Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2021, 03:13 PM   #1
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,376
Default The Lyrics lua script doubles the entries on commit...

I just now tried out the lyrics.lua script that comes with Reaper, and stumbled on a strange thing. Whenever I commit the entered lyrics, the script doubles every entry so instead of having "I'm not a lone", I get after committing "I'm I'm not not a a lone lone".

And when I edit all those entries to remove the doubling and hit Commit, the entries double again. And if I hit edit and then commit, the doubled entries again get doubled!

This happens for the second part of the lyrics, not the first half.

In addition, but not a bug as such I guess, the script does not take the Project start measure setting into account. My projects start at measure 0, but the script starts at 1.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 12:51 PM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,376
Default

I left it yesterday hoping that this issue would resolve itself if I just let Reaper sleep over night, but now opening Reaper and the project, it still happens. Whenever I edit, the lyric items for the second half of the song double every time I edit and click commit. Currently I have this:


I don't think our singer will be very happy if I give him this to sing
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 01:02 PM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,376
Default

And I might have an idea of why this happens...

The doubling happens for a MIDI item that is looped and dragged out for several loops. The part where no doubling occurs, is not looped. It seems that the Lyrics.lua script gets confused when the MIDI is looped.

Correction, it seems that it is the MIDI editor that gets confused with text events in a looped MIDI item. I just now edited the text events to remove the quadruples, but just when I thought that they were gone, I now see that they are quadrupled.

So... the issue seems to be that the ME does not handle correctly text events for looped MIDI items.

Reaper v6.25 x64, W7x64
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 05:19 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,561
Default

The issue is actually with the action "Insert or extend MIDI items to fill time selection", which the script calls. By design, that action ignores looped MIDI items, so if there is a looped MIDI item in the time range where you're editing lyrics, that action ends up inserting a new, unlooped MIDI item on top of it.

We can change this action so it doesn't skip looped MIDI items. That does mean lyrics that you enter with the lyrics script that are not within the initial loop iteration will be discarded, but that's probably less confusing behavior than automatically inserting a new MIDI item.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:57 AM   #5
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The issue is actually with the action "Insert or extend MIDI items to fill time selection", which the script calls. By design, that action ignores looped MIDI items, so if there is a looped MIDI item in the time range where you're editing lyrics, that action ends up inserting a new, unlooped MIDI item on top of it.

We can change this action so it doesn't skip looped MIDI items. That does mean lyrics that you enter with the lyrics script that are not within the initial loop iteration will be discarded, but that's probably less confusing behavior than automatically inserting a new MIDI item.
Yes, I think losing text events that are outside of the initial loop iteration is less confusing. The best thing would be if the script did not even accept input beyond the initial loop iteration.

Thanks.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.