Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2017, 05:45 PM   #1
PatJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Default Humanize function is affecting non-selected notes in a MIDI item

Title says it all- I'll select a small subset of notes to be humanized, and as soon as the humanize window comes up, I can see all sorts of unselected notes in the MIDI item reacting to the humanize parameters along with the ones I've selected. It's happened across multiple projects where it hasn't ever been a problem before, so I suspect it's a bug rather than me being stupid.

Interestingly, it seems to only be certain keys in the piano roll that are affected- I'm using your standard Superior Drummer layout, and only 3 or 4 drums are actually being modified outside my selected notes.

edit: and it's only happening in certain MIDI items, oddly.

gif: http://imgur.com/a/KF7FD

Last edited by PatJ; 06-26-2017 at 06:14 PM.
PatJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 06:24 AM   #2
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatJ View Post
Could you perhaps post an RPP, so that we can try to replicate the bug?

Last edited by juliansader; 06-28-2017 at 08:59 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 03:18 PM   #3
PatJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Could you perhaps post an RPP, so that we can try to replicate the bug?
4 mb was too big for the forum, so here's a Dropbox link- hope the permissions are ok with this: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7cggepcfrg...k%202.RPP?dl=1

As I said, it's only occurring in some MIDI items, so you may not be able to replicate it. That said, the issue happens for me around the 4:30 mark and will affect all MIDI notes to the end of the song at around 8:00.
PatJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 06:27 AM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,801
Default

The drum MIDI contains lots and lots of overlapping notes, and somehow this seems to cause shifting of the notes' positions. (The overlaps were concealed by the diamond note shapes.) After I ran the Action "Correct overlapping notes", the shifting was fixed.

Overlapping notes are not actually admissible MIDI data, according to MIDI standards, and REAPER does not always handle them gracefully. Even though the MIDI editor usually displays them correctly, several of REAPER's other functions will fail if they encounter overlapping notes.

Last edited by juliansader; 06-28-2017 at 08:59 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 09:43 AM   #5
PatJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
The drum MIDI contains lots and lots of overlapping notes, and somehow this seems to cause shifting of the notes' positions. (The overlaps were concealed by the diamond note shapes.) After I ran the Action "Correct overlapping notes", the shifting was fixed.

Overlapping notes are not actually admissible MIDI data, according to MIDI standards, and REAPER does not always handle them gracefully. Even though the MIDI editor usually displays them correctly, several of REAPER's other functions will fail if they encounter overlapping notes.
Thanks so much for the reply! Much appreciated.
PatJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 10:37 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,051
Default

As a general rule of thumb, when you are creating or editing drum parts, you are far better off to use the option that displays drum hits as diamonds or triangles on the tcp timeline, which does away with the possibility of overlapping causing problems. Also makes it much easier to see what you are doing when editing really dense drum parts.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 01:56 PM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,801
Default

Even though the MIDI itself wasn't quite "legal", I have added this thread to the (ever-growing and never-to-be-fixed) Bestiary of MIDI bugs, for three reasons:

* If a program cannot handle a certain type of input, it should always warn the user before blundering ahead. This is a basic principle of good programming.

* If the MIDI editor itself can cope with overlapping notes and remember their correct positions and lengths, why can't other MIDI functions? Don't they have access to the MIDI editor's internal memory of notes?

* Most users would expect that whatever is displayed onscreen, accurately reflects internal processing. It is disconcerting when a program displays data in one way but secretly processes it in another.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.