Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Video Editing/Mangling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2019, 01:29 AM   #1
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 624
Default Is it possible to do parameter modulation with the video processor?

Hi I've been trying to use parameter modulation with the video processor (with the 'RGB decompose' preset).

Is it at all possible to do paramod on the videoprocessor?

I'm trying to link one of the offsets (say green x offset) to a snare track, but am having trouble to achieve the desired effect (a rythmic change of the offset).

Any help appreciated!

Thank you.
-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
__________________
Windows 10x64 | Asus Z170-a i7, 32GB ram | RME-Digiface USB
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 03:31 AM   #2
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 869
Default

Yes, you can modulate any of the parameters on the left side of the window, just like any other parameter in Reaper. Click on one of them and then click Param > Show track envelope. If you are missing any parameters you can even program them in yourself.

It is now also possible for the video processor to use the audio of a given track as a parameter, using the "JS video sample peeker" effect.
You then have to use one of the video processor presets called "Decorative" to see how it works.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 10:25 AM   #3
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 624
Default

Great, thanks!

Then I just need to find the right settings for the effect i want

Thanks again.

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
__________________
Windows 10x64 | Asus Z170-a i7, 32GB ram | RME-Digiface USB
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 03:09 PM   #4
Denys
Human being with feelings
 
Denys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Qc
Posts: 211
Smile

Yes and it is amazing with a LFO synchronized to the audio!


With a few more procedural effects, I would definitely use Reaper for live visuals.
Denys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 08:47 AM   #5
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 869
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denys View Post
With a few more procedural effects, I would definitely use Reaper for live visuals.
Check out the presets called "Decorative" in the video processor. Could be used for live visuals, although it's not terribly sophisticated yet.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 10:55 AM   #6
Gminorscale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 15
Default Laggin

Just found this thread by accident

I tried it out and it works pretty good, but the video is behind, like up to 1 second. Any idea why? So it's hard to do some real time parameters with the video when it's out of sync
Gminorscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 05:07 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,357
Default

You can use LFO but not ACS, because video and audio are processed completely asychnronous from one another.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 03:24 PM   #8
profquad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks Justin! I noticed that and was wondering why. Used to love playing with the visualizations in winamp, just learned like two days ago that was your baby too. Thank you for keeping it real!
I'm not really a programmer (just started learning EEL), but isn't there some way to call on gmem from video peeker to softwire some parameter changes?
profquad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2020, 08:15 PM   #9
deseipel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 26
Default

I've been trying to use video processor to react to simple MIDI notes and the results haven't been promising.
deseipel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2020, 01:38 PM   #10
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,906
Default

I have found, at least in one project, that actual parameter modulation causes flickers in the rendered output. I had actually hacked my way into the video processor's PM by automating another plugin based on the input audio and then linking that to the VP parameter. It "worked" but flickered. I then wrote the parameter to an envelope while playing back with the PM running, and it later followed that envelope smoothly and without flickers.



For some things, we do have the video peeker plugin. Not too many presets really do anything with it, but it is there, seems to run smoothly when properly handled, and can be pretty fun to mess with. That's not to say fun to code...
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.