Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2018, 02:37 PM   #1
Megamag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default REAPER [5.7X] unusable on Windows 10 - Crashes randomly and very frequently (FIXED)

Hello there,

I have a massive problem with REAPER 5.7X on my Windows 10 (Home 10.0.16299) laptop.

The problem is, that it crashes randomly. It just says "REAPER is not responding anymore" and then it's dead. No error messages, nothing. There's also nothign of value in the Windows Error Logs.

This is usually triggered by a specific action. Although it's not 100% reproducable - it is known to crash during following actions:
- Toggling the Mixer
- Deleting Tracks
- Accessing the Routing Window
- Opening a New Project Tab
- Opening a Project
- Deleting Media Items
- Deleting FX

Any of this action can trigger a crash, but it doesn't always do it. If REAPER crashes when I delete certain tracks and I reload the project and delete those same tracks again, it may not crash this time. It's like it has a certain percantage chance of crashing whenever I do one of these actions mentioned above.

And that chance is high! Like, seriously, it crashes basically every five or ten minutes while working on a project. It makes REAPER literally unusable on my laptop - which is a shame since it's my main DAW and I need it for my work.

I've got REAPER on my Windows 7 Desktop PC at the studio and it's solid like a rock, but on the laptop it just doesn't work.

The laptop is very new, it's got an Intel i5, 8GB of RAM and an SSD. It shouldn't be a hardware bottleneck.

Oh yeah and the crashes are not dependant on the sound interface I'm using. Happens on RME Fireface, Microsoft DirectSound, ASIO4All and Dante Virtual Soundcard.

Thing I've tried to remedy the problem (without effect):
- Loading projects in recovery mode
- Deleting Custom Scripts
- Deleting all VST folders
- Deleting Custom Themes
- Deleting User preferences
- Doing a 100% clean reinstall
- Doing a portable install (-> same problems)

Now, because I'm literally out of options at this point - I installed an old version of REAPER. Version 5.0. I played around with it for a while and it seems to be stable. It's hard to say of course, because of the randomness of the crashes but on the surface it seems, that old versions don't have these problems.

So what can I do now? I absolutely need REAPER to work properly on the laptop. If I can't get it to work I might need to switch to a different DAW alltogether. And I would hate to do that but I've got no other choice at the moment.

Can you guys help me?

Cheers
and thank you

Last edited by Megamag; 04-10-2018 at 03:11 PM.
Megamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 02:52 PM   #2
Megamag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I've included some logs from the Event Viewer. I don't know if this is helpful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
1912586680634003626
4
APPCRASH
Nicht verfŘgbar
0
REAPER.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
REAPER.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
c0000005
0000000000114dfd


\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB 8C6.tmp.dmp \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB B29.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB B27.tmp.csv \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB B57.tmp.txt
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive \AppCrash_REAPER.exe_c376f4a9abb57e1f551c6353d5b31 81d4d75ec_6ed89148_30cbc2f7

0
e0ac2e04-c130-4d1b-8c21-862d84281086
268435456
0913abb489cefe048a8adf73e55550aa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
1912586680634003626
REAPER.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
REAPER.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
c0000005
0000000000114dfd
16a0
01d3d114a87658eb
C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe
C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe
e0ac2e04-c130-4d1b-8c21-862d84281086

