Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2020, 08:12 AM   #1
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default Moving by beat is inconsistent in some projects when BPM is lower than 118 (FIXED)

Hi,

This one seems to be reproducible on Reaper 6.04 for Windows. Haven't had chance to test Mac yet.

Reproduction steps:

1. Download and open the attached example project, or grab it from https://www.dropbox.com/s/sbsz5wcayj...20118.rpp?dl=1

2. Use the jump dialogue to move to bar 8, beat 2.

3. Run the action "Move edit cursor to start of current measure".

4. Now try moving the edit cursor forward and backward in beats using the actions "Move edit cursor forward one beat" and "Move edit cursor back one beat". Notice how some beats get skipped in a couple of bars either side of bar 8? That's the bug.

5. Now go to Project Settings, change the project BPM to anything higher than 118, and repeat steps 2, 3 and 4. The BPM having been changed, you should find that no beats get skipped.

I can't get it to happen in any of the projects I'm creating here irrespective of their tempo, but it's been flagged by a couple of users that I support. I'm guessing it's something that's been saved as part of their default templates that's causing it, but I'm clueless about what that might be. Either way, seems like a behaviour that probably shouldn't be happening irrespective of what settings are being used.

Any thoughts welcome.

Cheers,

Scott
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 08:40 AM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default

Strange, but true


It does it even in fresh newly created project.
(when go to 8.2.00) then:

"Move edit cursor forward one beat"
- at 120BPM it is OK (at least that testing measure region)
- at 117BMP it jumps to 8.3.00, 8.4.00, 9.2.00, ... (see 9.1.00 missing!)

"Move edit cursor forward one measure"
- at 120BPM it is OK (at least that testing measure region)
- at 117BMP it is OK too (jumps to 9.2.00, 10.2.00, 11.2.00, ...)

"Move edit cursor to start of next measure"
- at 120BPM it is OK (at least that testing measure region)
- at 117BMP it is OK too (jumps to 9.1.00, 10.1.00, 11.1.00, ...)


(v6.0 32bit, WinXP here)

EDIT:
The same bug is in v5.79 and v5.981+dev0812 (all 32bit).

On the other hand "Move edit cursor forward one measure" and "Move edit cursor to start of next measure" are working fine in all the versions mentioned here...

Last edited by akademie; 02-24-2020 at 09:05 AM. Reason: adding other option
akademie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:00 AM   #3
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default

It happens in new projects on some systems yeah, but not all. It's never once happened in projects created using either of the computers I have here, for example.

The really nuts thing is that different beats seem to get skipped on different systems. I haven't been able to get even remotely close to understanding what's gonna happen on which computers yet.
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:31 AM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default

Devs should take a look at this issue.
akademie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 09:39 AM   #5
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Devs should take a look at this issue.
I has faith
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 02:49 PM   #6
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,111
Default

Seems to be fixed in v6.04+dev0224.
Quick test passed OK here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.04+dev0224 - February 24 2020
+ Navigation: fix actions to move forward/back one beat with certain tempos [t=231969]
akademie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 03:54 PM   #7
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Seems to be fixed in v6.04+dev0224.
Quick test passed OK here.
Thanks for the heads up man - those dev threads move too fast for me!

Spent a few mins throwing frankly ridiculous BPMs around. It's solid as a rock.

Hurrah!
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.