Old 11-24-2020, 02:11 PM   #1
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
Default 6.16 can't create database

"Create new database..." -> enter a name -> press OK. Nothing seems to happen. No database is created in the media explorer.

Reaper 6.16, macOS 10.15.7
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 06:41 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Hmm can you make a .gif of your process here? E.g. using licecap ( https://www.cockos.com/licecap )? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:30 AM   #3
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
Default

I try it twice: once with a custom database name, once with the default provided name.

paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:44 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,102
Default

Is this a portable installation, or by any chance are there special characters in the resource path? You can run the action "show REAPER resource path in finder" to display the path.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:47 AM   #5
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
Default

not a portable install. resource path is "/Users/patmaddox/Library/Application Support/REAPER"
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:55 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Can you attach your reaper.ini? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 03:44 PM   #7
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
Default

https://pastebin.com/raw/enGEWE8c
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:19 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Thanks! Hmm...

Do you have an MediaDB directory in your resource path? Can you show us the output of this command from the terminal:
Code:
ls -lR /Users/patmaddox/Library/Application\ Support/REAPER/MediaDB
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 07:43 PM   #9
paat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 182
Default

I did have one! But it was a Finder alias... to something that is not there anymore. I deleted the alias, created a normal folder, and it all works fine.

Thank you for walking me through this.
paat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 09:08 PM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,196
Default

Thanks for catching this, we're updating it to explain that it failed to create the file (at least pointing the user in the right direction)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.