Old 01-24-2018, 09:09 AM   #1
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default Hackey Trackey (MIDI Tracker)

Hello all,

I don't know if anyone has migrated from Buzz, Impulse, ModPlug or some other tracker to REAPER, but I missed the tracker so much that I wrote one in Lua as a plugin.

It's meant for tracking MIDI notes and automating FX. Simply click a MIDI media item and start the script and it will do the rest. Note that the tracker itself is not a sampler and doesn't do anything in terms of sample playback.

Anyways, in case anyone else is interested, it can be found here: https://github.com/JoepVanlier/Hackey-Trackey with a full description of how to use it.

I'm still actively developing it, but it should already be pretty usable in its current state (I mean, I use it at least! ). If you run into a problem with it or have a feature request don't hesitate to ask.







Effects automatically show up.


Various themes are available (buzz theme courtesy of r4dian)


And a harmonizer, to help you stick to scales and come up with chord progressions:

Last edited by sai'ke; 06-06-2018 at 05:41 AM. Reason: Added images of HT in action
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 10:04 AM   #2
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 352
Default

thank you for this ..
really love Buzz and Renoise ! going to test drive this right away !

regards
zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 02:43 PM   #3
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,322
Default

Ha, love the name. Thanks for sharing.

(nice work btw.)

Last edited by IXix; 01-24-2018 at 02:55 PM.
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 03:08 PM   #4
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 268
Default

This is brilliant ! I am having a blast with renoise lately and now this Will test this little gem instantly.

Big thanks Maybe later some Reapack love ?
__________________
Item FX Sends -
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 03:34 PM   #5
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 268
Default

This is super fun. How do I change the Adv value (not in your picture) ? Are you considering a delay tab? Could remove regard the Adv value? How do I make OFF commands (maybe A?) ? Maybe horizontal note input via shift? I think all my FR would be to emulate renoise workflow and commands...

I get some reaconsole errors holding backspace, maybe too much keyboard input. Can't use 2,3... for c#,d# etc.

Keep it going
__________________
Item FX Sends -

Last edited by Nixon; 01-24-2018 at 03:54 PM.
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 04:37 PM   #6
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks everyone

Yeah, when it's matured a little more I would love to add it to Reapack. Not sure how the process goes though and whether I'd still be able to provide updates. But I'll look into it soonish!

The adv value can be changed by F3 (decrease) and F4 (increase). The output channel can be altered by F1 (decrease) and F2 (increase). If you want each column to map to a separate midi channel, then set it to C (the lowest value). Off command is currently set to -.

2,3 and so forth change the octave of a note that's already placed. This is the way it's typically handled in buzz. The control layout is mostly based on buzz actually, since that's what I'm used to. If you want, you can add/suggest an alternative control layout, then I could provide it as an option as well (the keys are all listed at the top of the script actually). I don't know renoise that well.

As for the errors with the backspace command, that's interesting to me. Was this in an FX track, legato track or a note track? If you manage to reproduce it in the version uploaded today, please let me know. I'd be much obliged.

One thing the backspace command does not like is unglued extended tracks. I still need to think of how to handle these best, but currently count them as not supported.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 05:44 AM   #7
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

After using the tracker for a while now, I've added a bunch of features which may help when you're doing stuff.
- Add help (F1) for quickly looking up keys
- Change rows/measure
- Store settings last used for a particular midi item (advance/octave/envelope)
- Allow scrolling through the MIDI items on a track by CTRL + right/left
- Added key to duplicate current pattern
- Added clipboard functionality SHIFT+arrow keys or CTRL+B/E to select and CTRL+C/X/V to copy, cut, paste. Note that for now this is only local to one tracker instance and gone when you close it.
- Scrollbar for big patterns.
- Shift/Transpose item up/down (Shift +/-)
- Remap output channel (F2/F3)
- Set loop start/end (to pattern CTRL+L, to specific points CTRL+Q/W)
- Rename pattern from tracker
As well as some bugfixes.

