Old 09-23-2017, 10:08 PM   #1
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default ReaperKeyboardShortcuts.html weird ordering?

Hey all,
Clicking Help->Key Bindings and mouse modifiers brings up the ReaperKeyboardShortcuts.html file. Does the ordering of this list seem weird to anyone else? It almost looks like it is printed in the order that I set the commands.

If I open up the Actions dialog window, then click "Shortcuts", the commands are listed in a quasi-alphanumeric ordering. Can I get the keyboardshortcuts.html file to do this the same way?
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:08 AM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,068
Default

Not like that for me, but why do you even need it so? There are so many actions, surely you will be just word-searching the list and not going through them alphabetically?

Not that there aren't plenty of lists in Reaper that should ought be alphabetized...no disagreement there.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 04:21 PM   #3
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,713
Default

I think he wants the shortcuts in ReaperKeyboardShortcuts.html in order.

A
Shift+A
Control+A
etc.

B
Shift+B
etc.

etc...

+1 to that. Here, it looks like the actions are ordered alphabetically by their names, including things like "Custom:" in the name. Except cycle actions are last. There are a couple that don't seem to comply quite right. That is only in the Main section.

The Media Explorer and MIDI editor ordering make no sense to me at all. It might indeed have something to do with the order they were first assigned to something.

It seems like the shortcut ordering in the action list has improved since last time I tried it. Thanks!
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 05:24 PM   #4
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default

FNA: Exactly!

And the reason I would need it in a sane ordering is so I can print that biz out, stare at it, and get way faster at Reaper than I currently am!

Last edited by rayultine; 09-24-2017 at 05:25 PM. Reason: props to fna!
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 06:18 PM   #5
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Something like this?, sorted by command, see attachments

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-24-2017 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Remove useless files
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 06:22 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,286
Default

I would really like to SEE a keyboard so I can quickly see which keys or combos are available.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 06:28 PM   #7
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Something like this?, sorted by command, see attachments
Exactly. Were you able to select text in the action window and paste to a text file?
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 07:15 PM   #8
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayultine View Post
Exactly. Were you able to select text in the action window and paste to a text file?
Na, I did it the hard way, copied the text from web browser, saved the command- description section data to a file (the format is Command TAB-KEY Description) , then use some basic vb.net code in VS, not very elegant.

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-24-2017 at 08:49 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 07:29 PM   #9
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Yikes! Thanks for sharing that.

It would be fun if there was a way to print out unused keys/combos too eh?
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:33 PM   #10
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayultine View Post
Yikes! Thanks for sharing that.

It would be fun if there was a way to print out unused keys/combos too eh?
Ya, that be cool! Would need a list of all possible key combos for each section of Reaper I think for starters.

The hard way! :/


EDIT: Added 'Sort Reaper Cmnd.zip' (includes both VB10 source and Exe), This uses an API (StrCmpLogicalW) to do a logical sort, so text with numbers will be sorted like how Windows Explorer sorts names.

EDIT Latest version in post #19.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sort Reaper Cmnd_VB10_Source.zip (11.3 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by Edgemeal; 11-07-2017 at 12:16 PM. Reason: REMOVE OLD UPLOADS
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 08:57 PM   #11
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Brilliant! Thanks for your time.

Would something like this be a useful feature request?

Last edited by rayultine; 09-24-2017 at 08:57 PM. Reason: added
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 09:17 PM   #12
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayultine View Post
Brilliant! Thanks for your time.

Would something like this be a useful feature request?
It doesn't cost anything to ask, and to me this would be more useful then some of the other requests I've seen posted!
Good luck!


BTW, The code uses the default Sort class, it sorts numbers weird (non-logical?), like F11 will come before F2, I can fix that using Windows API, just too lazy right now.

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-24-2017 at 09:22 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 09:42 PM   #13
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,713
Default

I think they should use the Action List sort logic, but make an entry for each assignment rather than stacking shortcuts on actions that have more than one.

Here, MIDI mouse modifiers are not correct either. Omissions and some actions from the Main section showing instead...
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 07:22 AM   #14
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Added 'Sort Reaper Cmnd.zip' (VB10 Source and Exe) to post #10, This uses an API ("StrCmpLogicalW") to do a logical sort, so text with numbers will be sorted like how Windows Explorer sorts names.
Cheers!

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-25-2017 at 07:34 AM. Reason: Add link to MSDN
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 07:53 AM   #15
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Edgemeal,
Sorry, but is the archive w source and executable that you just posted updated or different from your original attachment?
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:13 AM   #16
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayultine View Post
Edgemeal,
Sorry, but is the archive w source and executable that you just posted updated or different from your original attachment?
Yes, why else would I have posted it?
The newer post uses an API to sort, Digits in the strings are considered as numerical content rather than text, where as the original used .Net Sort and doesn't sort text with numbers in them the same way.

.Net Sort
F1
F10
F2
F3

StrCmpLogicalW API Sort
F1
F2
F3
F10

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-25-2017 at 10:11 AM. Reason: change sort example to resemble 'F' keys
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:46 AM   #17
rayultine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Default


Thanks again
rayultine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 09:20 AM   #18
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayultine View Post

Thanks again
Version 2 (Parse the whole list!)
Drag and drop from Chrome address bar or from the html file in Explorer (Reaper saves the html to your temp folder).



v2.2 -"Default action" is now at the top of each section, & other minor change.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sort Reaper Cmnd v2.2 - Release.zip (8.9 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by Edgemeal; 11-07-2017 at 12:15 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 11:04 PM   #19
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 298
Default

OK last one!

Version 2.3.

If the "ReaperKeyboardShortcuts.html" file is found on start the file will be loaded for you, otherwise you can drag the file from chrome address bar or your temp folder and drop it onto the dropdown list at the very top of the app.

Section header text is now colored and displayed in the dropdown list so you can jump to a section.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sort Reaper Cmnd v2.3 - Release.zip (28.4 KB, 25 views)
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.