Old 08-31-2018, 09:02 PM   #1
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default LinuxSampler Basic Howto

I decided to try LinuxSampler and this is how I got it up and running in a basic way.

This can be confusing if the right order isn't followed and might result in no connection errors etc and getting lost in the documentation might be easy or finding documentation about the linuxsampler vst might not be that easy.

Get linuxsampler-vst_1.0.0+svn2593-1kxstudio3_amd64.deb from https://answers.launchpad.net/~kxstu...-archive-extra

The actual vst .so file can just be found by extracting the package and then extracting the data.tar.gz file or just use dpkg to install and then the vst .so file goes to /usr/lib/vst I think.

Install linuxsampler for your distro from the LinuxSampler site.

Install Qsampler for your distro.

Start Reaper and load the linuxsampler vst and it will just sit there with no gui.

Start Qsampler and then add a channel and then set it up for sfz and load a sfz file (I used some sfz files from https://freepats.zenvoid.org/Piano/a...and-piano.html).

I had to choose MIDI all channels to get sound output with a midi track in Reaper.

Qsampler comes up in plugin mode rather than Alsa or Jack mode when the linuxsampler vst is started before Qsampler otherwise Qsampler just comes up in Alsa or Jack mode and the linuxsampler vst won't connect.

Quit Qsampler before unloading the linuxsampler vst or quiting Reaper.

After all of that it works very well for sfz files.

The details are at http://libremusicproduction.com/tuto...-them-together

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-01-2018 at 03:45 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 04:00 AM   #2
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 358
Default

Thank you. I found a german video tutorial on Youtube and I followed it to the point, watched it several times, but I didnt get instrument track to work on separate track. I want to know how its done, I want to learn and understand. He use a very old Reaper version, but it cant have changed that much.

https://youtu.be/zmM6MC2ITTg

Here is the old forum post I talked about
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....t=Linuxsampler

Trial and error continues ��
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.

Last edited by Tobbe; 09-01-2018 at 04:06 AM.
Tobbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:27 AM   #3
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
Thank you. I found a german video tutorial on Youtube and I followed it to the point, watched it several times, but I didnt get instrument track to work on separate track. I want to know how its done, I want to learn and understand. He use a very old Reaper version, but it cant have changed that much.

https://youtu.be/zmM6MC2ITTg

Here is the old forum post I talked about
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....t=Linuxsampler

Trial and error continues ��

From what I can make out, in the video he is creating a master track that controls things and he calls it LS.

He loads the linuxsampler vst only onto the LS track.

Midi gets done on the other newly created tracks ie midi1, midi2 etc.
Don't do anything midi on the LS track, just leave it as it it is because it's just a controller.

Then he creates some more tracks and routes them to the LS track.

ie

Create a new track (midi1) and then using it's route option, choose "Add new send" and route it to LS and select the Midi All > 1


Create a new track (midi2) and then using it's route option, choose "Add new send" and route it to LS and select the Midi All > 2

etc etc

Qsampler has sampler Channels (the sampler channels that get added from Qsampler add channel menu option) and also Midi/Input channels for each sampler Channel (pretty confusing).

In Qsampler or Fantasia, load the sfz into the sampler Channel 0

Add a new channel (Channel 1) and load another sfz into the sampler Channel 1

The Qsampler Midi/Input option should be channel 1 for the sampler Channel 0.

The Qsampler Midi/Input option should be channel 2 for the sampler Channel 1.

etc etc

Usually the Midi/Input option is already like this by default when a new sampler Channel is added.

It all means that the midi1 track gets sent via the LS controller track to the sampler Channel0 Midi/Input channel 1

and that the midi2 track gets sent via the LS controller track to the sampler Channel1 Midi/Input channel 2

etc etc

and the midi1 and midi2 tracks go to their respective (Qsampler/linuxsampler) sfz files via the above routing.

