Old 11-02-2017, 05:00 AM   #1
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,804
Default Script: MIDI Dynamics

HeDa MIDI Dynamics


Inspired by JS: General Dynamics, this is my first MIDI script... I think. Because I had to update HeDaScripts Manager to support installing the action in the MIDI editor section ID.

It's easy to use. It's like a Compressor/Expander for MIDI velocities. It modifies selected notes velocities from input(x axis) to output(y axis) values defined in the graph
  • Select notes and run the script from the MIDI Editor. Used velocities are highlighted in the graph with a different color.
  • Draw the new "curve" by mouse click and drag. Velocities are modified when releasing the mouse button. Keep drawing segments until you are satisfied. Original input values are remembered until you close the script or you click the "Get MIDI notes again" button
  • Done. Close the script window

Pre release available for VIP members. Install from HeDaScripts Manager as usual
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 09:12 AM   #2
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,950
Default

hei heda! very nice thing! one thing you could might implement is make a loop! so that the velocities would be repeated based on this loop length to the whole material.
Do you understand what i mean? probably not on topic, but would be useful

Last edited by deeb; 11-04-2017 at 09:18 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 10:19 AM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,707
Default

Heda... I want it... did the renew for VIP today but it still will not download and install from the manager....

do I have to wait some time for the new donation to become active or what?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 11:31 AM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
hei heda! very nice thing! one thing you could might implement is make a loop! so that the velocities would be repeated based on this loop length to the whole material.
Do you understand what i mean? probably not on topic, but would be useful
I don't understand.
It's not to make any new patterns. It's to compress/expand selected notes velocities. Maybe I should make a better gif that explains better what it does.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 11:34 AM   #5
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Heda... I want it... did the renew for VIP today but it still will not download and install from the manager....

do I have to wait some time for the new donation to become active or what?
No wait necessary. It should work. But maybe try to login https://reaper.hector-corcin.com/user
and edit and change your password again. Maybe it helps. Let me know if it still doesn't work.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 11:59 AM   #6
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
I don't understand.
It's not to make any new patterns. It's to compress/expand selected notes velocities. Maybe I should make a better gif that explains better what it does.
okok! no no it is ok! at a first sight i thought this could be applied.
Imagine a way to apply velocities on selected notes with some pattern.


example:
loop length 4
selected notes: 16
pattern: 127 - 1 - 10 - 2

the end result:

127 - 1 - 10 - 2 - 127 - 1 - 10 - 2 - 127 - 1 - 10 - 2 - 127 - 1 - 10 - 2
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 03:15 PM   #7
Westwave
Human being with feelings
 
Westwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 19
Default problems

Hi Heda

just got this midi dynamics lua VIP on my new VIP account

I'm on Win 10, reaper 64 bit... with newest SWS

this is not working here... it will not show the selected notes, will not 'get new selected notes'...

it only shows one note selected even when there clearly many notes selected

what to try???
Westwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:45 PM   #8
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,707
Default

EDIT... my bad... user misunderstanding.... I now see it shows in the graph by various existing velocities...

I thought it was by notes... silly me
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 11-13-2017 at 04:51 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:52 PM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,804
Default

strange.. I haven't changed anything.
I'm going to have a look. thanks...
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 05:10 PM   #10
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
it shows in the graph by various existing velocities...
correct.
the highlighted bars are from existing velocities of selected notes (in the x axis) It is not really needed but I thought it was a nice thing to have to see where do you have to draw for changing velocities.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:23 PM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,707
Default

it is a good feature Heda...

when I first tried this lua I just happened to select notes with many velo's... so I got the impression the blue lines in the gui were for notes... my bad

now I understand each blue line is for one velocity...

what I like about this is how easily and smoothly it draws on the graph...

It might be nice to have another version that DOES work with any selected notes and lets you alter the existing velocities for them.... I know the MIDI Editor CC lane does that, but it seems your way of drawing is smoother and easier for me....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.