Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2017, 08:49 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default BUG:Shift+ shortcuts don't work when keyboard input is sent to VKB (FIXED)

When I use VKB(Virtual midi keyboard), Reaper doesn't allow to use Shift+ shortcuts for my actions, it just plays VKB notes. The action "Virtual MIDI Keyboard: Send all input to VKB" is activated (in on-state) of course.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names

Last edited by vitalker; 11-20-2017 at 05:46 AM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:20 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

Not just that, but ALL QWERTY keys are blocked, IIRC. Even if the key is not used by VKB at all... Really bad design.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 12:58 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Not just that, but ALL QWERTY keys are blocked, IIRC. Even if the key is not used by VKB at all... Really bad design.
Thanks for the confirmation. Well, when you use such keys as Q,W or others that used for input, they will play the sound as usually(like without pressed Shift).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 01:44 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

Yeah, but I'm talking about keys that are NOT used by VKB, like 1, 4, 8, A, F, K, which don't "fall" on white or black keys, they are still unavailable to do any actions, regardless if you hold Shift or not.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 02:23 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Maybe, I'm not really sure.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 01:01 PM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Anyone else can confirm?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 06:15 AM   #7
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default

Yes, i can confirm ED's last post.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 12:59 AM   #8
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Yeah, but I'm talking about keys that are NOT used by VKB, like 1, 4, 8, A, F, K, which don't "fall" on white or black keys, they are still unavailable to do any actions, regardless if you hold Shift or not.
Well, I've tried "K" key and it worked for me. Maybe my vkbmap is different.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 01:43 AM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

So it doesn't work with Shift+ actions only.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 12:33 PM   #10
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Still see this in 5.51.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 12:59 PM   #11
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default

Or you on Windows or on mac ?

- I am on mac.
- When VMK is opened and it has focus, the keyboard keys that you see layed out on the pianokeys of VMK serve as note triggers, they don't trigger any actions anymore that you assigned to them in Action List, even not if they are combined with a modifier key like SHIFT key.

So let's say you have SHIFT Q assigned to an Action in Action List.
That Action won't be triggered when VMK has focus.
Instead, a C note is triggered by VMK.
You have to click in Arrange view, to give it focus, so the shortcut will work again.

You have CTRL Q assigned to an Action in Action List.
That Action won't be triggered when VMK has focus.
Instead, still, a C note is triggered by VMK.
You have to click in Arrange view, to give it focus, so the shortcut will work again.

This is longstanding behaviour, it hasnt changed.
And i agree with you: its irratic behaviour ; the assigned shortcuts (as given by the 2 examples above) should still work, even when VMK has focus.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 01:10 PM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Or you on Windows or on mac ?
This is longstanding behaviour, it hasnt changed.
And i agree with you: its irratic behaviour ; the assigned shortcuts (as given by the 2 examples above) should still work, even when VMK has focus.
I'm on Windows. It's really strange what you're writing about. I don't have this behaviour. Any Ctrl+ shorcut works perfectly(btw, vkb is always opened and docked). I have "Send all keyboard input to VKB" ticked on. All the Shift+ shortcuts work if only that key isn't used by VKB, for example F,A,1,4, but others will not.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 01:19 PM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
I'm on Windows. It's really strange what you're writing about. I don't have this behaviour. Any Ctrl+ shorcut works perfectly(btw, vkb is always opened and docked). I have "Send all keyboard input to VKB" ticked on. All the Shift+ shortcuts work if only that key isn't used by VKB, for example F,A,1,4, but others will not.
Maybe the described issue in my previous post is only on mac.

I find it weird that you have "Send all keyboard input to VKB" ticked on and still can use SHIFT shortcuts with keys not "dedicated" to VMK.
Cause, for me "Send all keyboard input to VKB" would apply that VMK "steals" all keys from your computerkeyboard, including all SHIFT shortcuts.
Maybe i am just an egghead and don't understand a thing really about how VMK exactly works 😂😂
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 02:50 PM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Cause, for me "Send all keyboard input to VKB" would apply that VMK "steals" all keys from your computerkeyboard, including all SHIFT shortcuts.
Maybe it's macos issue only. Yeah, it was previously as you write, but now the behaviour is improved, so you can use shortcuts vs. the previous one, when you could get notes only without any shortcut.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 04:32 AM   #15
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Bump for 5.65!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 01:14 PM   #16
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

The bug is appearing in 5.62.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 10:22 AM   #17
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

5.70 - no changes.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2017, 10:52 AM   #18
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

There is still no success.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 12:52 AM   #19
Allspice
Human being with feelings
 
Allspice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 148
Default

Does not work on 5.70 Mac OSX either. Should it? The manual is not terribly specific on which keys are/are not be usable when using this. Things like using SHIFT shortcuts to create new virtual midi tracks were where I noticed it the most.

Last edited by Allspice; 12-27-2017 at 12:56 PM.
Allspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 01:22 AM   #20
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allspice View Post
Does not work on 5.70 Mac OSX either. Should it?
Why it should not? Ctrl+(I'm on Windows) shortcuts work as expected and Alt+ too.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 07:14 AM   #21
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 33
Default

Hey Guys!
Is it possible to write your own scripted VKB?

