Old 03-10-2020, 07:13 PM   #1
Shredhead
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Default Copying regions (DONE)

Hello,

Iím hoping to find a way to copy regions in reaper. I have successfully been using Color coded regions to label the song sections, but I canít figure out how to copy and paste them to quickly duplicate song sections. Everything Iíve found so far copies the items as well, and I donít want to do this because Iím trying to label a song that has al the audio recorded already.
Shredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 06:30 AM   #2
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

From page 155 of the REAPER User Guide:

To move a region without moving its contents -> Alt left drag with mouse.


EDIT: Oops, sorry, I see you wanted to copy and not just move the regions without their content. I think in that case it looks like it's not currently possible (at least not without a script). I agree it should be though - it would be good to have the option of just being able to use something like Ctrl+Alt+LMD to copy regions without moving contents.

Last edited by Xasman; 03-11-2020 at 06:57 AM.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:17 AM   #3
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shredhead View Post
Hello,

Iím hoping to find a way to copy regions in reaper. I have successfully been using Color coded regions to label the song sections, but I canít figure out how to copy and paste them to quickly duplicate song sections. Everything Iíve found so far copies the items as well, and I donít want to do this because Iím trying to label a song that has al the audio recorded already.
Just alt (option) dragging the region or do I misunderstand something here??
o_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:23 AM   #4
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o_e View Post
Just alt (option) dragging the region or do I misunderstand something here??
Yeah, he wants to copy multiple regions without their contents - Alt+LMD moves them without their contents but doesn't copy them.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:31 AM   #5
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

There's a somewhat convoluted workaround here which may help a bit.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:32 AM   #6
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 589
Default

You'll find mouse-preferences for the mouse-drag
of regions:

-- move region only
-- move region with moving items
-- copy region only
-- copy region with copying items

Go to the --> "preferences" + choose what you need.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:39 AM   #7
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,827
Default

I always find it easier to work with items and then there are several scripts to convert items to regions
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:44 AM   #8
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
You'll find mouse-preferences for the mouse-drag
of regions:

-- move region only
-- move region with moving items
-- copy region only
-- copy region with copying items

Go to the --> "preferences" + choose what you need.
No, look again - the only options there are:

No Action
Move contents of project region
Move contents of project region ignoring snap
Copy contents of project region
Copy contents of project region ignoring snap
Move project region but not contents
Move project region but not contents ignoring snap

There's definitely no "--copy region only" option.

What's really needed there are these two logical additional options:

Copy project region but not contents
Copy project region but not contents ignoring snap
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 07:48 AM   #9
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 589
Default

@Xasman: Really?

Sure enough - then it is missing!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 08:29 AM   #10
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
@Xasman: Really?

Sure enough - then it is missing!
Yes, I'm surprised those two options are missing as well because it seems so logical that they should exist.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 10:04 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,792
Default

Yep they should exist! Coming in a future build soon!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 12:55 PM   #12
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yep they should exist! Coming in a future build soon!
Thanks Justin - that's great...and thanks too to Shredhead for drawing attention to the issue!
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 06:15 PM   #13
Shredhead
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Default Grateful

Thanks to everyone who replied. This forum truly is a magical thing!!
Shredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 02:00 AM   #14
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 372
Default

You can Ctrl+drag a region to copy it (with items) beyond the end of song, then (custom action) select all items in the region (or time selection, dbl-click on region header), and delete the duplicates. You can now Alt+drag the region where you want.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 04:11 AM   #15
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default IMPLEMENTED!

Implemented in the latest pre-release: v6.05+dev0312 - March 12 2020

Last edited by Xasman; 03-13-2020 at 05:26 AM.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 04:49 AM   #16
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xasman View Post
Fixed in the latest pre-release: v6.05+dev0312 - March 12 2020
Not fixed, but implemented. It's not the same man.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 05:27 AM   #17
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Not fixed, but implemented. It's not the same man.
OK then...fixed!
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 05:31 AM   #18
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xasman View Post
OK...fixed!
Only the bug can be fixed. If there is no something to fix, then it is not a bug.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 05:54 AM   #19
Xasman
Human being with feelings
 
Xasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 332
Default

Yes, I know. I meant I'd fixed my last post.
Xasman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 06:08 AM   #20
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xasman View Post
Yes, I know. I meant I'd fixed my last post.
Haha, sorry then
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.