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-02-2018 at 01:41 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 05:48 AM   #4
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

If effects etc are wanted on individual midi tracks (say the midi1 and midi2 tracks above) then

add some tracks say ch1 and ch2 etc

Enable the 3 and 4 outs in the LS track's linuxsampler vst's Plug-in pin connection

hit the LS track route option

add new send to ch1

Audio 1/2 to Audio 1/2 Midi None

add new send to ch2

Audio 3/4 to Audio 1/2 Midi None

Change Qsamplers sampler Channel1 Audio/Output Device channel to 3 and 4 (from 1 and 2).

For more tracks it's the same thing repeated with 5/6, 6/7 etc and enable the corresponding more outs in the LS track's linuxsampler vst's Plug-in pin connection etc etc

Basically it connects the Qsampler/linuxsampler sampler Channel0 and Channel1 audio into the ch1 (Audio 1/2) and ch2 (Audio 3/4) tracks which can then have audio effects put on them.

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-02-2018 at 06:48 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 11:13 PM   #5
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

This is how I've set it up, it seems to work ok but maybe there are better ways to do it, it's only a quick experiment to try some possible things out.

The first track LS is the controller track (the linuxsampler vst connects to Qsampler/linuxsampler for sending and receiving) that has the linuxsampler vst loaded on it.

I've got 2 midi tracks, midi1 and midi2.

midi1 is going to Qsampler's Kawai piano sfz, Qsampler's sample Channel0.

midi2 is going to Qsampler's AVLinux drumkit Red Zeppilin sfz, Qsampler's sample Channel1.

The audio out from Qsampler's Channel0 and Channel1 is being sent to the ch1 and ch2 audio tracks and audio effects can then be put on them such as reverb on the piano's ch1 audio track and/or the drums ch2 audio track etc.






























Last edited by osxmidi; 09-02-2018 at 11:51 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 12:22 AM   #6
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 358
Thumbs up

Thank you so much. I got it ��

I use Fantasia and not QSampler,it suites me better when it has built in keyboard, QSampler don't. I couldn't find any.

Once again, thank you so much �� �� ��
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.

Last edited by Tobbe; 09-03-2018 at 01:08 AM.
Tobbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 01:10 AM   #7
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

Thanks.

----------

Some useful things for LinuxSampler and SFZero https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1UG6naZ1HQ

Separating midi notes to midi tracks, useful for putting effects on individual drums etc etc.

Using the Reaper Action "Explode MIDI note rows (pitch) to new items".

Then do as above, sync the individual midi drum tracks to Qsampler sampler Channels and the routed audio (ie ch1 ch2 as above) and put audio effects on each drum/cymbal.

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-03-2018 at 05:21 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 12:11 AM   #8
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

While I'm at it,

EZDrummer etc can split the individual drum sounds which can then have effects put on them and also allows altering individual drum sound levels.

For sfz/sf2 this seems to work, maybe there are better ways to do it.

Split the notes of a midi drum track to individual midi tracks representing the snare, tom, etc using the Reaper Action "Explode MIDI note rows (pitch) to new items".

Then route the output of a drum sfz/sf2 loaded into SFzero (disk streaming https://github.com/osxmidi/SFZero/releases) on each midi track to a corresponding audio track which can then have audio effects put on it.

A compressor or reverb effect etc can be put on individual drum elements such as reverb only on the snare or whatever.

It's also possible to do a similar thing with LinuxSampler as above.

So I've split the slayer3 midi drum file to 5 midi tracks and then I put an instance of SFzero (disk streaming) on each track and loaded them with the same sfz/sf2 file.

Then I add 5 audio tracks corresponding to the 5 midi tracks (ch1, ch2 etc) and route the audio output of each of the midi tracks with SFZero on them to each of the 5 audio tracks using audio channels 3 and 4.

So midi track1 goes to ch1 and midi track2 goes to ch2 etc

Then I can add effects onto the 5 tracks which makes it possible to put reverb on the hi-hat and/or compression on the snare etc etc.

It's also possible to use and mix up different soundfont samples for different drums, by loading a different soundfont on the snare midi track or whatever.
























Last edited by osxmidi; 09-06-2018 at 09:18 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 02:51 AM   #9
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 358
Default

Good one. I try that to.Should even work with MT-Powerdrumkit I think. I don't have Ezdrummer, but some samples from Looploft.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.