Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2021, 12:27 PM   #1
Supersloth318
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Default Pencil Tool changing value of the entire envelope lane (FIXED)

I'm running v6.33 on windows 10.

Lately whenever I use the pencil tool in a specific area, say, to change the pre fx volume of a vocal line, it will latch onto the entire envelope and change the value of everything before and after the section that I'm drawing. I can't recall having changed any of my settings, nor can I find a way to change this behavior. It seems to have happened after the last update, but I'm not entirely certain.
Attached Images
File Type: gif Pencil tool nope.gif (60.8 KB, 120 views)
Supersloth318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 12:43 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,560
Default

Is the mouse down the whole time during that screencap?

What happens when you use the pencil modifier and click/release without moving the mouse?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 01:04 PM   #3
Supersloth318
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Default

The mouse is indeed held down the whole time. When I release the mouse, the whole envelope stays at the value where it is released. Or, if there is a point later in the timeline, it will create a straight segment from where it was released to that next point.

Here are captures of both scenarios..
Attached Images
File Type: gif Pencil tool nope 2.gif (39.9 KB, 95 views)
File Type: gif Pencil tool nope 3.gif (45.2 KB, 83 views)
Supersloth318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 01:12 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,560
Default

It sorta looks like something is blocking the main thread. Do you have any scripts running? Does this happen in a brand new project with no fx?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 02:04 PM   #5
Supersloth318
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 11
Default

Yes the issue happens with new projects with no fx inserted, and no active scripts.

The only thing I can recall changing anytime recently was my mouse modifiers for freehand drawing and inserting points. So, I imported a config from a few months ago, which had no differences of any significance, and the issue seems to have gone away, but upon reloading my current config, it comes back.

I implemented those mouse modifier changes in the old config and things are still acting as they should, so I'll just stick with it.

Problem solved I guess? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Supersloth318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 02:12 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,560
Default

Can you upload the reaper.ini and reaper-mouse.ini for the configuration that has the issue?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 09:28 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,418
Default

Nevermind that request, duplicated (the mouse mapping is "freehand draw" -- "freehand draw ignoring snap" does not have this problem)... We're fixing!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.