Old 06-17-2020, 07:01 PM   #1
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default Disk error?

has anyone seen this before? It's happened twice randomly recently, specifically doing a "save as".. Hard drives are good, and I am not finding any errors.

"error: one or more disk writes failed during project save! A disk could be failing or have become disconnected.

You may wish to try saving to a different disk before diagnosing the error"
Attached Images
File Type: png disc error.png (13.5 KB, 35 views)
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:12 PM   #2
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Does the "System" Log in Windows Event Viewer show any errors or warnings for disk? If there were errors that serious happening, there's a chance the OS logged it there. No guarantee but it's useful enough that I check it about once a month because if there are disk issues on the horizon, it often has early warning signs.

The error verbiage sort of reads like the OS told Reaper that the device was no longer there for a moment but I can't be sure.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:26 PM   #3
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Huh....a zillion of them in the system log. Starting on the 15th. On my C drive, supposedly. Most of them are errors, but today there are warnings as well.
Errors are "The default transaction resource manager on volume C: encountered a non-retryable error and could not start. The data contains the error code."

Warning reads "The default transaction resource manager on volume C: encountered an error while starting and its metadata was reset. The data contains the error code."
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:32 PM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Whats the "Source" of that error. In the list, each column has a name, what is listed under the Source column? And the EventID Number?
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:33 PM   #5
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Why is it doing this only when I do a "save as" in Reaper? I have never seen this message before besides Reaper related...happened years ago and mysteriously stopped.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:34 PM   #6
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Source is "Ntfs (Ntfs"
Event ID for error is 137, warning is 136
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:36 PM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

OK, that's the NTFS transaction log database - If you search for that error text you'll see some steps to fix. I'm not sure it's 100% related to the Reaper error but could be. Are there any other disk related errors other than those?
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:37 PM   #8
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

No others.... but there are over 79,000 since June 15th!
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:38 PM   #9
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

What error text am I searching for?
\
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:43 PM   #10
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...c-68b599b31bf5

I know little about the issue but I'd make sure you have your stuff backed up just as a precaution. Not 100% sure this is related to the reaper error but could be.


I can say those transaction logs are what allow the OS to fix corruption on the fly as they are backups of the real sectors (likely only recent writes), but here those transaction logs themselves are corrupt. Sounds dangerous so probably should be addressed unless is some false alarm I'm not aware of.

Of course if you are saving your project to something other than C:, that may remove reaper from the picture a littler further.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:45 PM   #11
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

So the error that I posted the screenshot of is generated by Reaper, or the OS?
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 07:46 PM   #12
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

The system log says it's on my C drive, which is OS and programs only for me. All of my audio is on a separate physical drive.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:00 PM   #13
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

this just happened to me a bunch of times today.

are you using a pre?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:47 PM   #14
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
this just happened to me a bunch of times today.

are you using a pre?
Yes!

I am going to install the latest stable and see what happens.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:47 PM   #15
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
this just happened to me a bunch of times today.

are you using a pre?
Same error code?
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:48 PM   #16
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
So the error that I posted the screenshot of is generated by Reaper, or the OS?
The error in the screen shot is from reaper, it reads as if Reaper got some type of bad news back from the OS while trying save the project.

The error we found in the system log may or may not be related to that, but I'd keep an eye on it because if it isn't a false alarm it's probably prudent to fix, whether it's related to Reaper or not. And they are filling up the Event log which we don't want.

Are both of you on the same build or some new pre? It sounds more like the disk wasn't happy but might as well start eliminating the obvious just in case it's reaper.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:49 PM   #17
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
The error in the screen shot is from reaper, Reaper got some type of bad news back from the OS while trying save the project.

The error we found in the system log may or may not be related to that, but I'd keep an eye on it because if it isn't a false alarm it's probably prudent to fix, whether it's related to Reaper or not.

