Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2018, 02:58 PM   #1
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Abstinence, Tennessee
Posts: 1,380
Default MIDI overdub always creates sel-length item' automatically loops source (FIXED)

all of my defaults for media items are to disable loop source for everything, because i prefer to copy items rather than looping them. i knewwww there was something creating loop source enabled midi items in my projects and i finally found it:

in preferences Loop Recording Settings, when "midi overdub/replace recording always creates selection length media item" is enabled, items created within a time selection where the item is ended by the loop end, the item is loop source enabled.

note that if you create and end an item within a time selection loop, the item does not have looped source enabled. it's only when the item endpoint is created by the loop end.

here's the problem behavior. note that the item appears when midi overdub begins, and as desired, a selection-length media item is created. however, it's loop source enabled:



and here's the desired behavior (where a pre-existing, time-selection-length midi item is being overdubbed to)


5.9rc1
__________________
FR: select most recently recorded midi in selected track
FR: Multiple, syncable Play Cursors in Arrange view
Automation Items are terrific
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:22 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,057
Default

Got it, making it obey the preference.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:27 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Abstinence, Tennessee
Posts: 1,380
Default

thank++
__________________
FR: select most recently recorded midi in selected track
FR: Multiple, syncable Play Cursors in Arrange view
Automation Items are terrific
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:31 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,273
Default

That is an actual C++ command.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:46 AM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Abstinence, Tennessee
Posts: 1,380
Default

haha yup that's my way of filtering out the nerds, you got caught in the nerd net ED
__________________
FR: select most recently recorded midi in selected track
FR: Multiple, syncable Play Cursors in Arrange view
Automation Items are terrific
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.