Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2021, 02:35 AM   #1
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,538
Default Sending program changes to VST3 doesn't work (FIXED)

As easy as the thread title says.

You can try with OB-Xd nightly version, which added support for program changes: https://www.discodsp.net/obxd-nightly/

VST2 works just fine. VST3 doesn't. It should.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 05:14 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,652
Default

Is receiving Program change a feature added late to the VST3 spec ? (Regarding the weird history of midi CC with VST3...)

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 03-20-2021 at 02:01 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 06:06 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,191
Default

Sending program change messages fails for that plugin because it returns kNotImplemented from IUnitInfo::getUnitByBus, which is meant to tell us that the plugin can accept program change messages on a given MIDI bus/channel. If we skip that call and just assume the plugin can accept messages on any MIDI channel, it does process the program change messages.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 07:49 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Is receiving Program change a feature added late to the VST3 spec ? (Regarding the weird history of midi CC with VSC 3...)

-Michael
It's been there for a few years at the very least, but indeed it's not implemented as it used to be in VST2. Also, OB-Xd is JUCE-based, so unsure how JUCE handles this...

@schwa - thanks for the info! So, this should be fixed on plugin side, then - or an option on Reaper's side?


(EDIT: OB-Xd developer responded by saying fix is underway based on info you provided, so I guess "plugin side" is the answer.)
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 10:06 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
this should be fixed on plugin side, then - or an option on Reaper's side?
As with many VST things it's not clear. What probably should happen is they should add support for that call for maximum compatibility, and we should pass the program change message along even without support for that call.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 12:55 PM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,538
Default

Noted.

Could you enable passing that program change message anyways in the next dev build? I'd like to test if some other VST3s magically start working in that case. Thanks!


Protip: never EVER give Steinberg freedom to create an API or such a thing as a plugin format. They will most likely screw it up in unimaginable ways (Sadly nothing we can do about it )
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.