Old 03-28-2020, 07:55 PM   #1
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,843
Default Corrupt MIDI export - repro attached (FIXED)

Hi. I recorded some MIDI from a Synthstrom Deluge. It plays fine in session.
When I export it as MIDI and re-import it into a session, the timing gets offset weirdly at one point.
There might be some dodgy MIDI events in the recorded MIDI at the point where it goes weird? But it shouldn't break the export.

To reproduce:

* Load attached RPP.
* Export MIDI from File menu, use default options.
* Insert MIDI in the 2nd (empty) track
* Navigate to the region marked "goes bad here" and compare tracks.

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: rpp 20200329 midi export debug.rpp (44.1 KB, 27 views)
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 04:52 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,834
Default

Are you exporting from the main project file menu, or the MIDI editor file menu?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 06:23 AM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,376
Default

I tried both methods of export here. The notes in both results look OK to me, but there is additional empty space at the front of the Export from the MIDI Editor.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 06:41 AM   #4
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Are you exporting from the main project file menu, or the MIDI editor file menu?
Main project file menu.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 06:45 AM   #5
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,843
Default

Windows 10 x64, latest website version of Reaper.
Buffer size 64. 44khz, ASIO, if that helps.
Just tested again, still doing it.
In the RPP attached to the initial post, exporting and then reimporting on next track, the original and imported MIDI go out of sync at 2:18.
In the original MIDI track, MIDI events 615 and 616 are ... weird. Empty? Right after that is where they go out of sync.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 06:47 AM   #6
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,843
Default

here's what i get after reimporting (attached)
Attached Files
File Type: rpp 20200329 midi export debug 2.rpp (84.0 KB, 19 views)
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 07:33 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,834
Default

Those two events at 615 and 616 are invalid MIDI, but REAPER should be able to advance past them properly when exporting. We'll fix this.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 01:23 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,834
Default

This should be fixed in the current prerelease build of REAPER:
https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 02:22 AM   #9
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,843
Default

Verified fixed - thanks so much!
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.