Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2020, 03:26 PM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 8,199
Default Video Render Hang Forever (crash) if hardware/project samplerate mismatch (FIXED)

Hi,


v6.14, Winx64,



I finally found why my REAPER hang forever when rendering video (any format).
I tried different things (color space, video preference, with or without video processor etc) but this is where I end my bug hunting:



In fact, if there is a mismatch between Hardware samplerate (96000 in my case) and Project sample rate (it was 44100), rendering video will hang forever and you will have to kill the app manually.


It breaks everytime.


quick fix: just changing project sample rate to hardware 96000 (in my case)


(note: render was 48000)



Thanks for your support !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 08:42 AM   #2
SoundGuyChris
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 39
Default +1

Simply bumping this bug, I had the same issue and it was absolutely frustrating to deal with.

As soon as I changed the sample rate of my device, the issue disappeared.
SoundGuyChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 08:59 AM   #3
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hi folks,

Same problem here with reaper 6.21 up-to-date. I'm trying to render an MKV video from OBS.

As already mentioned, I encounter issues while rendering at a different sample rate in earlier reaper versions, but it doesn't seem to be the problem actually.

I have 2 track, a video track and an audio track. No additional plugins, I just edit some passages to be shorter.

render options :
-FFMPEG 4.2.2
-H 264 100%
-AAC 320kbps

I've also tried
-FFMPEG 4.2.2
-MKV
-MJPEG
-MP3

I've also make the try with lastest FFMPEG build (https://github.com/BtbN/FFmpeg-Builds/releases) and Reaper is still hanging

Last edited by daeavelwyn; 02-05-2021 at 09:06 AM.
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 10:02 AM   #4
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hi folks,

I've made futher tests and get a reproductible issue. If I use Time Selection to render AND make a time selection, it hangs.
If I use Time Selection BUT doesn't select anything, it works.

Here is a gif to illustrate : https://imgur.com/0ngVsVy
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 10:18 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Hmm, I can't duplicate this. What video decode mode is being used for the file in the project? If you remove all video items from the project (e.g. only use video processors, or have it be completely blank), does it still hang?

Can you provide a .rpp and reaper.ini and the exact versions of ffmpeg (and/or VLC) used?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 12:09 PM   #6
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hi Justin,

Here is a (almost) short video to show what's happening :
http://public.harann-university.org/...6_19-05-12.mkv

I can make render without items on my timeline so:
  • With an empty item in audio track and nothing in video track but the video processor (item fades and apply FX) => it hangs
  • Disabling video processor on video tracks => it works

Other stuff you asked :
Let me know if you want more tests/infos

regards
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Reaper-Render-Tests.rpp (5.5 KB, 110 views)
File Type: ini REAPER.ini (46.9 KB, 107 views)
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 03:14 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Thanks -- using your inis and REAPER x64 6.23 on Win10 everything works. I'm using probably a newer ffmpeg 4.3.1 from https://github.com/BtbN/FFmpeg-Builds/releases (58.91.100)... Maybe it's specific to the media in your project?

When it hangs, can you create a dump file? Go to task manager, right click reaper, "create dump image".. then zip and post that file somewhere, and email a link to support at cockos dot com? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 06:13 PM   #8
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hi Justin,

Arf, the weird thing is about the fact crashes happen randomly (or at least seem to be randomly...)

here are 2 dump files from 2 crashes. I've tried your FFMPEG version but it doesn't solve the problem : http://public.harann-university.org/Temp.zip

I also suspect an external program to cause the crash but I've tried to closed every programs I could close.

I just can figure why sometimes it crashes and sometimes not :-/

If you want me to make futher tests let me know

regards
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 06:51 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Thanks! I think if you remove the Sonarworks Reference VST it might work as a workaround.

Edit: should be fixed in the next pre-release build (tomorrow)!

Last edited by Justin; 02-06-2021 at 07:14 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 07:23 PM   #10
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default SOLVED

Woo...thanks so much it was that !! :-D

I'd never thought my monitor fx chain could be used in the render process.

How do you debug this ? Any special program you use to read dmp files ?

regards

Last edited by daeavelwyn; 02-06-2021 at 07:25 PM. Reason: SOLVED
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 09:57 PM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

You can load the .dmp files into MS Visual Studio and debug the process... and then find the deadlock, see what thread has what mutex locked, etc. It's our bug -- the mutex locking order of the video writer was causing the issue, but only if a certain notification was sent from the monitoring FX in the main thread (which sonarworks was sending)... anyway
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 03:21 AM   #12
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Ok, thanks for the detailed explanation, I will give a try to this method next time I will run into troubles with Reaper.
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 08:01 AM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

It's probably more useful for us than you (we have the debug info and stuff)...

Anyway the latest +dev build should fix the underlying issue if you'd like to test that!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 05:43 PM   #14
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hi Justin,

Another screencast and DMP file here : http://public.harann-university.org/...ender-isue.zip

So it "almost" works, but got in trouble with render audio to the finel mp4. Everything is showed in the video.

Thanks for investigating on my trouble
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 07:16 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

OK, so just to confirm:

- there is a brief "hang" but it comes back after 5-10 seconds? Is that what the .dmp file is? Does it still hang temporarily if you remove SonarWorks from your monitoring FX?

- you're not getting audio in your render? What version of ffmpeg are you using?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 04:49 PM   #16
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

Hello Justin,

Sorry for the late reply, I'm very buisy since a few days and make futher tests take some time.

So, I'm now using Reaper 6.23+dev0212

i'm using FFMPEG from this link : https://github.com/BtbN/FFmpeg-Build...gpl-shared.zip

Here are 2 dump files one with sonarwork ByPassed (it crashes) and on with sonarwork OFFLINE (it works)
http://public.harann-university.org/Reaper_DMP.7z

I still have no sound while exporting to mp4 when SonarkWork is OFFLINE.

I also join my *.rpp

I also notice this message from sonarwork : https://imgur.com/a/jzKXpey
Attached Files
File Type: rpp reaper-test-video-render.rpp (10.0 KB, 86 views)
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2021, 07:21 AM   #17
-nicolas-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Toulouse, France
Posts: 111
Default

Hello Justin,

would you please have a look to this thread, wich might be related ?
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=231154

It seems to me ETA infinity occurs less often with reaper623+dev0212_x86_64, but it is not completely solved. I have one of my test projects where its hangs for 20 seconds then renders normally. It might ne interesting for you to try GRMTools's dev' test plugin ? I am willing to test more if it helps.

Thank you.
Nicolas

Last edited by -nicolas-; 02-14-2021 at 08:05 AM.
-nicolas- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2021, 10:30 AM   #18
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default

and maybe related to this post too : https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=240721


I made another tried with Reaper 6.24rc3 and FFMPEg libs from :https://github.com/BtbN/FFmpeg-Build...21-02-20-12-31

and still have no sound while exporting to .mp4

Last edited by daeavelwyn; 02-20-2021 at 10:43 AM.
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 10:53 AM   #19
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 426
Default SOLVED

Hi folks,

Ok, so I'm now using Reaper 6.25 and ffmpeg 4.3.1 from this post : https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=243052

and it's now working... I don't know why but it works...if it can helps someone else...
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.