Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2020, 02:16 PM   #1
vtsaran
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 54
Default Accessibility: adding custom actions on Mac OS is impossible with screen reader

Reaper version: 6.11
Mac OS version: 10.15.4
Screen reader: VoiceOver

Steps to reproduce:
1. Launch VoiceOver via CMD+F5, Siri or CMD+OPTION+F5.
2. Open Reaper, press F4 to open the list of actions, tab to the "new" button for the "custom actions", press CTRL+OPTION+space bar on it to activate.
3. Tab to the first table with available actions and attempt to copy the action to the second table.

Observed results:
This is impossible to do with keyboard and a screen reader. For example, CMD+C and CMD+V for copying and pasting actions will not work.

Expected results:
Copy / paste shortcuts should be available to copy actions from the first to the second table.

Additional; notes:
A similar paradigm already exists in the "FX Chains" dialog where effects can be moved around by using CMD+X and CMD+V shortcuts.
__________________
--- --- ---
Visit me at https://www.youtube.com/vtsaran
vtsaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 09:05 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

I'll add some keyboard shortcuts, how about something like:
  • Cmd+Right - add to custom action
  • Delete/Backspace - remove from action
  • Cmd+Up/Down - move up/down

Sound reasonable?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:16 AM   #3
vtsaran
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I'll add some keyboard shortcuts, how about something like:
  • Cmd+Right - add to custom action
  • Delete/Backspace - remove from action
  • Cmd+Up/Down - move up/down

Sound reasonable?
I was originally thinking that CMD+C / CMD+V would be closer to the editing paradigm of Mac OS, but I think your proposal sounds like a better one. With CMD+RightArrow there will less moving between two tables in order to perform copy / paste.
In summary, the proposed list of shortcuts sounds good to me.

Thanks a lot!
__________________
--- --- ---
Visit me at https://www.youtube.com/vtsaran
vtsaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 06:03 AM   #4
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I'll add some keyboard shortcuts, how about something like:
  • Cmd+Right - add to custom action
  • Delete/Backspace - remove from action
  • Cmd+Up/Down - move up/down

Sound reasonable?
Cmd+Right isn't particularly intuitive. Could you wangle it so that hitting Enter/performing the default action on actions in the first table/list copies to the second (as double-clicking with the mouse currently does)?

This way, keyboard convention for both OSs is respected and there's pretty much no learning curve. It'll just work like you'd think it aught'a.

Cheers,

Scott
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:59 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

Hmm yes enter would be good.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:25 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

Latest +dev build (pre-release forum) has this, if you'd like to test.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 05:46 PM   #7
Scottsdale
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Latest +dev build (pre-release forum) has this, if you'd like to test.
How did you know that I'd like to test? I hardly flag anything here...

On Mac, it's like running a hot knife through butter. Smooooth. The only thing that could make this more intuitive is if the default action (CTRL+OPT+Space with VoiceOver running) moved actions into the second list. That's always the first thing most blinky Mac users will try.

Windows is a little tricksier. When moving actions in the second list with CTRL+Up, selection hovers between two actions. When moving actions down in the second list with CTRL+Down, action always falls to the bottom of the list. This is significantly less intuitive than the Mac behaviour where selection follows the action you're moving. Bit of a productivity hit too because in long action chains there's a lot of re-finding your place each time you tweak the order. A huge step forward nonetheless.

Lastly, a question. Could this moving goodness be applied anywhere else? I'm imagining being able to reorder things this way in the FX chain list and the presets combo box in the FX window. The thought is getting me quite excited...

Scott
Scottsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.