Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2021, 03:01 PM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default Action: "Start new files during recording" and recpass

hey guys,
for the recorded filename I use $recpass. That works well but the action "start new file during recording" doesn't increment $recpass.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2023, 08:08 PM   #2
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default

Bump.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2023, 04:26 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,074
Default

This is a known issue, the $recpass wildcard is incompatible with the option to start new files during recording. When that option is enabled, REAPER creates file handles in advance so they can be used immediately as needed without interrupting processing, which means the file is created before the $recpass value is known.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2023, 05:57 AM   #4
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default

ah ok thanks for making this clear. I'm just searching for possibilities to create proper "take" numbers. It's needed for classical / jazz recordings where takes are recorded sequentially one after another as well as for the new fixed lane system.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2023, 06:22 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,863
Default

There might be a way to improve this to be a bit more useful, stay tuned
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2023, 08:41 AM   #6
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There might be a way to improve this to be a bit more useful, stay tuned
you guys always kill it!
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 12:51 PM   #7
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There might be a way to improve this to be a bit more useful, stay tuned
Any updates on this? I have a somewhat hacky take counter display solution that grabs recpass from statechunk but ideally it would be great to add this as a display option on the Big Clock window so that the user can also choose to show the current or next recpass value based on record state). In the meantime, is there a way to grab the current global recpass counter value via API without needing to iterate through media items? This is problematic for various reasons...
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2024, 01:58 AM   #8
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default

Ideally we could rename the whole recpass thing even during recording (like it‘s possible in sequoia for example). So we can have „rehearsal 01(…)“ and switch to „concert 01(…)“ in classical situations later on. Or „rhythm group 01“ and „vocal group 01“ in overdubs scenarios.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de

Last edited by Gass n Klang; 03-17-2024 at 02:04 AM.
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2024, 12:02 PM   #9
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Ideally we could rename the whole recpass thing even during recording (like it‘s possible in sequoia for example). So we can have „rehearsal 01(…)“ and switch to „concert 01(…)“ in classical situations later on. Or „rhythm group 01“ and „vocal group 01“ in overdubs scenarios.
Yes, this is something I will add to my function at some point. It would only need a small change to finding the maximum take count, giving it a partial filename versus just searching for the number.

BTW: I realized I had posted here as well as in the "How to" section of the scripting thread. I consider my function pretty robust at this point but definitely willing to add in what you suggested. Essentially I've side-stepped the REAPER take system entirely. See the ReaClassical thread for details...
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 03:43 AM   #10
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,681
Default

love your efforts! But I think this is be helpful in many cases, so some kind of native implementation would be cool.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 05:14 AM   #11
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
love your efforts! But I think this is be helpful in many cases, so some kind of native implementation would be cool.
Agreed, but it is a niche ask hence getting my own version up and running so the functionality is there. And, honestly, depending on how the native version shapes up, I might still end up using my own for ReaClassical.
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.