Old 11-20-2019, 06:25 PM   #1
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default Metronome Beat Pattern Bug (FIXED)

Hi there,

I'm finding it impossible to get a 5/4 click to play back. Somehow, every time I go into the Beat Pattern menu... something gets messed up and beats get skipped. It seems as if it's adding a spaces and I can't get rid of them... and spaced mean an omitted click (which is very cool if it was consistent).

I tried to clear out all the preset in the reaper.ini so that it looks like this:

Code:
[recentmetropat]
cnt=9
i0=ABBB
i1=AAAA
i2=AAAA
i3=ABBB
i4=ABBB
i5=ABBB
i6=AAAA
i7=AAAA
i8=AAAA
However... it eventually ends up being SOMETHING like this (with the "_" being a space):

Code:
[recentmetropat]
cnt=9
i0=ABBB____
i1=AAAA
i2=AAAA_
i3=ABBB_B
i4=ABBB________B
i5=ABBB_B
i6=AAAA
i7=AAAA
i8=AAAA
No matter what I do, I can't get it to be have predictably. I have a big orchestral project coming up with lots of odd meters and I need the click to be 100%.

There are a lot of 4/4, 5/4, 4/4, 5/4 etc...

Can this be addressed... or is there a workaround in the meantime?

I did check this thread and the trick of changing the tempo doesn't work:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....93#post1684793


Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

Andrew K
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 07:18 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,377
Default

I don't know what is causing the randomness you are experiencing, but if all you want is a regular metronome in whatever time signature, you don't need to set a custom metronome pattern. Through any time signature changes, without setting a pattern, you should always get ABBB...
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 07:47 PM   #3
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I don't know what is causing the randomness you are experiencing, but if all you want is a regular metronome in whatever time signature, you don't need to set a custom metronome pattern. Through any time signature changes, without setting a pattern, you should always get ABBB...
Thanks schwa, maybe a newbie question.... how do I NOT have a preset chosen? Or, in other words, how do I force it stay on ABBB?

Thanks.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 11:29 AM   #4
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default

Hi schwa (or anyone else that can help)

Here is a minimal project that exhibits the issue. I've tried it on my laptop from an different Portable Install. Just start playing from the left time selection.

Is there any way to see if this project is corrupt or how to get the 5th beat of click of the 5/4 to play back?

Repro Project for 5/4 click bug

Thanks.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB

Last edited by Thonex; 11-21-2019 at 11:40 AM.
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 11:51 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,377
Default

Thanks for the project! This is a bug that we'll fix for the next build, but as a workaround, you can go to File > Project Settings and set the project baseline time signature to 5/4, and everything should work. It should also work to edit the 5/4 time signature markers themselves, and set a 5-beat metronome pattern there.

Last edited by schwa; 11-21-2019 at 12:37 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 12:26 PM   #6
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Thanks for the project! This is a bug that we'll fix for the next build, but as a workaround, you can go to File > Project Settings and set the project baseline time signature to 5/4, and everything should work.
As usual, you and your team are AWESOME!!!

Thanks a million.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 03:12 PM   #7
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default

OK... I tried changing the File > Project Settings and set the project baseline time signature to 5/4 but that had no effect.

Will the fix be pushed on a pre-release, or will I have to wait for an official "next build" (or maybe that's the same thing?)?

Thanks.

Cheers,

Andrew K
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 03:16 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
OK... I tried changing the File > Project Settings and set the project baseline time signature to 5/4 but that had no effect.
Making that change should allow you to then enter ABBBB as a projectwide beat pattern, and the pattern should then be saved properly. It will play back as ABBB during 4/4 passages and ABBBB during 5/4 passages.

The specific bug is that if the project time signature is X/Y -- regardless of the time signature changes in the project -- and the user enters a custom project beat pattern with more than X beats, only X of those beats will be saved.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 03:41 PM   #9
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Making that change should allow you to then enter ABBBB as a projectwide beat pattern, and the pattern should then be saved properly. It will play back as ABBB during 4/4 passages and ABBBB during 5/4 passages.

Ahhh.... that's the piece I was missing.

Thanks so much for taking the time to explain it. I was in a little bit of a pickle!

Thanks again.

Cheers,

Andrew K
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.