There is still the occasional odd behavior that a very thin MIDI note ends up in the pattern which messes up the OFFs which I have yet to debug. I suspect it is in the legato system. However, I have trouble figuring out the exact steps required to reproduce the problem. I usually find out that such a note exists long after it's there. If anyone runs into the same issue and knows a way to reproduce it, please let me know. I would be much obliged.

I've also made the repository Reapack compatible, so you can add it in your Reapack repository list: https://github.com/joepvanlier/Hacke...ster/index.xml . Makes it easier to grab updates. Eventually, the plan is to make the tracker part of the reapack scripts repository, so that this separate repo is no longer necessary.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 06:29 AM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,399
Default

Wow man, this is really fantastic, thx a Million !!
(btw: are you Dutch ?1)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 01:55 PM   #9
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks. I hope it's useful.

Was it the last name that gave it away?
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2018, 10:27 AM   #10
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Added option to program CC events

Made the repo ReaPack compatible as well: https://github.com/joepvanlier/Hacke...ster/index.xml
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 06:53 AM   #11
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 268
Default

New Theme looks great
Is there an option to switch between themes?
Maybe an additional options tab could be useful.
Keep up the great work.
__________________
Item FX Sends -

Last edited by Nixon; 02-28-2018 at 12:14 PM.
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 08:43 AM   #12
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,352
Default

Started out on a tracker and do miss it, will give a try despite it being midi and not 8bit samples
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:17 AM   #13
magwa101
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 17
Default never heard of trackers, going down the rabbit hole

This is amazing as I was just thinking about how this type of interface. Semi programmable, text based, integrated with all the amazing VST and Reaper routing capabilities and midi. Will give feedback as I go along. I think of this as programmable modular midi, we'll see if it fits.

One of the other things I've been figuring out is OSC, which has been quite a bit of configuration work and still you can't easily access every plug effect. This interface allows that.

I'll send feedback as a n00b and as someone experienced (if I get there! :-).
magwa101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:20 AM   #14
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 4,352
Default

The learning curve is steep but rewarding - YouTube full of examples nowadays. 1991 was but yesterday.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 12:02 PM   #15
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

I have to give credit where it is due, the new theme was actually submitted by r4dian. Not sure if he visits these forums or not.

There's quite a few new features such as note delay, mouse selection support, autoplay for notes and adding CC events in two input modes. I'd recommend reading the readme once if you have time: https://github.com/JoepVanlier/Hackey-Trackey since there is only so much I can fit into that sidepanel when you hit F1

Nixon; Currently, you can choose the theme by editing the lua file, but I agree, an options tab would be nice. I will look into ways to save configuration options next time I have a chance to get some coding done.

If you have an issue with it, please open an issue on the issue tracker on github. This helps me keep track of requests / bugs. Again, thanks all for trying it out and submitting feedback to make it better
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:24 PM   #16
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nixon View Post
New Theme looks great
Is there an option to switch between themes?
Maybe an additional options tab could be useful.
Keep up the great work.
Just added a basic options window to switch themes. F11 brings it up. If you want to see what a particular key layout is like, hit F1 and then F11 (to see both help and options)
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 03:38 AM   #17
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,040
Default

Works great. Already having a lot of fun with it.

I can't hear the notes I'm entering on the computer keyboard. Is that normal ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 07:26 PM   #18
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Great!

If you want to hear the notes, hit CTRL + R. This arms the current tracker.

The reason it needs to be armed, is because it changes the recording status of your project (something you might not always want).

If it still isn't audible then, then that's a bug. Please let me know if that's the case

Today, I added the option to change the pattern length from the tracker.

sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 02:29 AM   #19
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,040
Default

Thank you. That works nicely. Interesting how this almost does more than my old trackers(PT,FT2,IT2).
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 09:05 AM   #20
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Ah good, I'm glad to hear that

If you have some good ideas on improvements, let me know
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 02:20 AM   #21
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

I added a little chord helper for when the writer's block hits

sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 12:25 AM   #22
sveinpetter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 75
Default scales.lua in tracker.lua @version 1.34

cannot open C:\Users\Svein\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Scripts\Trac kertools\Tracker\scales.lua: No such file or directory

Hmmm, what to do?

