToBeats(project, position)
reaper.ShowMessageBox(1 - bars, "Set project start measure to...", 0)
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 12:28 PM   #9
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 4,239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paat View Post
Can you show me where you found that? I'm reading through the API documentation for the first time right now... I'm not familiar with it though.
Code:
 reaper.GetProjectTimeOffset( proj, rndframe )

Gets project time offset in seconds (project settings - project start time). 
If rndframe is true, the offset is rounded to a multiple of the project frame 
size.
If you aren't already, I highly recommend using X-Raym's version of the API documentation - it has a search box, among other things: https://www.extremraym.com/cloud/reascript-doc/
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 10:42 PM   #10
mucknog
Human being with feelings
 
mucknog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 75
Default

This would be great. I was just wondering why you can set time but not measure.
mucknog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 02:39 AM   #11
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 466
Default

+1 for this, in API or native.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 04:31 PM   #12
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 202
Default

this would be awesome !
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 01:12 PM   #13
zappazapper
Human being with feelings
 
zappazapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 78
Default

is there any movement on this?
zappazapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.