Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2018, 07:11 AM   #1
tag_tim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Default Exploding multichannel WAVs to single tracks fails when focus leaves Reaper (FIXED)

Hi,

Have been working with exploding multichannel WAV files of recording sessions onto single tracks, so...

Right click on audio file/s - item processing - explode multi channel audio or MIDI items to new one channel items

These files are often long, therefore I tend to set it going (on multiple multichannel files all sitting on the top track), and then leave it running while I do other things and then come back to it once it is finished.

However, there is a bug whereby if you focus to another Windows program, then the program will often only explode the audio file it was working on before focus was changed. I.e. if you highlighted two multichannel audio files, then when you come back to the program, it has exploded the first file to single tracks below it, but not the second. No errors or messages.

If you leave focus on Reaper while it is working, then it is reliable.

Therefore, the bug is - the operation fails to explode all files if you move focus to another Windows program while the operation is still in progress.

Not a massive problem, but a bit annoying, as you cannot simply explode the one that it has missed, because it then explodes them onto different tracks to the first explode process. Therefore it is faster to undo and do it again.

Windows 10 v1803 Build 17134.165
(but also happened on older Win10 versions and older Reaper versions, so maybe a long standing issue?)
tag_tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 06:36 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Thanks, fixing this! For now you can workaround by turning off Preferences/Media, "Set media items offline when application is not active".
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 03:10 AM   #3
tag_tim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Thanks, fixing this! For now you can workaround by turning off Preferences/Media, "Set media items offline when application is not active".
Cool, thanks for that!
tag_tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.