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
1912586680634003626
Version=1
EventType=APPCRASH
EventTime=131678702203575243
ReportType=2
Consent=1
UploadTime=131678702213286145
ReportStatus=268435456
ReportIdentifier=c87382ec-2eef-45f3-8208-cb6e0757068b
IntegratorReportIdentifier=e0ac2e04-c130-4d1b-8c21-862d84281086
Wow64Host=34404
NsAppName=REAPER.exe
AppSessionGuid=000016a0-0001-000f-eb58-76a814d1d301
TargetAppId=W:000603cfd8ba01d335c6a033adeec8003cd9 00000904!0000ed29e9c903342e8be49064c3ccf22b360106b ce6!reaper.exe
TargetAppVer=2018//03//24:22:04:11!0!reaper.exe
BootId=4294967295
TargetAsId=797
UserImpactVector=858796848
Response.BucketId=0913abb489cefe048a8adf73e55550aa
Response.BucketTable=4
Response.LegacyBucketId=1912586680634003626
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Anwendungsname
Sig[0].Value=REAPER.exe
Sig[1].Name=Anwendungsversion
Sig[1].Value=5.7.8.0
Sig[2].Name=Anwendungszeitstempel
Sig[2].Value=5ab6cb5b
Sig[3].Name=Fehlermodulname
Sig[3].Value=REAPER.exe
Sig[4].Name=Fehlermodulversion
Sig[4].Value=5.7.8.0
Sig[5].Name=Fehlermodulzeitstempel
Sig[5].Value=5ab6cb5b
Sig[6].Name=Ausnahmecode
Sig[6].Value=c0000005
Sig[7].Name=Ausnahmeoffset
Sig[7].Value=0000000000114dfd
DynamicSig[1].Name=Betriebsystemversion
DynamicSig[1].Value=10.0.16299.2.0.0.768.101
DynamicSig[2].Name=Gebietsschema-ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1031
DynamicSig[22].Name=Zusatzinformation 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=b5ca
DynamicSig[23].Name=Zusatzinformation 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=b5ca2747e93d17e8a8c3215fc7479ae0
DynamicSig[24].Name=Zusatzinformation 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=6887
DynamicSig[25].Name=Zusatzinformation 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=6887004aa2236084886053420421944a
LoadedModule[0]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
LoadedModule[3]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SETUPAPI.dll
LoadedModule[5]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[6]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.16299.309_none_15cfd 4c4935e6b11\COMCTL32.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\cfgmgr32.dll
LoadedModule[8]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ucrtbase.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[10]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\combase.dll
LoadedModule[11]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
LoadedModule[12]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\USER32.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\win32u.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\comdlg32.dll
LoadedModule[16]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\shcore.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\gdi32full.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHLWAPI.dll
LoadedModule[19]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHELL32.dll
LoadedModule[20]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\windows.storage.dll
LoadedModule[21]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\advapi32.dll
LoadedModule[22]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcp_win.dll
LoadedModule[23]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[24]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\kernel.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[25]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\powrprof.dll
LoadedModule[26]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DSOUND.dll
LoadedModule[27]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WSOCK32.dll
LoadedModule[28]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[29]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\profapi.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ole32.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\OLEAUT32.dll
LoadedModule[33]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMMBASE.dll
LoadedModule[35]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[36]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[37]=C:\Program Files (x86)\Stardock\Fences\FencesMenu64.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WTSAPI32.dll
LoadedModule[39]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.windows.gdiplus _6595b64144ccf1df_1.1.16299.309_none_46bac7a9edf0e 4df\gdiplus.dll
LoadedModule[40]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USERENV.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\ink\tiptsf.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[44]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\clbcatq.dll
LoadedModule[45]=C:\Windows\System32\uiautomationcore.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sxs.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\Windows\System32\CoreMessaging.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\Windows\System32\CoreUIComponents.dll
LoadedModule[49]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntmarta.dll
LoadedModule[50]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wintypes.dll
LoadedModule[51]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\elastique2.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\elastique3.dll
LoadedModule[53]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\soundtouch.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\rubberband.dll
LoadedModule[55]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\jsfx.dll
LoadedModule[56]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MMDevAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[57]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PROPSYS.dll
LoadedModule[58]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[59]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wdmaud.drv
LoadedModule[60]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ksuser.dll
LoadedModule[61]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AVRT.dll
LoadedModule[62]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUDIOSES.DLL
LoadedModule[63]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msacm32.drv
LoadedModule[64]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSACM32.dll
LoadedModule[65]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\midimap.dll
LoadedModule[66]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_cd.dll
LoadedModule[67]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_csurf.dll
LoadedModule[68]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_ddp.dll
LoadedModule[69]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_explorer.dll
LoadedModule[70]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_flac.dll
LoadedModule[71]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_midi.dll
LoadedModule[72]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_mp3dec.dll
LoadedModule[73]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\libmp3lame.dll
LoadedModule[74]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_ogg.dll
LoadedModule[75]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_opus.dll
LoadedModule[76]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_rex.dll
LoadedModule[77]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_video.dll
LoadedModule[78]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\FFmpeg.dll
LoadedModule[147]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_wave.dll
LoadedModule[148]=C:\Windows\System32\OLEACC.dll
LoadedModule[149]=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\reaper_wavpack.dll
LoadedModule[150]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\twinapi.dll
LoadedModule[151]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\twinapi.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[152]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RMCLIENT.dll
LoadedModule[153]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[154]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\policymanager.dll
LoadedModule[155]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msvcp110_win.dll
LoadedModule[156]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CLDAPI.dll
LoadedModule[157]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\FLTLIB.DLL
LoadedModule[158]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AEPIC.dll
LoadedModule[159]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\cryptsp.dll
LoadedModule[160]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dataexchange.dll
LoadedModule[161]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\d3d11.dll
LoadedModule[162]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dcomp.dll
LoadedModule[163]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\dxgi.dll
ConsentKey=APPCRASH
AppName=REAPER
AppPath=C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe
NsPartner=windows
NsGroup=windows8
ApplicationIdentity=EA76EFC8FA5420CC969AAD71CE29BA 1B
MetadataHash=-942902623
Megamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 05:29 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,953
Default

