Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2016, 07:51 AM   #81
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vala View Post
trying V5 right now and this doesn't seem implemented yet... am I missing something?
I really do hope the developers will consider this one.

It's very frustrating.

Maybe it's too hard to implement, I don't know.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 06:26 PM   #82
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default



End of summer 2016 bump.

Please devs.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 08:29 PM   #83
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Winter 2017 bump for optional time selection to snap to item's edge while dragging the mouse to make the selection.

Like in the post above.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 11:36 PM   #84
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

For now, ins't it an idea to just use the Action : "Time Selection - set time selection to items" , attached to a keyboard shortcut ?

Seems to me way faster ..0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 04:27 PM   #85
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
For now, ins't it an idea to just use the Action : "Time Selection - set time selection to items" , attached to a keyboard shortcut ?

Seems to me way faster ..0)
Yes I understand that.

Here's the thing,
This only works for selected items.

If I have a multitrack project with many tracks, and want to get from point A to B, a quick mouse sweep across the ruler to make a time selection would snap the loop points to any items start and ends of choice, regardless if items are selected or not.

It's a simple request.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 01:53 AM   #86
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

I hear ya.. but check this out:
2 custom actions, that will set time selection around 2 items you hoover over with mouse.
Keybind the 2 actions to 2 computer keys lying next to eachother, for example "1" and "2" (for workflow ease).

Here we go:
Custom action , bind to "1":

- select item under mouse cursor
- move cursor to start of items
- time selection: set startpoint
- Item: unselect all items (this is optional)

Custom action, bind to "2":

- select item under mouse cursor
- move cursor to end of items
- time selection: set end point
- Item: unselect all items (this is optional)

Workflow:

-Hoover your mouse over the item, for which you want to set start of time selection
- Hit "1"
-Hoover your mouse over the item, for which you want to set end of time selection
- Hit "2"

Presto !
I swear this method is faster than having to drag time selection in ruler,
especially if the time selection you wanna make is quite large, so that it needs much dragging in ruler.

I always finding ways to "overcome" mouse dragging, cause mouse dragging
is on of the most cumbersome and time consuming aspects in software imho.

Hope this is useful to you !
Warm regards.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 09:48 AM   #87
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

@vanhaze,

I really do appreciate your long and detailed reply.
Thanks for taking the time to do that.

I've been through every macro and custom script that I could possibly use for this. I even wrote an extension, and that is what I currently use now.

So I know the work arounds.

There is just certain situations where I prefer to use the mouse.

I don't see how having this feature as an option would affect anyone that didn't want it.

It had alot of votes in the tracker, and was an elevated request.

It's a very basic editing feature.

Please Devs.

Thanks, Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 01:49 PM   #88
klater
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
Default

bump 2017
klater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 04:58 PM   #89
azzimov
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Is "snap to items" while adjusting selection was implemented already ?
azzimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 01:39 PM   #90
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azzimov View Post
Is "snap to items" while adjusting selection was implemented already ?
No, not yet.

Please devs, can you guys fix this?
I already know the actions and keyboard shortcuts for this, but most of the time I'm in a situation that requires the use of the mouse.

Here it is again for demo purposes.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 02:11 PM   #91
azzimov
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

11 years of requests.. Meet me in "can't believers" club.
azzimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 03:27 PM   #92
echoblaster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 64
Default

Almost 8 years I've been subscribed to this thread hoping it will come eventually. It's a feature I'm continuously wishing was there.
echoblaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 04:20 PM   #93
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 635
Default

It is indeed really strange that item edges can snap to "stuff", but "stuff" cannot snap to item edges.
Seems easy to implement!
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 02:17 AM   #94
azzimov
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Is there a way we can support this feature request ?
I can see the page @WyattRice created, but it gives me error message when i trying to subscribe or vote for feature.
azzimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 10:53 AM   #95
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Yeah, the issue tracker was deprecated, and no longer works.
It's there for historical reasons.

I guess the only hope is if they see this thread.

So, here's my 2018 bump.

Bump!
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 04:02 AM   #96
Shbata
Human being with feelings
 
Shbata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Another vote for this.
Although, there are solutions throughout actions, but by mouse it would be much more convenient.
Shbata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 07:15 PM   #97
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

January 2019 Bump!
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 01:44 PM   #98
Siber1an
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Krasnodar, Russia
Posts: 34
Default

Hey developers! You are true geniuses, we know that! Please add this nice feature in next update, we waiting something like this many years! Thanks
Siber1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 07:33 PM   #99
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Bump for Version 6, please.

I'd pay extra for this edit feature.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:41 PM   #100
Neutron
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 8
Default Snap cursor, marker, time selection to item

I agree with you, @WyattRice. I often need to use my mouse to draw a time selection that snaps to one or more item edges. Cubase does this, and it's very convenient. Cubase also let's you snap a time selection to zero crossings in an audio item. That too is very convenient.

Unfortunately, software developers in general tend to focus on new features that are glamorous, while neglecting basic functionality. But good basic functionality allows more efficient editing, which saves time. And time is money.

I'm just evaluating Reaper, but having discovered this lack of basic functionality, I feel more inclined to stay with Cubase at this point.

Too bad the Reaper developers have ignored your request for so long.

Last edited by Neutron; 03-25-2019 at 09:07 AM. Reason: clarity
Neutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 03:35 PM   #101
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Also mentioned here today.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=218957

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
It would be really neat if you could snap the end or start of time selection to item ends just by hovering the mouse near them.

Just like item ends snap to the time selection ends, which is already a feature.

WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 03:20 PM   #102
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Sorry to bump this again.
Reaper was kinda based on Vegas in the early days.

Here's an example of Vegas time selection snapping to items ends with a simple mouse drag.
Also notice the color lines when it's snapped. Pretty cool.



Please Devs.
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 03:01 AM   #103
grobsen
Human being with feelings
 
grobsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: La Düsseldorf
Posts: 21
Default

+1

it's actually pretty weird that REAPER cannot do this. Also I am wondering why I never noticed it ^^.
grobsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 03:32 AM   #104
HDWind
Human being with feelings
 
HDWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
Default

+1 for this
HDWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 01:53 PM   #105
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 635
Default

Bump for this!
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 10:25 AM   #106
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,896
Default

Time selection to media items is coming soon!
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=220266

Thank you devs!

Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.