Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2021, 01:03 PM   #1
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 134
Default FX Monitoring Window always opens on launch (FIXED)

*See UPDATE below*

Weird one - but the Monitoring FX chain window is acting goofy for me.

Behavior: on Reaper launch, the Monitor FX chain window always pops open, even when it has no contents (FX) instantiated. Closing it, resaving the default project with it closed, saving the default screen set with it closed, etc all have no effect - it just really wants to open on program launch and has to be manually closed each time. Once it is closed, it stays closed for the session regardless of how many projects are opened/closed. Restarting Reaper causes it to reappear.

Expected behavior: clearing all FX from the Monitoring FX window, closing it, and saving the project / screen set etc with it closed should mean it stays closed regardless of Reaper restart.

I'm talking about the window that lists the Monitoring FX chain (just like the Track FX chain window)...not the Monitoring FX button at the Project tab level etc.

I've tried changing the startup project and it still happens on Reaper restart so it is not tied to any specific Project window size/position settings.

System: Win10 64 20H2 (bef8fe), Reaper v6.28

Step to reproduce:

--Instantiate some Monitoring FX
--Clear (delete) those FX from the monitoring chain
--Close the Monitoring FX chain window
--Restart Reaper. The Monitoring FX chain window presents itself and must be manually closed.

Can anyone reproduce?

UPDATE: Shared by @Edgemeal, the 'SHOW' flag in reaper-hwoutfx.ini is sticking at '1' regardless of user interaction. Manually setting this flag to '0' temporarily fixes the problem until the Monitoring FX window is opened again.

Last edited by TabbyCat; 04-30-2021 at 12:02 PM. Reason: Supply updated information
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 06:06 PM   #2
Tone Ranger
Human being with feelings
 
Tone Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 383
Default

Odd, I noticed this started happening to me too - Mac OS 10.14.6 and Reaper 6.28

I do have plugins in the Monitor FX in my default template, but I think the window only started opening up on launch with the last Reaper update?
Tone Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 08:20 AM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,420
Default

Very Odd!

Confirmed with v6.27_x64 on Win10 here, note I use portable installs, they've been updated many times (since v5.9x). When I close the fx monitor and exit REAPER the "reaper-hwoutfx.ini" file is still showing "SHOW 1", it should be "SHOW 0".

If I do a clean portable install of 6.27 its OK, update that to 6.28, still OK. My v6.26 backup: OK.

Can only guess some setting(s) we all use is now conflicting with the newer REAPER versions?
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 11:59 AM   #4
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 134
Default

Thanks for having a look folks, and confirming!

@Tone Ranger: in theory, the default template shouldn't affect which Monitoring FX are applicable, as Monitoring FX should persist across projects. However...I was trying to see if there was something about my session(s) which were saving the state of that window. Thanks to the info you've shared (totally different OS, with totally different sessions), we can now rule that out

@Edgemeal: haha thanks for sharing which .ini file, I weeded through REAPER-wndpos.ini, reaper-screensets.ini, etc and was tearing my hair out! Sure enough, I set the SHOW flag to '0', saved, restarted, and the problem is gone...until I add any monitoring FX, and then it reappears - SHOW gets set to '1' again.

Seems like something introduced in the 6.2x cycle?

I'll update the initial post to include the info shared about reaper-hwoutfx.ini.
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 12:19 PM   #5
Chrome Gadget
Human being with feelings
 
Chrome Gadget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 32
Default

I can confirm too.
Chrome Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 04:03 PM   #6
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,420
Default

I think I figured out what the cause is! Its the new feature that was added in v6.27,.. "Do not create undo points when closing FX windows",

If I have that option enabled and I close the FX Monitoring window REAPER doesn't update the "reaper-hwoutfx.ini" file with "SHOW 0".

Win10_x64/REAPER x64
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 05:53 PM   #7
Chrome Gadget
Human being with feelings
 
Chrome Gadget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 32
Default

Good catch
Chrome Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 06:17 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,357
Default

Thanks, fixing!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2021, 08:38 PM   #9
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 134
Default

Brilliant work folks - thanks all
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.