(updated reply below)

Last edited by Justin; 04-10-2018 at 06:26 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 06:18 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,953
Default

I'm guessing the issue is with Stardock Fences, but I've located the probable bug on our end (thank you for the crash report!).

Can you confirm something? You said 5.0 worked -- can you compare 5.15 and 5.16 from https://www.reaper.fm/download-old.php ? If it's what I think it is, 5.15 will work and 5.16 will crash.

The next prerelease in the prerelease forum should fix (assuming that 5.15 works and 5.16 doesn't) -- for now you might want to try disabling Fences.

Last edited by Justin; 04-10-2018 at 06:26 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 02:18 PM   #5
Megamag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I'm guessing the issue is with Stardock Fences, but I've located the probable bug on our end (thank you for the crash report!).

Can you confirm something? You said 5.0 worked -- can you compare 5.15 and 5.16 from https://www.reaper.fm/download-old.php ? If it's what I think it is, 5.15 will work and 5.16 will crash.

The next prerelease in the prerelease forum should fix (assuming that 5.15 works and 5.16 doesn't) -- for now you might want to try disabling Fences.
Hi Justin, thank you for the quick support! Unfortunately though, it didn't work out.

Both 5.15 and5.16 are stable (or at least I couldn't get them to crash).

Also I tried out 5.78 again with deinstalled Fences and it crashed again.

I got a new log without Stardocks Fences:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
1912586680634003626
0
APPCRASH
Nicht verfŘgbar
0
reaper.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
reaper.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
c000041d
0000000000114dfd


\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1 A49.tmp.dmp \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1 BC2.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1 BD2.tmp.csv \\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER1 BF2.tmp.txt
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive \AppCrash_reaper.exe_aafb98ae0fcc673a6fa35ea8b3f85 7e26661c51_82aeb948_396521cb

0
5e444844-c4dd-46f3-b825-cde75f9fa0a9
97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
reaper.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
reaper.exe
5.7.8.0
5ab6cb5b
c000041d
0000000000114dfd
24d4
01d3d1d9ee4b8b53
C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
5e444844-c4dd-46f3-b825-cde75f9fa0a9
Here you can get the big report (it was too long for the post):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wvka3m2jwk...ortV2.ini?dl=0

I hope we can work this out. Cheers!

EDIT:
I think I've traced it down by incrementally installing old versions until I could get one to crash.

It seems to be the jump between 5.18 and 5.20 that causes the issues. 5.18 is stable, whereas 5.20 crashes just like the newest version does. So maybe that's where the fault lies?

Last edited by Megamag; 04-11-2018 at 02:35 PM.
Megamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 03:53 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,953
Default

Can you try 5.79pre12 in the pre-release forum and see if that fixes?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 04:12 PM   #7
Megamag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you try 5.79pre12 in the pre-release forum and see if that fixes?
Wow, Justin - I think you've done it! I've tried everything I could to get that to crash but it didn't. Amazing work!

I will keep an eye on it and see if it stays that way.

Thank you very much - that might have saved me

Cheers
Megamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 04:22 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megamag View Post
Wow, Justin - I think you've done it! I've tried everything I could to get that to crash but it didn't. Amazing work!

I will keep an eye on it and see if it stays that way.

Thank you very much - that might have saved me

Cheers
Great, thank you for the bug report!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 03:19 AM   #9
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,478
Default

REAPER= tailor made software-lovingly crafted by passionate artists.
where else do you get that 1st hand reasponse ?!?
priceless.
+thanking cockos for the dedication to perfection.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 11:25 PM   #10
ultraleetj
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Default

wow, well.. Its interesting to say the least. I have been using reaper 5.78 normally, I sometimes get an error but that is when a dialog comes up asking for the routing confirmation when I insert mostly kontakt on it. But then I review the changelogs and it says a potential accessibility crash.. what part of the accessibility is at stake here? any service or so on? I am asking because I use reaper with a screenReader.
ultraleetj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.