Old 04-17-2018, 11:41 AM   #1
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default Script: Folder items (like Cubase, StudioOne)

EDIT 2020-06-01 version 1.0

The new version is finished. Thanks to the user IadAslan for funding the developement.

I have decided to make it a payware, the price is 30€ per user. If you are interested, you can send money via:

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...EPL&source=url

I will send the script to your email obtained via Paypal within 24 hours. If you need more info, you can write a post here in the thread or send me a personal message.

what's this:
- this script automatically creates empty items in folder tracks in real-time. These items I call Folder Items. They represent real items in children tracks of a particular folder track. When you select a folder item, the script automatically select all children items. Then you can manipulate them with any Reaper's action that works across multiple item selection.
- the whole concept is know from Cubase or Studio One.

what's new in 1.0:
- completely rewritten with an oop approach resulting in up to 10x faster operation
- support of item splitting
- additional simple script for user settings
- prompt to automatically adjust mouse modifier for an optimal operation
- not dependant on SWS

known issues:
- does not work with hidden tracks (API limitation). Use children collapsing instead.

Operation:


Settings:




-----------------------------------------------------------

LEGACY:

If you want to run the free original version of Folder items, you need a SWS extensions v2.9.7 or older.

User nikolalkc created a video about the original version of Folder items: https://youtu.be/faci3lX-czY

The issue with edge editing as seen in the video is prevented by setting Mouse modifiers -> Media item edge -> left drag -> default action -> turn off "Relative edge edit". (The current script checks your mouse settings and offers to automatically turn it off. Or you can be just more careful with it on. More on this: https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=75)

Last edited by bFooz; 06-16-2020 at 02:14 AM.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 03:09 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,616
Default

Interesting to have that real time

It reminds be wGroups by nikolalkc, but without the use of empty midi items.

Thanks for sharing !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:02 PM   #3
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,045
Default

Awesome, Will give this go at some point soon hopefully.

Thanks!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 06:01 AM   #4
Mottemania
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Interesting to have that real time

It reminds be wGroups by nikolalkc, but without the use of empty midi items.

Thanks for sharing !

Does his repository for reapack work for you? Reaper says "404" :/

Last edited by Mottemania; 04-19-2018 at 12:57 AM.
Mottemania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:18 AM   #5
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,819
Default

AWESOME!!!!! I tried few times make this script but failed.... Can it split items in "folder"? That would be awesome, will use this script for sure!!!! Thank you!
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:19 AM   #6
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
AWESOME!!!!! I tried few times make this script but failed.... Can it split items in "folder"? That would be awesome, will use this script for sure!!!! Thank you!
Once the folder item is selected and all children items are selected with it, it behaves like if you have a regular multiple-item selection. So the answer is yes.

The is a problem when you have children tracks hidden, then it does nothing to their items because of the way how Reaper treats them natively. This needs some tweaking in the script.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:39 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mottemania View Post
Does his repository for reapack work for you? Reaper says "404" :/
you need the 'raw' link for index.xml
use this one
https://github.com/nikolalkc/nikolal...ster/index.xml
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:44 AM   #8
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,958
Default

I can't figure out what's happening in the gif, looks like normal grouped editing to me but slower…

can we see how this is actually used in production?
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:05 AM   #9
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Once the folder item is selected and all children items are selected with it, it behaves like if you have a regular multiple-item selection. So the answer is yes.

The is a problem when you have children tracks hidden, then it does nothing to their items because of the way how Reaper treats them natively. This needs some tweaking in the script.
Oh cool, tried it now it works but there is some "behavior":

1. if you split item and then click in arrange window it refreshes the empty item (which is behavior I want)
2. if you split and move immediately you get two folders (which in some cases is also desirable behavior)

what to do here code wise ?
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:06 AM   #10
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
I can't figure out what's happening in the gif, looks like normal grouped editing to me but slower…

can we see how this is actually used in production?
Those empty items in the folder tracks are created automatically based on the items in the child tracks.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:21 AM   #11
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Oh cool, tried it now it works but there is some "behavior":

1. if you split item and then click in arrange window it refreshes the empty item (which is behavior I want)
2. if you split and move immediately you get two folders (which in some cases is also desirable behavior)

what to do here code wise ?
If you try this without the script running, the item selection will be this weird too, it is just how Reaper does it. When the script sees a folder item which is selected, it does not touch it until it is deselected again.

I thought leaving this beaviour for Reaper itself would be OK, but it doesn't seem so (I don't do too much editing).

