Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2019, 10:49 PM   #1
jackmilas
Human being with feelings
 
jackmilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wroclaw
Posts: 58
Default Buggy RPP session that makes Reaper slow and crashes when closing (FIXED)

Buggy RPP session that makes Reaper slow and crashes when closing.
Could anyone identify the problem?
Why the session file is this big in size? (36MB)
https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...zH3pCAQXUelFVX
__________________
Former Pro Tools HD user.
Now having more fun, being faster and more productive in Reaper!
5dBRide.com
jackmilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 10:54 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,585
Default

Now that's a weird project file for sure (you can open .rpp files with a text editor btw., they're 'human readable', kind of an XML format.).
It contains identical 'MARKER' lines several thousand times.
That's (mainly?) why it's so big.



Any idea how that could've happened, using a script that deals with markers / regions by chance?

I've deleted (only) all MARKER lines in the project file which reduces size to ~ 1MB.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fgah31va7v...ipped.RPP?dl=1

Last edited by nofish; 03-18-2019 at 11:02 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 11:55 AM   #3
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 562
Default

I have replicated this bug with an empty project and just one marker.

The marker type 8 in your screenshot isn't valid.

Reaper seems to notice it, think it is a region (which needs an ending marker which is missing), then tries to correct the situation by adding yet another marker to signify the end of a region. But type 1 is a region, not 8. So as you edit the project the marker keeps self replicating!

To create a test project, just create an empty project, add one marker, then edit the RPP so the type of the marker is 8 (type is after the marker name field).
__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 07:59 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,963
Default

Thanks, fixing!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 08:52 AM   #5
jkuk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Default

I seemed to have the same issue, but it was only occurring if you undo/redo something:

Here are the steps to replicate it:

1) Within the Marker Window, select a marker. It becomes highlighted a dark blue-ish.

2) Click anywhere on the timeline. The marker is now highlighted a light grey/white, an important aspect of this issue.

3) Create either a marker or a region. The previously selected marker is still highlighted a light color.

4) Ctrl + z to undo.

5) One marker is undone, but the selected marker is duplicated. --- 2 markers

6) Click elsewhere in the timeline and create another marker.

7) Ctrl + z to undo.

8) More markers --- 4 markers.

9) Make an edit to a file

10) Ctrl + z to undo….. oh wait, you want to hear that edit again. Ctrl + Shift + z to redo.

11) More markers --- 8 markers.
jkuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:48 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,963
Default

Ah thanks, this should all be fixed in 5.974 (and in 5.974rc1 which is available via the pre-release forum).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.