Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Video Editing/Mangling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2020, 03:44 PM   #1
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,721
Default Something is not right with how the video processor handles envelopes...

Something is not right with how the video processor handles envelopes.

Consider this scenario:
Two envelope points, one at the cursor and another at the next (right) snap point.

For audio, dragging the next envelope point up and down does not affect the audio. You can test this by putting the JS:Tone generator on a track and opening the envelope for the Fine tune parameter. Dragging the next envelope point up or down does not affect the tuning; as it should not.

With video, we are not so fortunate. Try the following: Put an image or video on a track. Put the Brightness/Contrast preset into the video processor on that track. Open the envelope for brightness, and add the two envelope points. Put the cursor on the first and observe the video output as you drag the second one up and down. The brightness at the first envelope point should not change when the second envelope point is dragged, but it does.

And this issue *is* important, since it makes it impossible to delicately adjust video constructs. In my current particular case, the Vignette preset draws unwanted artifacts to the right and to the bottom as the peephole is enveloped, and I cannot add fixes to erase those as the setting of the next envelope point ruins the fix at the previous envelope point.

(I tried to make a gif showing the problem, but neither LiceCap nor GifCam seem able to capture reaper's video window.)
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 12:19 PM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,721
Default

Is it just me, then...?

Since the enthusiasm for this strangeity seems low, I made the following video to illustrate what goes on. Strangely, none of the screen captures I have (LiceCap, GifCam, Irfanview) can grab what Reaper shows in the video window, so I had to record a movie with my phone. And of course it got all blurry and shaky and out of focus, but it still shows what goes on.



The cursor is at the first envelope point, and when I drag the second envelope point up and down, the cross hair moves. It should not. The cross hair should stay where it is, since the envelope point at the cursor remains fixed at 0.5.

Even if I move an envelope points six snaps away from the cursor, the cross hair moves, though not as much.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 01:34 PM   #3
bellerandre
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Default

Just a quick guess: is your envelope point set to something besides "linear"? Perhaps "slow start" or "bezier" of some sort?
bellerandre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 02:11 PM   #4
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bellerandre View Post
Just a quick guess: is your envelope point set to something besides "linear"? Perhaps "slow start" or "bezier" of some sort?
It maybe doesn't show clearly in the video, but it is set to linear.

But you are right. Changing the shape of the first envelope point changes how much the line moves in the video window when the second envelope point is moved. For Square shape it does not move at all, for Fast end it moves very little, for Fast start it moves a lot.

For Fast start, moving the second envelope point fully up, changes the position of the line as much as if I manually change xpos from 0.500 to 0.558. But, when the line is moved due to moving the second envelope point, the value of xpos in the video processor preset still shows 0.500. This is in itself an issue, I think.

But really, at the point where the cursor is positioned the envelope point should be fixed. No?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 06:11 PM   #5
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,607
Default

I can confirm this. My impression is that the knob in the video processor displays some kind of average value of the envelope over the next frame. (Not necessarily the simple mathematical average.) Similarly, when rendering the video itself, each frame seems to be processed with the average value of the envelope over the entire frame -- not with the starting envelope value.

Last edited by juliansader; 12-19-2020 at 06:26 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2020, 09:53 AM   #6
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,154
Default

Not at all related to the actual but, but you mentioned not being able to capture the video. I was trying to take screenshots of the video window the other day and they all came out black. Then I forced the project to use RGBA colorspace and it worked fine. Might be the same issue you were having?
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 09:32 PM   #7
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,548
Default

Is it possible the point you are moving is in the same video frame as the stationary point? Because that would make this behavior make sense.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2020, 11:33 AM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
Is it possible the point you are moving is in the same video frame as the stationary point? Because that would make this behavior make sense.
I think this is aimed at me, the OP, right?

No, even if I set the grid and snap to absolute frames I see the same behavior.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2020, 11:29 PM   #9
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
I think this is aimed at me, the OP, right?

No, even if I set the grid and snap to absolute frames I see the same behavior.

Ah, well... Just an idea.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 09:27 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,697
Default

The video processor takes the envelope value from the middle of the frame, so you'll find that the middle of the frame in question is well after the envelope point which is likely at the start of the frame.



Last edited by Justin; 01-04-2021 at 09:35 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 09:53 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,697
Default

Adding a project setting to evaluate automation at the start of frame vs end, too.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 10:11 AM   #12
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Adding a project setting to evaluate automation at the start of frame vs end, too.
Thanks, this will make it possible for people like me, who have distinct ideas about what is "correct", able to choose
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 04:11 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,697
Default

Oops I meant "middle" rather than "end."

The reason for this is that when determining whether a video item is to be processed, we use the middle of the video frame, because that makes it all more predictable. But for automation I can see the appeal of using the start.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.