Old 08-26-2019, 05:13 AM   #1
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default 5.982 Crash when creating subprpject (FIXED)

Win 10 event log:
Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.9.8.2, time stamp: 0x5d57dd80
Faulting module name: reaper.exe, version: 5.9.8.2, time stamp: 0x5d57dd80
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000000498df4
Faulting process id: 0x2438
Faulting application start time: 0x01d55c06b4fdb415
Faulting application path: D:\Reaper\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: D:\Reaper\reaper.exe
Report Id: c7879ea5-8a1e-42d0-ac7d-3d3434716b75
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Does this help?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 05:58 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,481
Default

Got any steps to reproduce? Can you make a dump file?

Last edited by Justin; 08-26-2019 at 06:07 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 06:48 AM   #3
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

I can send you the rpp.
How do i make a dump again?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 07:32 AM   #4
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Here is the rpp for now!

The strange thing is that I could create about four subprojects but after that it crashes every single time.

(edit, too big to attach. sent to support at cockos)

/M
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com

Last edited by mlprod; 08-26-2019 at 08:00 AM.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 07:21 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,481
Default

To do a dump, when it crashes, go to the task manager, right click REAPER and choose "make dump file" or whatever it is called...

Any steps to reproduce with that project?

I suspect it might be some audio driver related thing; can you reproduce if using WaveOut rather than ASIO?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 12:25 AM   #6
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
To do a dump, when it crashes, go to the task manager, right click REAPER and choose "make dump file" or whatever it is called...

Any steps to reproduce with that project?

I suspect it might be some audio driver related thing; can you reproduce if using WaveOut rather than ASIO?
Ok, I sent the DMP file to support your mail via Wetransfer now.
And, you are indeed right, when I switch to Waveout I dont get those crashes.

Win 10 x64 (1809)
RME HDSPe MADI FX

Steps to reproduce for me is simply to try and create a subproject via Insert/Insert new subproject.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:26 AM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Ok, I sent the DMP file to support your mail via Wetransfer now.
And, you are indeed right, when I switch to Waveout I dont get those crashes.

Win 10 x64 (1809)
RME HDSPe MADI FX

Steps to reproduce for me is simply to try and create a subproject via Insert/Insert new subproject.
Hmm, I need the dump file after it has crashed (and before you have closed the has-crashed window) -- this dump file appears to be pre-crash?

Also the ASIO driver appears to be mutec USB audio as opposed to RME...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:41 AM   #8
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm, I need the dump file after it has crashed (and before you have closed the has-crashed window) -- this dump file appears to be pre-crash?

Also the ASIO driver appears to be mutec USB audio as opposed to RME...
Sorry I did a dump of my second reaper instance!

Anyway, I tried again now, and there is no way to make a crash dump post crash since it really crashes and immediately disappears from task manager.
Any ideas?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 06:22 AM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,901
Default

Use procdump to create a dump when it crashes with the following command:

procdump -e reaper.exe

If for some reason Justin needs a full dump (very likely he doesn't), use this command which creates much larger dump:

procdump -e -ma reaper.exe
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 04:09 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,481
Default

Thanks karbo! Also: if you zip the .dmp file it will be quite a bit smaller to upload...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:40 AM   #11
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Thanks karbo! Also: if you zip the .dmp file it will be quite a bit smaller to upload...
Hey thanks Karbo. Tried this now, but Procdump says there is no reaper process to make a dump of. So same problem really.

It happens during the render of the new subproject, if I turn off the automatic render then I dont get a crash, just an offline .rpp.

//M
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:46 AM   #12
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,901
Default

You run the command while reaper is running and *before* you do whatever you do that causes the crash. Procdump will see the crash and grab the dump automatically. It will also place the .dmp file in the same directory procdump is running in FYI.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 04:09 AM   #13
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Ahh perfect thanks!

Justin, crash dumpfile sent to you now.

While I havent had time to test a lot, it seems like the crashes only occur when the subproject being created is over a certain length.

/m
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 05:29 AM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,481
Default

Got it. Try 5.983rc3 with a fix.

Also: You might be able to prevent this crash by either a) turning on "ignore ASIO reset messages", or by changing the render blocksize in prefs/rendering from 1024 to blank. Having said that, don't do either of those things, leave it alone, and try 5.983rc3.

Last edited by Justin; 08-28-2019 at 06:09 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 12:40 AM   #15
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Got it. Try 5.983rc3 with a fix.

Also: You might be able to prevent this crash by either a) turning on "ignore ASIO reset messages", or by changing the render blocksize in prefs/rendering from 1024 to blank. Having said that, don't do either of those things, leave it alone, and try 5.983rc3.
Fix confirmed, thanks!

Btw, I did have the render block size blank, but not the that Asio option ticked.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.