-Which is always on the background at start.
- Invisible (does not take up unnecessary space)
- Does not block shift+ keys.
- With custom octave switch keys

I saw that some people can do it. And it`s not so difficult. I hope.

Here examples

How to play midi notes via script by @Lokasenna

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=178334

Here @mpl Isomorphic keyboard (But only for touch or mouse)

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=185976
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 01:02 PM   #22
Allspice
Human being with feelings
 
Allspice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Why it should not? Ctrl+(I'm on Windows) shortcuts work as expected and Alt+ too.
Good point. Seems like an oversight. I can confirm on Mac that SHIFT shortcuts don't work even though CMD and ALT shortcuts do.

Mac OS 10.12.6
Reaper 5.70

- CMD + S to save works
- ALT + E for a custom action works.
- SHIFT + I to make a new track does not work.
Allspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 12:57 AM   #23
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Version 6 is coming and this feature is still broken
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 05:58 AM   #24
Allspice
Human being with feelings
 
Allspice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 148
Default

Hey there’s always version 7! Or maybe 8!
Allspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 08:04 AM   #25
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

VKB needs some love
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 08:27 AM   #26
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

maybe this can help you: https://www.muziker.pt/m-audio-keyst...xoCasgQAvD_BwE
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:04 AM   #27
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
maybe this can help you
Maybe you can give me some money?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:35 AM   #28
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

nope! : ) but i am sure you can get a good deal on local second hand! this things (not exactly this) can get quite cheap / offer less.
and maybe you can start playing piano? : )
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:37 AM   #29
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
nope! : ) but i am sure you can get a good deal on local second hand! this things (not exactly this) can get quite cheap / offer less.
and maybe you can start playing piano? : )
I didn't ask you. I just want see this bug fixed. If you don't use VKB, ignore this thread. That's it. Have a nice day.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 10:42 AM   #30
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
I didn't ask you. I just want see this bug fixed. If you don't use VKB, ignore this thread. That's it. Have a nice day.
yes you didn't! but this is not a bug. And i use VBk when i don't have alternative. I thought you could benefit with the same and maybe learn to play by consequence, sorry if offended you.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 11:09 AM   #31
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

Actually yes, it is a bug. Unused VKB keys and modifier combinations should be pass-through to any bound actions. It doesn't happen for Shift+key modifiers. That's the bug.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 11:18 AM   #32
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
yes you didn't! but this is not a bug. And i use VBk when i don't have alternative. I thought you could benefit with the same and maybe learn to play by consequence, sorry if offended you.
So why Ctrl+ and Alt+ shortcuts work, unlike Shift+ ? Yes, I could, but don't have excess money and space for MIDI keyboard. Sorry for misunderstanding.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 07:32 PM   #33
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

Np! I don't know why but i'd guess it's some kind of limitation reaper has to deal by whatever reason, and which would take some effort to solve. Otherwise i'd guess it would be already solved.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 11:17 PM   #34
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

It is not a limitation. It's a bug, plain and simple. Solving it doesn't require rewriting half of Reaper really, just needs to pass-through Shift+key shortcuts. It doesn't seem like it takes considerable effort to do.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 04:56 AM   #35
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

In Cubase not even 1 shotcut works while on vbk. I dont think its simple at all. / Blind guess
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 05:42 AM   #36
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
In Cubase not even 1 shotcut works while on vbk. I dont think its simple at all. / Blind guess
Confirmed 9.5 pro dont allow any and it sucks. Cubase is like a well looking house from the superficial side of things but with left over debris hidden all over the place because they need to sell stuff in updates showcases. New feature this and that but basic things untouched for years
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 09:12 AM   #37
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
In Cubase not even 1 shotcut works while on vbk. I dont think its simple at all. / Blind guess
That is absolutely a blind guess. There could be a reason why Cubase doesn't allow that (apart from incompetence of Steinberg's programmers, I guess). That doesn't make it complicated or not possible.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 09:14 AM   #38
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
That is absolutely a blind guess.
i'd assume yours too. But i presume others are not stupid or incompetent.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 09:22 AM   #39
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,024
Default

Well mine is not a guess but conjencture - there's a difference. Most shortcuts are already passed through: unused VKB keys still trigger their assigned actions, Ctrl+key shortcuts also trigger their actions, Ctrl+Alt+key shortcuts do the same, and Alt+key also do the same. So if all these modifiers are working despite the fact that VKB is active, and only Shift+key assignments are not working, it is a bug, plain and simple. Others are already passed through so this just means Shift+key ones also need to be rerouted to pass-through. Probably a single line change in code somewhere (THAT is a blind guess, but probably not far from truth either).

So, Reaper can already do the necessary pass-through and it does work for all key combinations except those using Shift. You don't have to be a rocket scientist to deduce that this is a bug then. I'm not sure why are you so persistent on not accepting this as something that is trivial to fix - when other combinations already work. Kinda weird.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 09:30 AM   #40
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,818
Default

i know nothing. i'd like it was a bug and fixed if so but something tells me it's not.

ps. to be honest many conjencture opinions you say are not correct in my opinion.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.