Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2019, 10:17 AM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,167
Default API: take audio accessor returns 0.0 for mono item + Chan mode: mono (left) (FIXED)

edit:
Fixed (v5.986rc1)

===

In the licecap I have two mono items with a DC offset (for testing purpose).
First one is set to Channel mode: normal, second one is set to Channel mode: Mono (left).

I then read out the sample values with a script.

As can be seen, for the second item the sample values are 0.0.
I assume it should rather give the actual sample values in this case, because when playing a mono item with Channel mode set to Mono (left) there is sound and not silence, or?

licecap

Last edited by nofish; 11-18-2019 at 01:46 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:57 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,167
Default

bump

This results in wrong Loudness values in SWS when analyzing a mono item which user has set to channel mode: Mono (Left) (which admittedly doesn't seem to make much sense but did happen).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:14 AM   #3
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,878
Default

The issue is GetAudioAccessorSamples doesn't write any samples to the output buffer when processing mono takes with the channel mode set to either Mono Left or Mono Right. Yet it still returns 1 as usual.

As observed with the test script for this other take audio accessor bug: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226151.

It would be useful to have GetAudioAccessorSamples return how many samples it actually wrote to the buffer.

Last edited by cfillion; 11-17-2019 at 08:14 AM.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 09:03 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,560
Default

Fixing, thanks! As a workaround for old versions you can always read stereo data for mono items and just look at the first channel...
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.