Needs something in the script.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:56 AM   #12
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,819
Default

How about if items in folder are crossfaded then it automatically refreshes empty item ?
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:57 AM   #13
Mottemania
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
you need the 'raw' link for index.xml
use this one
https://github.com/nikolalkc/nikolal...ster/index.xml
I already contacted him, but thanks!
Mottemania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 04:41 AM   #14
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
How about if items in folder are crossfaded then it automatically refreshes empty item ?
You mean that in your gif example, the first split you do would make actually two folder items? Like the folder item would be split in the middle of the crossfade?

Or that this first split would glue the folder item back together right away?
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:35 AM   #15
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,819
Default

Yes,so if your are editing and itens are crossfaded to ignore empty item (split)
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:15 AM   #16
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

I see my name has been mentioned here.

I just want to make it clear that my github repo is not yet ready to be used completely.

I will record video tutorials for each script when I fix all known issues.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:37 AM   #17
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Hi everyone, I am sharing this script which I've been using for some time now.

If you find it useful please share some ideas or bug reports. Thanks.

It crashes when you create another folder from children track.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 07:03 AM   #18
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikolalkc View Post
It crashes when you create another folder from children track.
Thanks for this, it seem like a bug in the API: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....48#post1981048
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 04:30 AM   #19
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,232
Default

options : Select one item select group
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 07:17 AM   #20
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

I've changed the gif in the first post to show the functionality better.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 03:16 PM   #21
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 723
Default

I'm not able to stop this script from running in the background.
What lines should I be looking to delete in the ini?

Edit: Aha! The script turned on SWS Toggle auto group newly recorded items
All ok now
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com

Last edited by Triode; 04-25-2018 at 03:45 PM. Reason: Solved
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 03:29 AM   #22
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
Edit: Aha! The script turned on SWS Toggle auto group newly recorded items
I don't think my script did that.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:17 AM   #23
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Thanks for this, it seem like a bug in the API: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....48#post1981048
So, is there a solution to this problem? I really like this script but this stops me from using it.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 06:45 AM   #24
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

I figured out what's exactly the problem. As long as you drag tracks with your mouse script will work. The moment you press the TCP icon for changing folder state script breaks when folder is created which doesn't have end childen track defined.

I'm not sure how to solve this problem but I hope this helps.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 07:08 AM   #25
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

Ok, I think I actually solved this problem.



Fixed version is in attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: lua bfo - Folder items pre1.lua (16.1 KB, 272 views)
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 04:36 PM   #26
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,616
Default

Thanks for sharing fixes ! Maybe create a fork of original repo and propose your fix as pull request ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:35 PM   #27
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Thanks for sharing fixes ! Maybe create a fork of original repo and propose your fix as pull request ?
My pleasure. I would love to but I can't find original repo.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:46 PM   #28
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,616
Default

@niko
you are right. his repo is empty :S https://github.com/bFooz/ReaScripts
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 11:45 AM   #29
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 641
Default

Also, setting the parent item to loop should repeat children instead of looping children.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 01:19 AM   #30
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

Can i upload this script to my repo?
I will credit author of course?
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 04:23 AM   #31
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Hi, sorry for late reply. Currently I don't have time for developing this script or for setting up my repo.

If you have made any improvements and want to share the script, feel free.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 04:29 AM   #32
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozman View Post
Also, setting the parent item to loop should repeat children instead of looping children.
Parent items are generated dynamically each time there is some change in the children. Unless the particular parent item is selected, but that means all children are selected too. And then they are link by native Reaper's means. So for this request to work, there would have to be some serious rewriting. (If I remember it well.)

The best solution (as for everything) would be the native one.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 08:42 AM   #33
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 240
Default

I created a video which explains how to, and how not to use this script, check it out:

https://youtu.be/faci3lX-czY

Also, i addded this script to my ReaPack repository so everyone can download it with ease:

https://bit.ly/LKC-Tools
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:09 AM   #34
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Great work!

Children hiding is also scriptable of course, and I actually did it a while ago:
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...15&postcount=8

But Reaper does not select items in hidden tracks, discussed here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=203596

Modifying a theme is more useful here.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:14 AM   #35
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Also, user of this script would prorably be interested in fixing missing empty items bottom context which have been present for a while:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=177039
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:24 AM   #36
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Item luminance is set too high for light themes. The best thing I guess would be to make two versions with just that variable changed.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:27 AM   #37
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

You actually can put other audio or midi items into folders and those will NOT be deleted.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 01:46 AM   #38
Alex Ortega
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Default Error


Last edited by Alex Ortega; 09-06-2018 at 02:05 AM.
Alex Ortega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 02:33 AM   #39
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Ortega View Post
Please provide some short explanation.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 07:35 AM   #40
Alex Ortega
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Please provide some short explanation.
Automatically does not put blank item , what am I doing wrong?
Alex Ortega is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.