Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2021, 05:45 AM   #1
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 390
Default Linux: up/down keys won't work in FX window when jsfx is selected

To reproduce:

Load some ReaEQ and ReaComp instances on a track and switch between them with the up/down keys in the FX window and see how juicy they switch.
Now add a JSFX of your choice (e.g loudness meter) and switch to it and wait for one second. On my machine I can't switch back to the VST plugins with the up/down keys (if you are very fast you can skip between them, but if you stay longer on an JSFX keys input gets broken).

MX Linux 21 64bit, XFCE 4.16
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2021, 07:09 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,646
Default

Ah yeah, fixing (it's only jsfx that have GUIs)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2021, 05:52 PM   #3
Nixon
Human being with feelings
 
Nixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 390
Default

Thanks Justin
Nixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2021, 04:24 AM   #4
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,099
Default

Hi Justin, not sure if/how it's related but I noticed that up/down keys also don't work anymore with vst/vst3 (u-he synth presets). The breaking change was introduced in +dev1208, in +dev1207 it still works fine.

There was always something weird about u-he synths and keyboard focus (you had to press the up arrow key first, to give focus to the plugin, and then you'd be able to use down arrow keys). I think it was due to the u-he plugins never properly asking for keyboard focus (source). Mentioning this as it might be related as well.
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2021, 07:57 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeedTheCat View Post
Hi Justin, not sure if/how it's related but I noticed that up/down keys also don't work anymore with vst/vst3 (u-he synth presets). The breaking change was introduced in +dev1208, in +dev1207 it still works fine.

There was always something weird about u-he synths and keyboard focus (you had to press the up arrow key first, to give focus to the plugin, and then you'd be able to use down arrow keys). I think it was due to the u-he plugins never properly asking for keyboard focus (source). Mentioning this as it might be related as well.
Ahh thanks. Edit: hmm what OS?

Last edited by Justin; 12-19-2021 at 08:07 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 12:54 AM   #6
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,099
Default

Linux Manjaro with Gnome (and X display server)
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 09:08 AM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeedTheCat View Post
Linux Manjaro with Gnome (and X display server)
Hmm I can't get the keys to work at all in 6.42 with u-he VSTs... :/
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 02:42 PM   #8
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm I can't get the keys to work at all in 6.42 with u-he VSTs... :/
Hmmm, in v6.42 I can navigate presets with arrow keys like this:



Keyboard focus is given to the reaper preset combobox upon opening the window, but I can give it to the plugin by either using shift+tab or the up-arrow key.

In versions 6.42+dev1208 to 6.42+dev1211 this is no longer possible. It does work again in 6.43rc1-rc5 though.
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2021, 05:48 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeedTheCat View Post
Hmmm, in v6.42 I can navigate presets with arrow keys like this:



Keyboard focus is given to the reaper preset combobox upon opening the window, but I can give it to the plugin by either using shift+tab or the up-arrow key.

In versions 6.42+dev1208 to 6.42+dev1211 this is no longer possible. It does work again in 6.43rc1-rc5 though.
ah ok if it works in 6.43rc5 that’s good… we’ll revisit this in the next +dev cycle
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2021, 03:23 AM   #10
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
ah ok if it works in 6.43rc5 that’s good… we’ll revisit this in the next +dev cycle
Makes sense, I hadn't checked if it works in RCs. I'll report back in the next dev cycle. Thank you for looking into it.
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2021, 01:39 PM   #11
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,099
Default

All working fine in 6.43+dev1222.
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.