(-- Load the scales
dofile(get_script_path() .. 'scales.lua')
scales:initialize()

Last edited by sveinpetter; 04-04-2018 at 12:31 AM.
sveinpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 03:19 AM   #23
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Hey, oh no! Thanks for letting me know about this.

I have since reproduced the problem on my side. It seems that I had messed up the header for the reapack indexer, which meant it wasn't recognizing scales.lua as a dependency.

I updated the header accordingly. Could you try now?

If you synchronize the repo, it should pull in scales.lua.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 04:11 AM   #24
sveinpetter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 75
Default

Error gone. Thanks.
sveinpetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 09:15 AM   #25
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Cool. Thanks for letting me know!
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 02:40 PM   #26
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

Looks pretty cool!

Some questions:

1. Is there a way to add more note columns?
2. Is there a way to play notes without recording them? Like it can be toggled with ESC in other trackers.
3. Is there a way to update the tracker view to the new note data when selecting a different midi item?
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 07:14 AM   #27
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
Looks pretty cool!
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
1. Is there a way to add more note columns?
Do you mean displaying more in a single view, or actually adding more columns total? Neither of these are currently possible without editing the script.

The tricky thing with adding more columns is that I store the column index in the MIDI channel information (and there are only 16 of those). I've never tried what happens if I enter more than that. Will check what happens tonight. Just out of curiosity, what do you need more than 15 columns for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
2. Is there a way to play notes without recording them? Like it can be toggled with ESC in other trackers.
Currently no, but I will add this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
3. Is there a way to update the tracker view to the new note data when selecting a different midi item?
Currently, no, but this should in principle be possible I think. I can make it an option if this would be helpful to you.

Note that if you want to switch pattern from the tracker itself on a single FX track, you can already to this with CTRL + left/right.

Thanks for the feature requests!
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 08:55 AM   #28
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 352
Default

This is super addictive !!
Just a question , Is it possible to add this script to the Midi Editor tab ?

thank you
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 01:05 PM   #29
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
[...] what do you need more than 15 columns for?
15? I only have 5 here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post

Thanks for the feature requests!
Thanks for considering them :-)
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:38 PM   #30
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Okay, been working on some of these feature requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
1. Is there a way to add more note columns?
Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
15? I only have 5 here...
If you move with the arrow keys you can scroll. But, I admit, the fact that you don't see more columns when you drag out the screen is confusing and a bit annoying. So, now by default it will show more columns when you widen the screen. Assuming that it also works on your end, that tackles 1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
3. Is there a way to add more note columns?
Do you have a preferred key for this? CTRL+R allows the tracker to be armed for playing in the first place. Since this changes the recording state of your project, I don't really want this to be always on and still require the CTRL+R. What do you think would be a good listen without enter toggle key? Escape as you said? How should I visualize this? Make the [REC] thing blue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
2. Is there a way to play notes without recording them? Like it can be toggled with ESC in other trackers.
Request 2 I also implemented today (assuming it works ). If you hit F11 you see an options menu. Checking "Follow Selection" should do what you want. It will store your preference in a text file, so you should only have to do it once.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
Thanks for considering them :-)
No prob!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zookthespook View Post
This is super addictive !!
Just a question , Is it possible to add this script to the Midi Editor tab ?

thank you
I don't know (yet!), but I will look into it. I think it is possible. I don't know yet whether it is possible for me to write something that does it automatically though. Where do you want to have it added specifically? Could you post a screenshot?

Last edited by sai'ke; 05-03-2018 at 01:55 AM.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 01:25 PM   #31
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Also implemented request 2 now. Escape toggles note entry when recording is active. You should be able to see by the color of the [REC] indicator.

