Old 07-22-2021, 11:02 AM   #1
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,320
Default Freezing muted items disappear (FIXED)

When I freeze a muted item it disappears and there are no media items on the track. I think it should freeze the item and result in a MUTED frozen item. Thanks for any help on this baby bug.
__________________
www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 12:23 PM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,320
Default

Bump for bug fix please
__________________
www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 12:55 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,573
Default

Hmm if it's the only item on the track freeze should do nothing (rather than remove the item)?

Anyway it doesn't really make sense to keep the item muted on a frozen track.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 01:03 PM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,473
Default

Justin, please, consider to add a kind of "indicator" that the track is FROZEN (something like snowflake symbol or anything). At the present we cannot tell easily by quick look

(I didn't want to derail the topic, but I find it related in some extent).
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 01:19 PM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Justin, please, consider to add a kind of "indicator" that the track is FROZEN (something like snowflake symbol or anything). At the present we cannot tell easily by quick look

(I didn't want to derail the topic, but I find it related in some extent).
Yeah that would be nice. I have a script that adds the words Frozen to my track name if you have any interest in that I'm happy to upload it
__________________
www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2021, 10:37 AM   #6
bojan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Default

I just found out about this since I never really used freeze option. I always presumed that after freezing track it will return to its previous state. Maybe additional action for that? User can optionally return everything like it was before track freezing. Im fine if that was also the only option too.
+1

@akademie check: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yhCtATxIq4
Making your Frozen Tracks stand out with a track icon (Rapid Fire REAPER tutorials Ep84) by IDDQD Sound
bojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2021, 11:55 AM   #7
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
...<snip>
@akademie check: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yhCtATxIq4
Making your Frozen Tracks stand out with a track icon (Rapid Fire REAPER tutorials Ep84) by IDDQD Sound
Thanks bojan, although I do not use SWS much (= majority of my installations are vanilla/clean installs), that seems like a viable solution (altogether with the menu editing)
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2021, 03:06 PM   #8
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,320
Default

I consider sws a required part of Reaper along with reapack. There's just so much added functionality in them with no stability down sides
__________________
www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 01:12 PM   #9
bojan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
I just found out about this since I never really used freeze option. I always presumed that after freezing track it will return to its previous state. Maybe additional action for that? User can optionally return everything like it was before track freezing. Im fine if that was also the only option too.
+1
I jumped on it too soon... And/Or didn't understood right (most probably).

I just did a simple test and its just a visual thing after a track is frozen. Unfreezing the track returns everything like it was, bypassed-online-offline fx and muted/unmuted items, which is the most important part for me. I panicked without reason, its safe to use.

Having muted items show on a frozen track might not be a bad thing, since its there and not removed by user prior to freezing means we maybe want to come back to it later so it could serve as a reminder of sort.

My apologies if I made any confusion (other than mine)

p.s. Posted the same/similar comment as on the other thread about freeze and offline fx
bojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 08:55 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,573
Default

Adding an option for this!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 09:56 AM   #11
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Adding an option for this!
For my OP ? Hoping... have a great day !
__________________
www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.