Are both of you on the same build or some new pre? It sounds more like the disk wasn't happy but might as well start eliminating the obvious.
I followed the fix from the link you sent already. I am going to fire up Reaper right now and see.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:52 PM   #18
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

There is also a pretty clear instruction in the screenshot so you do need to see if you can save to a different disk platter and still repro:

"You may wish to try saving to a different disk before diagnosing the error"

__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:54 PM   #19
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
There is also a pretty clear instruction in the screenshot so you do need to see if you can save to a different disk platter and still repro:

"You may wish to try saving to a different disk before diagnosing the error"

Does this mean save the project file, the rpp? I can change it in preferences and do that,...but it didn't error every time, so....?
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:55 PM   #20
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

I have done a few "save as", so far no errors
.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:56 PM   #21
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Does this mean save the project file, the rpp? I can change it in preferences and do that,...but it didn't error every time, so....?
Yea, just Save As then browse to another disk drive and save there if there is another one to browse to. Yea, if it doesn't do it every time then you Save As to another drive, and just work with it there until... Guess it all depends on how often/predictable the repro is.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:56 PM   #22
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
There is also a pretty clear instruction in the screenshot so you do need to see if you can save to a different disk platter and still repro:

"You may wish to try saving to a different disk before diagnosing the error"

Um...I am a language nut (poet, editor, writer...)...
Those are not clear instructions to save to a different disk before diagnosing..."You may wish to try..."
I did not wish to try.

Next?

__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:57 PM   #23
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Yea, just Save As then browse to another disk drive and save there if there is another one to browse to.
I have 5 installed hard drives in this computer...ha ha. maybe someday I will upgrade to ssd's.....
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:58 PM   #24
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
I have done a few "save as", so far no errors
.
Fingers crossed but sometime those little varmints know we are looking and stop reproing.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 09:04 PM   #25
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Fingers crossed but sometime those little varmints know we are looking and stop reproing.
Did you see Jason Brian Merrill's post? Same issue since using a pre. Weird.

varmints indeed!
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 09:06 PM   #26
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Did you see Jason Brian Merrill's post? Same issue since using a pre. Weird.

varmints indeed!
Yea compare pre build numbers and he should confirm if he has those same errors or not in the windows system log.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 09:15 PM   #27
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Yea compare pre build numbers and he should confirm if he has those same errors or not in the windows system log.
Yup.
Thanks again for your expertise.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:22 AM   #28
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

I recently updated to 6.12 dev0617 so maybe we should take this to the pre forum?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:29 AM   #29
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

This is a new thing in 6.12+dev (as JBM noted), so I moved this to the pre-release forum.

Interesting, it's very likely that this error is being mis-reported (and you can ignore for now). Any steps to reproduce?

Edit: ah I think I see why it might be, hopefully fixing for the next build!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:30 AM   #30
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
I recently updated to 6.12 dev0617 so maybe we should take this to the pre forum?
We should.
For now I am using the last stable release, did the steps described in the Microsoft link Karbo posted, and am having zero problems.I will reinstall the pre as a portable and see if it happens again
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:32 AM   #31
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
This is a new thing in 6.12+dev (as JBM noted), so I moved this to the pre-release forum.

Interesting, it's possible that this error is being mis-reported. Any steps to reproduce?
im going to open the exact project I had, but I forgot exactly what dev I was on before, unless nothing changed in the last few. Def a 6.12 dev
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:54 AM   #32
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

I can't duplicate but I have a pretty good idea of what it probably is, today's +dev build should hopefully fix!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:59 AM   #33
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

just got it simply by leaving that project open
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:01 AM   #34
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

happened again by hitting save. Didn't happen on the other project.

no associated event viewer entry

well, there's some complaining about TLS and network stuff but that's all over the place
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:05 AM   #35
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

I only got the error when I did a "save as" with a new project name.
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:07 AM   #36
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
no associated event viewer entry
Possibly not the cause then, especially since Justin sees a potential root cause.
__________________
There are no problems, only solutions. - John Lennon
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:28 AM   #37
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

Try 6.12+dev0618 (just posted), hopefully this will fix it!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:50 AM   #38
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Try 6.12+dev0618 (just posted), hopefully this will fix it!
I just tried 1 few renaming "save-as" actions, no errors so far
__________________
The Sounds of the Hear and Now.
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 08:28 AM   #39
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 21,185
Default

no issues thus far. By now it would have happened 2 times
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.