Also added a cheesy hacker theme.

sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 12:22 PM   #32
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Also implemented request 2 now. Escape toggles note entry when recording is active. You should be able to see by the color of the [REC] indicator.

Also added a cheesy hacker theme.

Thanks! Unfortunately, ESC does not do anything for me in the new version. The other settings, I can also not test, because I only have a Mac available right now, and F11 is bound to do some OS X global stuff, and it appears there is no other way to open the settings menu in HackeyTracky.
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 12:24 PM   #33
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

I now disabled the F11 global shortcut in OS X and now F11 will open the chord tool, but not the settings menu.

EDIT: After trying several times, it now opens the settings menu, but it has less options than on your screenshot. I have the newest version (1.42).
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 05:10 PM   #34
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

My apologies. I must not have run reapack-index correctly because when I just did it found new stuff.

It should work now? 1.47 is the version that should show up. Please let me know if it still doesn't work (might have to synchronize packages too).
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 04:28 AM   #35
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Does it work now?
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 07:49 PM   #36
_TIP_
Human being with feelings
 
_TIP_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 94
Default

Hey Sai'ke,this is so amazing, thank you so much, the FT2 days are back!!! Just 2 questions...
1. How do i add an off note (i used to use caps lock in FT2)
2. and how do i Expand or shrink the pattern or just right notes in 1/32,1/64
is there an option already?
Also, resolution up/down is not working on Windows 10 for me, when i ctrl+alt + up or down my screen is going upside down and vise versa...
Thanks again for this amazing tool, i hope to hear from you soon!
_TIP_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 09:52 AM   #37
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIP_ View Post
Hey Sai'ke,this is so amazing, thank you so much, the FT2 days are back!!!
Thanks, glad you like it

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIP_ View Post
1. How do i add an off note (i used to use caps lock in FT2)
The default key map note off is "-". If you are used to a specific key map, give me a full description of it and I can add it. I'd need a key for all the cases you see in the F1 menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIP_ View Post
2. and how do i Expand or shrink the pattern or just right notes in 1/32,1/64
is there an option already?
Hm, what do you mean? Resizing the pattern can be done by clicking this size indicator:

Is this what you meant?

It only makes the pattern longer though. I could add a keyboard key for it too if you prefer to operate it only with the keyboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _TIP_ View Post
Also, resolution up/down is not working on Windows 10 for me, when i ctrl+alt + up or down my screen is going upside down and vise versa...
Oi. I didn't think of that! I just changed the default key to Alt + Shift + Up/Down.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 01:00 PM   #38
_TIP_
Human being with feelings
 
_TIP_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks for the update, new shortcut now works just fine!
What i meant in my previous post was changing the grid (1/32 notes, 1/64 notes and 1/128 notes), please download the *.RPP file i've attached and you'll understand. I'm not sure yet if is already possible but to do that we need an LPB option (lines Per Beat). The other think i was talking about in my previous post, was Shrinking or Expanding a pattern witch it would change the midi to double or half speed... Last, the shortcuts are totally fine for me, i could adapt in a heartbeat :-) but if you want and have some spear time, i wouldn't say no to a Fast Tracker II keyboard shortcuts... You can find FT2 keyboard shortcuts here (Page 22) : https://milkytracker.titandemo.org/docs/FT2.pdf
Also, changing everything with the mouse (instead using keyboard shortcuts) would be nice as well!!!

Once more, Thank you so much for everything, i really love your script!!!
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Test - (Tracker lua).rpp (7.4 KB, 6 views)
_TIP_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 03:06 PM   #39
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Does it work now?
Yeah, it does. Cool, thanks!
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 03:14 PM   #40
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
If you are used to a specific key map, give me a full description of it and I can add it.
http://tutorials.renoise.com/wiki/Ke...tant_Shortcuts

That would be awesome!
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.