Old 08-29-2017, 07:12 PM   #1
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,328
Default Can't scroll in Save As... column (FIXED)

I notice when I go to Save a project for the first time, or do Save As..., the first column is not really scrollable.

I for some reason cannot reliably scroll this column (see linked screenshot and arrow) in REAPER. Everything else on my entire computer scrolls OK except this column when I go to Save As... or Save for the first time a new REAPER project.

The times that is does scroll it way slow and I to try really hard for just a little bit of scrolling.

I'm using an Apple Magic Mouse 2.

Screen Shot:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/w9v21qps84...%20PM.png?dl=0
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/

Last edited by MRMJP; 09-01-2017 at 10:04 AM.
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 07:15 PM   #2
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,328
Default

The same is true on the pop-up box when I try to insert audio files to a session. The first column scrolling is really bad/choppy/impossible.

Meanwhile, other scrolling including the nearby sidebar scrolls with ease.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 07:05 AM   #3
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 537
Default

Ok, I can confirm this but it's tricky!



Also using a magic mouse...

Some notes:
  • It only happens in the first column while in columns mode.
  • Using an emulated smooth scroll does have the same issue.
  • After you successfully scroll once, the dialog works properly even if you restart Reaper!
  • Scrolling with a wheeled mouse fixes it for the smooth scrolling mouse.
  • Having the window selected or not does not change it.

It's rather difficult to reproduce this and I've only seen this happen in Reaper.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 10:03 AM   #4
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 616
Default

You have to select an item first and then you can scroll. At least that's the way it works for me under W7, x64.
"Save as" works the same: select an item and then you can scroll. I believe this is a standard Windows working way.
Paul99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 10:17 AM   #5
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul99 View Post
You have to select an item first and then you can scroll. At least that's the way it works for me under W7, x64.
"Save as" works the same: select an item and then you can scroll. I believe this is a standard Windows working way.
I just checked and even with an item first selected, the scrolling is not working well, or at all at times in that first column. Something is up. Other columns scroll fine.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 04:27 PM   #6
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul99 View Post
You have to select an item first and then you can scroll. At least that's the way it works for me under W7, x64.
"Save as" works the same: select an item and then you can scroll. I believe this is a standard Windows working way.
When the issue happens in macOS, selecting an item first doesn't help. In macOS you never have to select to scroll, anything on the screen can be scrolled if it's under the mouse cursor.

It also only happens in the first column.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 04:43 PM   #7
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
When the issue happens in macOS, selecting an item first doesn't help. In macOS you never have to select to scroll, anything on the screen can be scrolled if it's under the mouse cursor.

It also only happens in the first column.
Right. To be sure, I tried selecting an item but we can safely say it's a software issue and not a user issue.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 11:03 PM   #8
drummerboy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 40
Default

Same here - any kind of file-browsing window inside reaper gives me the exact opposite of a smooth scrolling experience.

Magic Mouse scrolling seems to be very consistent throughout OSX apps otherwise, so I'm guessing that reaper is interpreting some of it's own rules via mouse preferences. Maybe an option to just use system-wide mouse behaviour would fix it?
Even if scrolling kinda-works, it's never as smooth as in other programs for me.
drummerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 01:50 AM   #9
Robert Johnson III
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Johnson III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: The Dutch Mountains
Posts: 304
Default

Confirmed....
__________________
iMac 5K late 2015 - OSX 10.11.6 (15G1421) - Apollo Twin

https://soundcloud.com/mytopia
Robert Johnson III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 05:45 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,518
Default

(hopefully) fixing for the next build
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 06:50 AM   #11
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
(hopefully) fixing for the next build
Thanks!

I'm just glad it's confirmed and on the radar now. In my workflow, it's only an issue at busier times when that first column of my working SSD is full of projects.

The busier I get, the more I notice it because you can't scroll it as expected.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.