Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2021, 01:19 PM   #1
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default ReaLearn SY - Softsynth parameter mapping presets for ReaLearn

Based on the fantastic ReaLearn plugin, I created Mapping Presets for several analog-synth VSTs, to be controlled from (currently) Behringer X-Touch Mini, Midiplus X2 to X6 mini, OB6 or Prophet-6.

With these presets, you can control up to 90 parameters in the VSTs from your controller/hardware synthesizer. Because it is based on ReaLearn, feedback is supported (parameter settings are instantly shown if you use a controller with LED-ring encoders like the X-Touch Mini).

Features in Detail:

Standard set of 92 virtual parameters, so Controller Mappings and Main (VST-specific) Mappings are independent from each other. This allows mapping presets for other controller devices (or hardware synthesizers that allow this) and other analog-synth VSTs to be created (with moderate effort), that will then work with the existing presets!

Currently available controller presets (Controller Mappings):
- Behringer X-Touch Mini (8 Encoders, 16 buttons)
- Midiplus X2 to X6 mini
- Sequential OB6
- Sequental Prophet-6

Currently available VST presets (Main Mappings):
- TAL J-8
- TAL U-No-LX
- TAL BaseLine 101
- u-he Repro (1 and 5)
- u-he Hive
- u-he Diva
- Sonicprojects OP-X Pro II

- Dexed (with a completely different parameter set - DX instead of SY)

ReaLearn SY is available via ReaPack from repository https://github.com/vonglan/reaper-pa...main/index.xml . For documentation, and for direct file download, go here: https://github.com/vonglan/realearn-sy-presets

Last edited by vonglan; 05-15-2021 at 11:45 PM.
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 12:58 AM   #2
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

Excellent ! Gonna try these as I have an OB6 and use Repro 1/5 and Tal Uno-LX.
Thanks !
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 05:17 AM   #3
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

WOW!
Tried all the layouts (Tal Uno, J8, 101 and Uhe Repro1 and Repro5) and I love it !
I had coded a custom JS effect to map my OB6 NRPN to Repro 5 but your solution is far more elegant.
Looking forward your mapping for Diva and Dexed !
Thanks again !!
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 01:22 PM   #4
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

I am glad you like it!
I also created a JSFX solution previously. But when I saw Helgoboss' ReaLearn plugin, I was really enthusiastic about the possibility for an elegant solution.

I just released the Diva mapping.
(I did not test it with the OB6, only the X-Touch Mini. Should work anyway. Please tell me if anything is broken.)

Make sure you use the VSTi versions of the softsynths. I just noticed that sometimes the parameter numbers differ for the AUi versions, so then the mappings are all mixed up (might lead to happy accidents in some cases ;-).
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 01:48 PM   #5
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

Wow ! I've just tested the Diva layout. It's amazing.
It's just like my OB6 was now a bunch of other synths : Alpha Juno, MS20, a weird digital oberheim. I'm blown ! Thanks a lot !!
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:16 PM   #6
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

When using the Behringer X-Touch Mini (which is really good value), you lose the immediacy of "that's where the cutoff knob is", because you have to switch between 9 banks of 8 parameters, but you gain
- LED rings that always show the current values
- and the ninth bank - which is not accessible with the OB6/Prophet-6 - can be used to switch between the oscillator and filter models in Diva. (But you could map the Arp Range and Tempo knobs to these targets; just look for them in the main mapping, then Re-Learn their source.)
- and the planned Dexed Mapping (different concept than for the "analog synths") will only be for the X-Touch Mini.

Last edited by vonglan; 05-05-2021 at 10:36 PM.
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 01:55 PM   #7
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

added Sonicprojects OP-X Pro II
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2021, 01:53 PM   #8
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

Added Dexed!

Currently only for the Behringer X-Touch Mini.
Uses a "DX" prefix/suffix instead of the "SY" prefix/suffix.

It would be great if some of you could help with adapting the Controller Mapping for other "banks of 8" controllers - please contact me. It is not much work (35 mappings to re-learn).

(I will try to add OB6 and Prophet-6, using the 8 envelope knobs instead of encoders. Not sure how good this works.)
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 01:47 AM   #9
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

Thanks ! I have an old Evolution UC16 controller, I will try to adapt it !
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 06:07 AM   #10
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

I just noticed there is a bug in ReaLearn 2.9 preventing the operator/area-switching, so you need to use 2.8.2. for the moment.
I opened an issue https://github.com/helgoboss/realearn/issues/364 .

Update May 17: fixed with 2.9.1

Last edited by vonglan; 05-17-2021 at 02:34 PM.
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 06:09 AM   #11
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffroy View Post
Thanks ! I have an old Evolution UC16 controller, I will try to adapt it !
Not sure whether it's worth it, because it does not have endless encoders.

I am nearly finished with a version for the OB6, that should be just as good.
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 01:42 PM   #12
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

OB-6 and Prophet-6 to Dexed are now also available.
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2021, 10:43 PM   #13
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

Thank you !!
However, I could not get it working.
In the controller compartment, I chose OB6 DX, and in main compartment, I chose DX Dexed.
The only working assignment is when I press VC01 and AMP on the LFO section.
But if I choose VCO1 in X-MOD turning the filter and loudness envelopes does not do anything.
Am I missing something ?

__________________
http://www.brocoli.org

Last edited by geoffroy; 05-14-2021 at 11:20 PM.
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 01:59 PM   #14
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 16
Default

Hm, I just noticed, on my Mac it does not work with the VST3 version (Dexed parameters simply don't change - might be this issue that is already reported https://github.com/asb2m10/dexed/issues/277 ), but it works correctly with the AU version. It seems you are on Windows. Is there a different version from the VST3 that you can try?
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 02:08 AM   #15
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 485
Default

Thanks for your reply !
On Windows, there's only the VST3 version.
Not a big deal, I will wait for a fix !
Thanks again.
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.