Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2018, 09:08 AM   #1
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default Reaper Crash due to AV via reaper_video.dll on unlock (FIXED)

Pretty sure this only happens when my Win10 machine locks with Reaper idle, then I unlock it later. Occassionally, when this occurs reaper will crash and silently exit. This has only begun when I had the video window open with a video loaded - It's happened maybe 15 times over the last week because I've been working on video related projects.

Here's what I was able to gather:

App Log:

Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.9.4.0, time stamp: 0x5b65ac45
Faulting module name: reaper_video.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5b65a9ad
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000019e554
Faulting process id: 0x68c4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d44499b641c9e2
Faulting application path: I:\Apps\Reaper V5 x64\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: I:\Apps\Reaper V5 x64\Plugins\reaper_video.dll

Dump:

CONTEXT: (.ecxr)
rax=000000003ff20000 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=000000003ff20000
rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=000000001686cbd0
rip=00000000077be554 rsp=000000003732fe68 rbp=0000000000000000
r8=00000000004bef80 r9=0000000000800000 r10=0000000000000000
r11=00000000077be6f0 r12=00000000004bf000 r13=0000000000000000
r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
iopl=0 nv up ei ng nz na po cy
cs=0033 ss=002b ds=002b es=002b fs=0053 gs=002b efl=00010285

reaper_video+0x19e554:
00000000`077be554 660f7f01 movdqa xmmword ptr [rcx],xmm0 ds:00000000`3ff20000=????????????????????????????? ???

Resetting default scope

FAULTING_IP:
reaper_video+19e554
00000000`077be554 660f7f01 movdqa xmmword ptr [rcx],xmm0

EXCEPTION_RECORD: (.exr -1)
ExceptionAddress: 00000000077be554 (reaper_video+0x000000000019e554)
ExceptionCode: c0000005 (Access violation)
ExceptionFlags: 00000000
NumberParameters: 2
Parameter[0]: 0000000000000001
Parameter[1]: 000000003ff20000
Attempt to write to address 000000003ff20000

0:081> knL
# Child-SP RetAddr Call Site
00 00000000`3732fe68 00000000`07636a8b reaper_video+0x19e554
01 00000000`3732fe70 00000000`00000000 reaper_video+0x16a8b

Dump and app log may not be the same crash instance but all are the same issue. This is with Reaper 5.941 - I have not tried the latest build but I couldn't find anything relevant in the change logs so posting this as a heads up in case it continues with the latest build.

Thank you!

Last edited by karbomusic; 09-05-2018 at 09:33 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 09:56 AM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,705
Default

Hi, can you send the dump file to support? Thanks!
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 10:10 AM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
Hi, can you send the dump file to support? Thanks!
Thanks Ollie - Sure, it's just a 34 MB mini dump but happy to send. If you need a full dump let me know and I'll set up for one.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 10:13 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

Sent to support at cockos.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 12:23 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

A question: do you have multiple monitors on that machine? Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 12:43 PM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
A question: do you have multiple monitors on that machine? Thanks!
That is correct.

I had been placing the video window on that second monitor. I began docking the video window yesterday AM (for unrelated reasons) but I think I still got a crash around 7PM last night (per app logs) so can't confirm video window location is involved... just to pre-answer that question if it arises but yes, I have dual monitors.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 12:50 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
That is correct.

I had been placing the video window on that second monitor. I began docking the video window yesterday AM (for unrelated reasons) but I think I still got a crash around 7PM last night (per app logs) so can't confirm video window location is involved... just to pre-answer that question if it arises but yes, I have dual monitors.
OK, the next build that goes on landoleet (will either be 5.95pre21 or rc1, probably tomorrow) will have a possible fix (it's tough to know for sure if it will fix it because of the awfulness that is the directshow video output renderer)...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 01:15 PM   #8
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
OK, the next build that goes on landoleet (will either be 5.95pre21 or rc1, probably tomorrow) will have a possible fix (it's tough to know for sure if it will fix it because of the awfulness that is the directshow video output renderer)...
Thanks sir, I'll check it out.

I assume the DirectShow rendering is something I can't change locally. Also if you need me to dump differently, just yell.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 05:10 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

OK give 5.95pre21 a try if you don't mind! Hopefully that'll prevent the crash (holding breath...)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 05:30 AM   #10
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

I can't get it tested until this evening but will do! Thanks!
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 04:14 PM   #11
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

Finally had a chance to test and it still seems to crash. Here are a couple points of interest...

1) Only occurs when resuming.
2) Only occurs when a video is loaded (I think).
3) Only occurs when the video window is on monitor #2.
4) Regarding #3, doesn't matter if the window is floating or docked.

Thanks!
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 06:20 AM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Thanks, try 5.95rc2 now.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 06:26 AM   #13
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,879
Default

So far so good!
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.