Old 09-25-2017, 06:28 AM   #1
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default Midi Actions I'd Like To See

I've recently started digging into using Reaper for midi after using it for quite a while for strictly audio.

Here are some actions I'd like to see added in the Midi Editor context:

Navigation
x - Go to next marker
X - Go to previous marker
X - Go forward 1 bar
X - Go back 1 bar
X - Add project marker at current edit location

Other
X - Enable/Disable metronome
7 - Bounce metronome into midi click track with assignable channel & notes
(default: Channel 10, A=kick B=snare)

In the TCP:
X - Open MIDI item as .MID file in external editor
(similar to the way audio can be done)

9 - [this, strictly speaking, isn't a single action]: Have Midi takes work as Audio takes do:
Say you have 5 takes of Midi in separate lanes on one track. If you split them up into smaller items, it should be possible to assemble a Comp from the various pieces. Right now I have to mute all the other takes at the item level, and leave just one take unmuted, for each item time slice. It would be a real time saver to allow just selecting one active take in each time slice which would leave the other takes muted. It would also provide a common paradigm for Comps (because it would work the same as audio comps do).

X - Scenario: Drumkit midi (all on Channel 10) is on one track. I routed the midi from there to separate midi tracks for kick, snare, etc., using the midi note filter to separate each piece. Ended up editing the Note Filter script, adding 3 new sliders, to allow filtering out instruments with interleaved note number (high hat closed, floor tom, hat hat loose, etc., up to high tom). Now I'd like to remix the drum levels. Mapping the faders to Midi doesn't work; pulling down one fader affects all the other Chan. 10 instruments.

>>> Is there a way to map the track faders to a velocity scaler instead of Midi volume? <<<
(A quiet drum is one that was hit softly, rather than a drum hit hit that was turned down)

Or do I need to split the kit up into 8 or so unique midi channels so each can have a separate independent volume control. (The actual instrument is a hardware synth, so I'd like to avoid having to go menu-diving into that to tweak individual drum levels.)



There will probably be others that occur to me as I continue working. I'll edit those into this post as they come up.

Thanks to Justin & all the other devs for an amazing DAW!!
Thanks to ED and the others for the help so far! Y'all are awesome!

Last edited by Philbo King; 10-01-2017 at 06:24 PM.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 07:27 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,740
Default

You can have actions 1-5 accessible in the MIDI editor by using the "Pass-through" action in the MIDI editor action list...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 08:05 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Buckett, Kentucky
Posts: 1,080
Default

or by assigning main screen actions to MIDI notes or OSC rather than keyboard commands
__________________
we would benefit from the ability to "select most recently recorded midi" ... would reference midi recorded in last rec/overdub cycle. use case: easily selectively quantize most recently recorded notes
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:11 AM   #4
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You can have actions 1-5 accessible in the MIDI editor by using the "Pass-through" action in the MIDI editor action list...
Thanks for replying.

I tried this, unsuccessfully. If you've gotten it to work, how is it done?

Ultimately I'd like to assign them each to a custom Midi toolbar button.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:53 AM   #5
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
or by assigning main screen actions to MIDI notes or OSC rather than keyboard commands
So can I make the last few far-right keys on my old midi keyboard do things like start and stop recording? Any link on How To would be appreciated.
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:08 AM   #6
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
So can I make the last few far-right keys on my old midi keyboard do things like start and stop recording? Any link on How To would be appreciated.
Basically similar way as you assign keyboard shortcuts,



Choose action, click Add..., wiggle controller / press MDI keyboard key.

(In Preferences -> MIDI devices, controller must be set to "Enable input for control messages".)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:16 AM   #7
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Basically similar way as you assign keyboard shortcuts,
It Works!
Thanks you so much!
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:45 AM   #8
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
Thanks for replying.

I tried this, unsuccessfully. If you've gotten it to work, how is it done?

Ultimately I'd like to assign them each to a custom Midi toolbar button.

set keyboard buttons that are shortcuts in main window to "Misc: Pass through key to main window" and they will work. Cant find way to make it work with toolbar buttons,
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:48 AM   #9
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 192
Default

For open midi in external editor you must look for these settings
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:19 AM   #10
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
It Works!
Thanks you so much!
You're welcome.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:46 AM   #11
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post

set keyboard buttons that are shortcuts in main window to "Misc: Pass through key to main window" and they will work. Cant find way to make it work with toolbar buttons,
Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
For open midi in external editor you must look for these settings
Cool! Thanks so much. And I learned something, in spite of my usual best efforts to remain stupid...
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:59 AM   #12
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
You're welcome.
You probably seen this question coming ...
I press piano key to stop record, but Reaper still records it and can be heard on playback, is there a way to not record that note, or do I have to manually remove/edit it?


Apologizes to Philbo King, I don't mean to jack your thread!
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:07 PM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,740
Default

Ideally you'd use a MIDI controller for control only, not as a regular instrument MIDI input. Then it wouldn't get recorded on a track.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:23 PM   #14
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 328
Default

Thanks, thats what I figured.
FWIW, I use old Casio keyboard, it can only send bender and notes with velocity at 64, I also have a Roland Pro-E, but most of the buttons are smashed and not working anymore about to throw that away.

EDIT, Scratch that! This Old Casio is sending all these pad buttons to Reaper too! Yippie!

Thanks Guys!
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 07:02 PM   #15
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
You probably seen this question coming ...
I press piano key to stop record, but Reaper still records it and can be heard on playback, is there a way to not record that note, or do I have to manually remove/edit it?


Apologizes to Philbo King, I don't mean to jack your thread!
No problem! I learn stuff from every post.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 07:57 PM   #16
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
No problem! I learn stuff from every post.
Gotta say, this is the most friendly forum I've ever joined!
Cheers!
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 07:19 AM   #17
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,173
Default

It took you almost 200 posts to figure that out???!!!

You Americans.....





P.S.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 06:31 PM   #18
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default

So, in case anybody's watching this thread, my unresolved FRs are:

-[Done - Using the MIDI Velocity Control plugin on each track, with Velocity Multiplier as a track control] Allow using channel faders to act as a midi velocity scalers, to make it possible to mix a number of midi drums in separate tracks, but on a single midi channel. (Needed for hardware synths; VSTi drums return multichannel audio already, but outboard synths typically have only 2 audio outputs and return a stereo mix that is strictly midi controlled).

- Have midi takes work like audio takes
-- Have all active midi takes appear on the piano roll.
-- Switching to a different take in the TCP would update the piano roll view to show the notes from that active take.
-- Inactive midi takes in the TCP would be auto-muted.

Anybody out there who could/would script this?

Thanks!

Last edited by Philbo King; 09-30-2017 at 04:44 PM.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 11:53 PM   #19
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post

set keyboard buttons that are shortcuts in main window to "Misc: Pass through key to main window" and they will work. Cant find way to make it work with toolbar buttons,
this is great! didn't know about that function.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 09:05 AM   #20
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
set keyboard buttons that are shortcuts in main window to "Misc: Pass through key to main window" and they will work. Cant find way to make it work with toolbar buttons,
To assign Main window action to MIDI editor toolbar buttons, you can use a short script like in this thread: Metronome in Midi piano roll toolbar.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 06:23 PM   #21
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 196
Default

Thanks Julian
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.