Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2019, 11:36 AM   #1
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default Bug? Copy of an external Midi file won't edit correctly

Steps to reproduce:
  1. Import an external .MIDI file onto track
  2. Ctrl+Drag that media item to another track so that there are two instances
  3. Open up second instance in MIDI Editor
  4. Attempt to draw some notes

Result: The lengths of the new notes are defaulting into a minuscule length and not taking drag-lengths from the mouse.

It also doesn't matter which copy of the imported midi file is edited: after multiple instances are in place, this seems to happen upon any instance.

Has anyone else experienced this, or can this be done fine by anyone without such behavior? Maybe there's a setting that needs to be changed for this to work properly? Otherwise this appears to be an error in the way Reaper is handling multiple instances of the same external midi file and should be reported after verification.

Here's a quick proof of what happens with click-dragging in the MIDI-Editor:

Last edited by worldwideweary; 11-12-2019 at 11:53 AM.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 01:21 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,367
Default

Thanks for the report, fixing for the next build.

That bug dates from 2011!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 05:04 PM   #3
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Thanks for the report, fixing for the next build.

That bug dates from 2011!
Nice.
Slightly interested as to how it's known that a bug is from a certain era? Either way, good luck with the fix.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 07:48 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,367
Default

In general, we try to figure out where a bug came from by either looking at the code repository log (blame), or by testing old versions until we find the last version that worked correctly (bisect). This bug is pretty special in that it's very old, clearly describable, and so obviously wrong that it's amazing it hasn't been reported before. (It's not the default behavior to import .mid files as file references, so I guess it's less common than I would have thought.)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 08:37 PM   #5
worldwideweary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
In general, we try to figure out where a bug came from by either looking at the code repository log (blame), or by testing old versions until we find the last version that worked correctly (bisect). This bug is pretty special in that it's very old, clearly describable, and so obviously wrong that it's amazing it hasn't been reported before. (It's not the default behavior to import .mid files as file references, so I guess it's less common than I would have thought.)
Okay, thanks for the information.

And although working with external .midi files might be rare, it's most definitely worth keeping and upgrading if need be. Many softwares don't seem to have this functionality for some reason.

Last edited by worldwideweary; 11-12-2019 at 09:20 PM.
worldwideweary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.