Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2017, 09:00 AM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 349
Default Separate envelope lane that always shows the last touched parameter

hey guys,
I'd love to have an envelope lane that always shows the last touched FX parameter. I know there is a "show last touched fx parameter" option, but this always creates a new envelope. I'd like to have a special envelope that always shows the last touched parameter without any need of further clicks. There also should be an action "toggle show last touched parameter envelope" to make it (in-)visible.
This lane always should be the first envelope lane directly under each track.

Advantages: saving many mouse clicks can really speed up everybody's work using envelopes lanes.

Bitwig Studio and I think Ableton Live have this behaviour and it's fantastic! It really should show any parameter (even volume and pan, not only fx parameters).
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 11:44 PM   #2
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 349
Default

can't imagine that nobody's interested in that??
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 12:46 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,228
Default

I am. (Not completely same maybe, but similar direction I think)

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=87665

(The screencap is gone meanwhile unfortunately.)

Last edited by nofish; 09-28-2017 at 12:52 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 12:58 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
can't imagine that nobody's interested in that??
Yes, it's a very neat idea , me like !

Not exactly what you want but did you try this already ?:

Custom action:
Envelope: Hide all envelopes for tracks
FX: Show/hide track envelope for last touched FX parameter

The advantage of this is: only envelope for last touched envelope shows up, so no envelope lanes clutter for a Track.

I assume you can make it even a cycle action, so the second time you press a keyshort linked to the action, the envelope lane for last touched parameter hides again, showing you only the track media lane and no (active) envelopes at all.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:20 AM   #5
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 349
Default

thanks vanhaze, this workaround is nice but not the same. The big advantage of a separate "last touched parameter envelope lane" is that no shortcut is needed. It also doesn't work for panning and volume (these are no fx parameters) The lane updates every time you click on a new parameter. So that saves one shortcut everytime you click on a parameter you wanna automate.
But I'll do it that way until this feature is hopefully implemented. Thanks for that!
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:32 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Yeah, i hear ya ; the need of using a keyshortcut to trigger the action is quite cumbersome.

I don't think your wish is scriptable.
I assume Cockos is the only one that can make your wish happen, implementing the feature into Reaper.

Fingers crossed cause i think alot of folks would appreciate your wishful feature.
including moi. 🙏🏼👊🏼
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:37 AM   #7
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,315
Default

mmm good idea... and scriptable.. I think
I think REAPER doesn't detect last touched parameter, but last changed parameter.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:41 AM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

That would be amazing heda !

So a script could actually "monitor" if you click on a plugin parameter button/fader, so that the script then will execute ?!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 03:05 AM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,315
Default

Yes, Similar to Track Inspector when you right click in the + param button which monitors all the parameters you change to add them to TCP control. But this would be run that custom action to hide all envelopes and show last touched.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 03:07 AM   #10
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Awesome !! 💪🏼🙏🏼
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 03:50 AM   #11
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 349
Default

sounds nice thanks man!
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:22 AM   #12
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,315
Default

I think it's working. I had to do some checks for new last touched parameters to avoid constant envelope hiding and showing.
Next it would be to do it for volume and pan too.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:38 AM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Wooohaaaa !!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 05:00 AM   #14
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,315
Default

heh seeing exciting comments makes development more fun, thanks

I have a problem with volume and pan if this setting is set to always: When adding volume/pan envelopes apply trim to envelope and reset trim. Because it resets fader to 0.0 each time the volume envelope is shown
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 05:06 AM   #15
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Hi heda,

For me personally, i don't care if it not works ok for volume and pan envelopes.
The fact that you made it happen for fx plugin parameters is just awesome enough !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 05:56 AM   #16
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 349
Default

great man! "Mute" would be nice as well :P
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 04:53 AM   #17
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Default

That's most wanted feature!I've installed your script,track inspector shows up but i cant find the LT env button..Is it in the VIP version ?
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.