Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Do you want this feature in next update?
Yes! Very much needed 8 88.89%
No! Not good 1 11.11%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2020, 03:34 AM   #1
reveriedive
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 12
Default Mainly for songwriters - Display notation event over piano notes in piano roll (DONE)

For more details, please see the attached image.

Benefits :
- very good for songwriters who often write lyrics. And with this feature, they can directly write lyrics like shown in the attached image
- notation event is a very good thing. The text you write in notation event is sticked with the note itself, so when you move the note, your lyric word will move with it too.

Please vote and reply whether you want this feature or not.
Attached Images
File Type: png PLEASE SEE THIS.png (49.7 KB, 331 views)
reveriedive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 06:16 AM   #2
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,000
Default

I like your suggestion.

I would like to add another suggestion of mine, useful for composition analysis, or in more detail interval analysis, directly in the piano roll, see https://github.com/michaelsjackson/r...orums/issues/1
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 01:10 PM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,717
Default

Try the last pre-release. It should be there.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 03:46 PM   #4
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,000
Default

Yeah, it seems so but not my suggestion.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 04:30 PM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Yeah, it seems so but not my suggestion.
I wrote it to topicstarter.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 01:18 AM   #6
reveriedive
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 12
Default Feature added! Thank you Cockos :)

This feature is now implemented from version v6.08+dev0411. This is beta / pre-release version. If you don't want to install this non-stable version then just wait for the next main update, maybe 6.09 or something. I have tested this, working as expected just waiting for the next stable update.

EDIT (just being funny) - Soon, you will see this feature in other DAWs as well 😂
Attached Images
File Type: png THANK YOU COCKOS!.png (11.8 KB, 192 views)
reveriedive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 02:13 PM   #7
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

can't make the new feature to work
I enable show notation text on notes but nothing happens
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 02:38 AM   #8
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

Why can't I see the notation text on the midi notes?
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 04:29 AM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,696
Default

The notation text appears to be working as expected here. It looks like you have customized your menus, is there any chance that menu item maps to the wrong action?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 06:25 AM   #10
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The notation text appears to be working as expected here. It looks like you have customized your menus, is there any chance that menu item maps to the wrong action?
are you talking about the "show notation text on notes" ?
I didn't change it and I also tried to run it from the action window and still no text on notes...
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 06:27 AM   #11
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The notation text appears to be working as expected here. It looks like you have customized your menus, is there any chance that menu item maps to the wrong action?

I've downloaded the latest version to another computer, using the default settings and all..

still can't see names on notes

I probably miss something really basic here

__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 06:30 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,696
Default

Can you share a simple project and your reaper.ini file?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 11:02 AM   #13
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

attached simple project and reaper ini (of a new portable installation)
Attached Files
File Type: rpp simple.rpp (4.0 KB, 73 views)
File Type: ini reaper.ini (2.1 KB, 75 views)
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 12:01 PM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,696
Default

Ah... what gets displayed is per-note notation text, not text placed on the staff. Right-click a note in notation view and choose "text/custom".
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 12:12 PM   #15
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Ah... what gets displayed is per-note notation text, not text placed on the staff. Right-click a note in notation view and choose "text/custom".
lmao
me and my friend just couldn't figure this out. I knew that this must be a basic thing that I'm missing.

could you make it more friendly for the piano roll view mode?
maybe an action to add text to a note in the piano roll??
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 11:54 AM   #16
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,000
Default

What about note colors based on interval distance to previous note? Any news?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.