Old 05-08-2020, 02:10 PM   #1
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,047
Default reaper 6 misreading .ins files

Hi,
Just want to make sure it ain't me.

Reacontrolmidi is misreading my roland 1080 ins file. When I load it and look inside it just shows rythym sets.
I tried the same file in 5.99 it shows all the presets.

Anyone else?
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 03:52 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,010
Default

What version of REAPER is this? There were some related issues that were fixed in the 6.09 update.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 06:41 PM   #3
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,047
Default

Hi,

Thanks for responding Schwa..

Its v6.09+dev0503 - May 3 2020. I'm trying it as a portable install.
On win xpsp3.

Guido

Edit...I apologize for not keeping up with the v6 versions. I've now read about some updates to this very subject . will try release 6.09 tommorow.

Last edited by LugNut; 05-08-2020 at 07:20 PM.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 03:48 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,010
Default

6.09+dev0503 is later than 6.09 (the + means "after"). Can you post or link to the .ins file please?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 07:05 AM   #5
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,047
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/39099/Roland%20JV-1080.ins

Hi,

Thanks for looking into to this Schwa.

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 08:45 AM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,010
Default

Ah, confirmed. That file contains multiple entries that use the same bank and program combinations. When we added support for displaying program change names in the arrange view, we changed how .ins files were handled, so there can only be one entry displayed for a given bank/program combination.

How does the instrument know the difference between [Roland JV-1080 Performance] and [Roland JV-1080 Rhythm]? The MIDI is exactly the same, is there a physical switch on the device?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 09:30 AM   #7
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,047
Default

Hi,
Yes there is a switch to go to ..patch..performance...and rythym modes.
You can set the control midi Chanel for performance selection in the system section.

Say the global CH is 1. When in patch mode patches respond to that CH and respond to PC on ch 1. Then, when in performance mode, you can have another CH,say 16, to receive PC to switch between various performances.

When in perf mode, the 16 "parts" available can be set to various midi CH.
And each will respond to PC sent on their respective midi CH.

Sysex can also be used to switch between patch, perf and rythym mode.

I have other synths that also use this protocol.

You guys are awesome schwa!

Thanks,

Guido


Edit...dam, I see your asking about rythyms. Rhythm parts are part of performance mode and receive data on mifi CH 10.
Since ive always used an editor librarian, Sounddiver, I've never touched the front panel of my 1080, so thanks for making me look at it.:-)
I can capture what sysex commands sounddiver uses if nessacary.

Last edited by LugNut; 05-09-2020 at 09:52 AM.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 12:57 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,010
Default

A fix for this is in the current prerelease builds, if you'd care to try it out.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 03:54 PM   #9
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,047
Default

Hi,
Thank you so much! Tried it, works great!

Thanks Schwa!
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.