Old 11-08-2017, 06:50 PM   #1
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default iZotope plugins causing slow quit

In the last week or so I noticed that when quitting REAPER, it takes A LONG time to fully quit, sometimes more than 10 seconds when it used to quit very quickly.

I did some testing and noticed that it's iZotope plugins causing this lag. I only use item FX but I did a quick test and it seems to be affected by track FX the same.

VST and AU versions seem to be the same.

I know that iLok recently updated the iLok License Manager app. I wonder if that has anything to do with this. Maybe iZotope plugins are slow to communicate with the iLok License Manager app and that's why REAPER takes longer to fully quit?

I will of course report this to iZotope but maybe the REAPER developers can also take a look?
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 07:50 PM   #2
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

Actually, it seems that the method of authorization doesn't have an affect on things for me.

If I have say 10 instances of an iZotope plugin in a session, REAPER is slow to quit.

It never used to be that way but something seems to have changed recently.

For me it happens on macOS Sierra and High Sierra.

I wonder if anybody else can reproduce. I also can't reproduce this in any other apps, just REAPER.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 08:34 AM   #3
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

Also, because REAPER has been updated more recently than any iZotope plugins I'm testing this with, I have to wonder if something changed in REAPER that is causing it to hang/freeze when closing/quitting when a session has many iZotope plugins inserted.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:04 AM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,286
Default

Quote:
A LONG time to fully quit, sometimes more than 10 seconds when it used to quit very quickly.
really man all this for 10 second wait?

Saw this in the changelog from 5.50c, there could be other undocumented changes though
+ VST: improve macOS bundleExit VST3 compatibility

is it vst3 in use here?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:07 AM   #5
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
really man all this for 10 second wait?

Saw this in the changelog from 5.50c, there could be other undocumented changes though
+ VST: improve macOS bundleExit VST3 compatibility

is it vst3 in use here?
I tried VST3 and AU and both had the same behavior. AU is what I normally use and noticed this with. REAPER freezes for a solid 10 seconds or so depending how many iZotope plugins are inserted before the session is closed and/or REAPER quits.

10 seconds is not a long time but dealing with it every time I close REAPER or load a new session is getting old already.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:15 AM   #6
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

Also, sometimes the wait is longer or it just never fully quits and I have to Force Quit. Either way, not ideal for such an otherwise super efficient app.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 09:47 AM   #7
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

Seems to be related to Ozone 8/Neutron 2 but not Ozone 7. I guess it's an iZotope thing and why I only noticed more recently. Sorry for all the noise.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/

Last edited by MRMJP; 11-09-2017 at 10:07 AM.
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 06:34 AM   #8
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,315
Default

I've reported this to iZotope and they have a test session and everything needed to reproduce the issue which is easy to reproduce.

That being said, who knows if and when they'll get to it. They are not known for frequent maintenance updates.

If there is anything that can be done on the REAPER side to fix this issue with Ozone 8 and Neutron 2 causing REAPER to hang for a bit while putting it would be greatly appreciated. At least one other user reported this issue on the main REAPER forum.

Here is a test session to easily reproduce the issue:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/d1nhmo0etv...20LAG.zip?dl=0
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 11:40 AM   #9
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,560
Default

All good right thing to do good for us all am sure Izotope will welcome the knowledge.

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.